Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.380955
Write A Review
November 10, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 10, 2014

Working with Fancy Cats Rescue Team is always a great experience. Every one of the volunteers that I have met have been so dedicated to the cause, and truly care about finding great homes for great cats. Thank you for always helping at risk cats from local shelters. We are so lucky to have you working with us. Anna- Volunteer with local shelter
November 8, 2014

more

November 8, 2014

Sometimes as a pet owner you are faced with the difficult decision to find a new home for your pet. I never thought I'd find myself in that position, but there I was. I tried to contact as many local groups as I could. After over a month of contacting different groups, I became somewhat discouraged. The typical response was slow (if they ever responded at all) and not favorable. Most were overrun with cats needing homes and although they would love to help me find a new home for my cats, they could not. Would I ever find a new home for my 2 cats? I didn't know. I did know one thing, I refused to surrender them to a shelter where they could possibly be put down. Finally, after contacting several animal rescue groups in my local area (central VA), one of the groups gave me a list of multiple cat rescue groups in VA. I decided to try my luck at groups outside of my local area. I first learned of Fancy Cats from that list.

I first checked out their website, which was current and had a lot of good information on it. I determined they were dedicated to finding forever homes for cats. When I contacted Fancy Cats I expected the same story- sorry we are full. Sorry we would love to help you but can't. Sorry, you have to live in Northern Va. Sorry, we don't take surrendered cats. I filled out the online interest form and heard back from a volunteer very quickly. I was advised they, too, had many cats they were trying to find homes for, but they would do their best to assist me. They took time to gather information about the cats and our personal situation. They were very caring and didn't make me feel guilty for making the decision I had to make. (I already felt bad enough about giving up my cats, I didn't need someone to judge me and make me feel any worse.) They were very helpful and provided some very good information, reviewing alternatives to giving my cats up. "Have you tried....". At that point they asked me to put together the cat bios and provide pictures. Throughout this part of the process I was in contact multiple times with volunteers and the president. They were always very quick to respond. Within a week they had my cats up on the website and I had someone who was interested in them. I was asked to bring them to Pet Smart to meet their potential new owner.

When I arrived at Pet Smart, I encountered a very busy pet adoption area. There were lots of volunteers who were assisting new owners with applications, answering questions about the cats, etc. The volunteers were very friendly and knowledgeable. I brought my cats into a separate room to meet their potential new owner. It seemed like we were a perfect fit for each other. I don't think that was by chance. I do believe it was by the work of the experienced volunteers at Fancy Cat that we were so perfectly matched up. We completed the paperwork, took some time to talk to each other and introduce the cats to the new owner. And, then they were off. My sweet cats and their new potential owner (it was a foster-to-own situation). I felt good about that because I knew there would be a test phase to determine if the cats were indeed a good fit. And if not, Fancy Cats would work again to find that great fit.

My decision to re-home my cats was not an easy one. But, my experience with Fancy Cats made it a lot better than what it would have been. Overall it was a very quick process, must faster than I expected. Within just a few short weeks I went from hopeless that I would ever find a good home for my cats to a point where they are well-adjusted and being spoiled rotten in their foster home. It's still early yet, but I'm hopeful the foster situation will turn into a complete adoption. I know the volunteers at Fancy Cats were very intentional with the foster selection. I do not believe they would have placed the cats with someone who was not a good fit. I am very thankful for the information and support Fancy Cats has given me through this experience. I also learned about fostering as an option. I think it's a great thing to do to provide care to an animal while they look for that perfect fit forever home. I would recommend fostering and I would definitely recommend Fancy Cats.
March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have adopted four cats from Fancy Cats Rescue Team since 2007. All of the volunteers are knowledgeable, caring people, and the cats they have in their adoption centers and fairs are beautiful. What means the most to me is that FCRT is available for advice and help whenever I have needed it--whether it's helping a new kitty to adjust to my home or--more recently--when one of my senior FCRT kitties passed away. They do such wonderful work that they are frequently called on my other local rescue agencies and shelters, and they work tirelessly to help kitties who need a forever find the one person who needs to give them that home. I love FCRT almost as much as I love my cats.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted my Cat Jack from Fancy Cats as a result of an urgent plea they posted on Facebook. Jack had been bounced around in several homes due to some behavioral issues and was about to be taken to the county shelter. He would have gone straight to the front of the kill line: Solid black, owner surrender, problem cat. Fortunately, his owner contacted Fancy Cats as one last resort. The urgent plea FCRT posted about him needing a home gave a complete and 100% accurate disclosure of his history and issues. Their truthful disclosure made me WANT to save him, and I did. All communications I had with FCRT during the adoption process were extremely professional. They asked me to provide them with updates on Jack after I adopted him, as they do with all cats they find homes for. I can't imagine my life without Jack or how anyone could have given him up and I thank Fancy Cats every day when I look at his beautiful face and know that he is alive and with me because of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My initial introduction to Fancy Cats Rescue Team was at one of their weekly adoption events last Fall. I ended up adopting a bonded pair of cats from them. I was contacted by them to see how things were going. I was pleased to discover that they do follow up on adoptions. I have also become aware via Facebook postings of just how very active they are in pulling and rescuing so many cats from shelters in order to give them a chance at adoption. My impression is that this group epitomises the saying that actions speak louder than words!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2013

more

March 9, 2013

Fancy Cats is a wonderful local organization making a difference far beyond our community. Many organizations look to FCRT as a leader in cat rescue. I've adopted from FCRT, I've volunteered, I've been Volunteer Coordinator, and I'm a donor and supporter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found a lost cat in December of 2012 and unfortunately no one was looking for him. Being that shelters give their animals a time limit, I knew I was not going to send him there. So I contacted a bunch of recuses in Northern Virginia and I got the "we're sorry we are full" response. Lucky Fancy Cats got back to me saying they would be able to help me, Cathy gave me a date and the name of a volunteer that would be able to help. The volunteer, Danielle, was more then nice and reassuring. She came to my house picked him up and took him to get neutered. She let me know through emails and a phone call how he was recovering. I even got to see him a couple days later! Overall, a great rescue and I would recommend anyone looking for a cat to look here!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a donor to Fancy Cats for many years. I first was introduced to their work at a cat show. In the years that followed I checked their web site regularly and donated when I could. Four years ago after I lost one of my kitties to cancer I began looking for a new kitty. Fancy Cats was my first thought for adopting since I knew the wonderful care that they provide all their babies. They are all wonderful people. The love and care that they give to each and every cat is amazing. They also take care of the cat people like me who are looking for a new baby! I adopted Miss Tillie a kitty who had some issues with traveling and is very shy. She is my Princess! I am very grateful to the folks at Fsncy Catd for taking such great care of Tillie! I'm do glad I found her! I volunteered for a short time doing the laundry at Springfield but had to quit for health reasons. I hope to help again soon! Thanks you Fancy Cats!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

These folks have pulled and rescued so many "last minute" down-to-the-wire cats, and have worked very hard in making successful rescues of needy kitties. I am so grateful of all the work they do to help get new homes,medical care and emergency rescues..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Fancy cats is amazing!!! They helped us find the sweetest cat that brings so much joy to our lives. The volunteers of this organization care so much about the cats and finding them great homes. Over a year after we adopted out kitty, my husband wanted to reach out to find out more about her past. Fancy cats promptly responded and remembered her and all of the details about her! Wow! They're also great to follow on facebook and are always posting about adoptions, ways to help specific cats, and ways to help cats in general! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!! THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers