Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.363645
Write A Review
March 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 2, 2014

As a volunteer, I feel doubly blessed! Not only I am helping a needy community, I am helping a dedicated staff of thoughtful, intelligent and caring people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grant some items on their wishlist.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

When I started volunteering at FSW a few years ago I was very excited to be able to help others. Now I have realized what a life changing experience this has been for my students. When you are able to instill knowledge and new skills and help someone lift themselves up out of their current situation in a BETTER one that is wonderful. I have seen many doors of opportunity open for my students with their new found language skills. Their self confidence is up they feel good about themselves and everything they have accomplished because of this program. I have personally overseen the improvement of quality of life for my students and their social life in society has changed since they have the skills to interreact with others in English.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger so we can help more people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2014

Having served on the board for six years I have been impressed with the professionalism and dedication of the staff and volunteers. The agency is financially well managed which from my own career indicated an organization that respected the funders and donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would encourage the agency to grow and improve the community awareness of the services, the outcomes and the results

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2014

I was a literacy volunteer with FSW, too bad they are no longer connected with the tutor program, however my time there was beneficial. it would be great to see such an organization find a way to continue to help the community in this area once again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hold an open house from time to time so the community knows what you are all about and what you have to offer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2014

FSW provides services to the community in all areas of possible need. Services for families with children, programs for children and many personal improvement programs. I am always pleased to find out some area that FSW is lending a hand or working with other agencies to bridge any gaps.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create additional space for the the many programs run by the agency.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2014

The concept is almost too simple: get the food that's about to be thrown out to the people who don't have enough to eat. When I first signed up I was nervous about going in the back door of restaurants and grocery stores, and even more nervous to walk into shelters. But the employees were so happy to share their food with me and those at the shelters were so grateful to take it that I soon became confident in my role. The web site is great. You just scroll through, decide which routes fit into your schedule, and sign up for them. At first I tried out a whole bunch of routes around town, then I found my favorite routes and adopted them, which meant that I was automatically signed up to take them each week. Sometimes when you volunteer you aren't sure whether you actually contributed. But when you physically hand food to someone who needs it, you can be sure your work had meaning. The only reason I stopped volunteering here is that I moved out of the state.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2014

FSW is a wonderful organization. The holistic focus on helping clients to change the trajectories of their lives is very effective, and the staff is first-rate and highly committed. I realize feedback like this coming from a board member may be viewed as biased, but I'd encourage anyone with interest to reach out to FSW and learn more. I am proud to be associated with such a fine organization with such an important mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to improve development capabilities. FSW's effectiveness in helping clients over the years has outpaced it's effectiveness at self-promotion.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2014

Of the many organizations I've volunteered with over the years, FSW (Family Services of Whitfield) is the most effective in providing much needed services to our local communities. They offer an impressive list of programs that are designed to provide their clients with the tools they need to improve their lives. The dedicated staff at FSW works as a team to ensure their clients receive comprehensive guidance and support on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2014

FSW's staff and is extremely dedicated to creating a welcoming and nurturing environment for people in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

FSW serves as a one-stop lifeline to clients with many needs and it achieves meaningful, lasting, positive change in people's lives. Its mission is to help individuals and familes become self-sufficient. The services include literacy, behavioral health, family assests, youth and deaf services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers