Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Civil Rights, Disabilities, Disabled Persons Rights, Education, Educational Services, Family Services

Mission: To help families of children with disabilities by providing information, training, referral and support.

Results: As of 6/30/15 - Over 1000 persons made email or phone requests for information on the special education process (46%), finding resources in the community (28%), information on how to navigate the adult service system (11%) or had other areas of need for information & support (15%). There are over 2000 individuals receiving our monthly e-newsletter of family events, training opportunities or support groups. Attended 22 community resource fair events where F2F spoke to over 1400 individuals. Held a conference events as well as provided training in the community to over 300. Provided many social opportunities to over 400 family members and represented families on a number of Texas Education Agency stakeholder committees at the state level.

Target demographics: Families with children with disabilities or chronic illness receiving special education services

Direct beneficiaries per year: 2781

Geographic areas served: Greater Houston Area

Programs: Information & Referral; Texas Project FIRST, Educational events (workshops & conferences) , Guided Transition program, family events

Community Stories

59 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Kellybelly25

Client Served

Rating: 5

F2F has been a great resource for our daughter in advocating for public school, participate in local community events & very helpful resources.

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

F2F has been a great resource of information & advisors who are knowledgable to make arents feel at ease when having to prepare for ARD's. the staff is very friendly, helpful, follows up with information as promised. I would recommend this organization to other parents.

Sherri36

Client Served

Rating: 5

These guys put on the best programs to help with children with disabilities and their families. I attended a program about social security and it was very helpful. Please donate and keep their program going.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

FamilytoFamilyNetwork 05/18/2016

Thank you so much! Keep attending those training programs - Knowledge is power!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Since the moment I moved to Houston, Leslie had been great help for me in identifying resources . I could trace Autism resources, schools information and attorney for guardianship easily with their help.

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

It was an outstanding experience! Leslie got back to me and answered all of my questions to the fullest within the hour. In addition, she sent a follow up e-mail with links to various community resources. She asked me to call back with any question after reviewing it. They are friendly, extremely knowledgeable, and very eager to help! I have nothing, but positive things to say about this organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

FamilytoFamilyNetwork 05/18/2016

Leslie is such an asset! Thank you so much!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have attended F2F conferences and trainings throughout the years, and their website Texas Project First, http://texasprojectfirst.org/, has INVALUABLE information about special education services, events, and resources. What I most appreciate about Family to Family Network is there personal attention and assistance! When I desperately needed guidance to keep my son with down syndrome included in the classroom and receiving the services he needed, they sat down and walked me through laws, made calls to district personnel, and encouraged me knowing that they had "been there done that!" Hard working, dedicated, and great asset to our community! VERY GRATEFUL for their services!!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Can't say enough wonderful things about Family to Family Network. Leslie Lawson, with Family to Family, returned my e-mail immediately. She helped me over the phone for almost an hour, continued to do research on her own, found answers/resources and called me back all in the same day. What a blessing to have an entity that helps you to understand and navigate the world of special needs.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

FamilytoFamilyNetwork 10/30/2015

Thank you so much - Leslie is wonderful!

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

The staff at Family to Family Network have been extremely helpful to me in navigating the special education system in Texas. I have attended many of their conferences as well and the knowledge I have gained has helped me be a better advocate for my son and for others with disabilities. I am especially thankful for their strong belief in person centered thinking and valuing each person. Their guidance has changed the course of my son's future !

Comments ( 1 )

profile

FamilytoFamilyNetwork 10/30/2015

Thank you for acknowledging the importance of valuing all people with disabilities!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Family to Family Network is by far the BEST resource for current and accurate information on all things relating to disability. I have depended on them to learn from the time my son was a toddler, and he is now an adult. The workshops on how to be a POSITIVE advocate for your child is priceless. Learning the best ways to PARTNER with your school is essential and they offer so many workshops from ARD info and legislative issues and beyond. I have called them so many times with a question and they either know the answer immediately, or work to find out! They are so knowledgable about other resources for referral as well. My child had an awesome INCLUSIVE public school experience that I credit to the things I learned from F2F. I am so grateful for this wonderful organization that works tirelessly to improve the lives of those with disabilities.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

FamilytoFamilyNetwork 10/30/2015

Thank you - we are glad you learned to partner with your school and make Inclusion happen!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Without the help from Family to Family Network, I would not have been able to navigate the special education maze and be an advocate for my son. Now at 15, he is a vital part of his own education AND his community, thanks to the information and support from F2F.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

FamilytoFamilyNetwork 10/30/2015

Thank you for making sure your son is part of his IEP meeting!

Client Served

Rating: 5

It is nice to find great people that understand your situation and that can Guide you every time.
Thanks,
Pilar Hixson

Comments ( 1 )

profile

FamilytoFamilyNetwork 10/30/2015

Thank you Pilar!