Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

Family Promise of Lorain County is an incredible organization. It is really a testament to the ability of a motivated group of people to make a real difference. It works differently than many homelessness organizations by focusing very specifically and making a real difference in people's lives, which means that they really are life changing for the people they work with. They really give hope to Lorain County.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Family Promise of Lorain County is an organization that works tirelessly to meet the needs of homeless families in our community. The staff and volunteers are professional, compassionate and willing to go the extra mile to help those in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

Before moving to NC a little over a year ago, I volunteered at Family Promise of Lorain County for 2 years assisting with PR and fund raising. While I never worked directly with the guests, I did have the pleasure to meet a few and it truly changed my way of thinking. In these stressful economic times where the need for assistance is increasing and the available funds are decreasing, I was impressed with how much Family Promise could do with what they had. The donations that are given and the funds that are raised are used directly to benefit the families in need on so many levels. The staff, members of the board and all the volunteers both at the local host churches and from the community are extremely dedicated to the families that they serve. I will always be grateful for the time I was able to spend helping Family Promise and happy to say that I continue to assist them any way I can, even from 700 miles away.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing how much impact they have on the lives of families in need. I have had the honor of meeting some of the adult guests and playing with some of the children. The help and hope that Family Promise gives is truly amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the number of families that could be served at any given time by adding more transitional housing. With the economic situation in Lorain County being as it is, more and more families need assistance and the current space and services are limited and can only accommodate so many people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

a friend

December 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Family Promise is taking concrete steps to help people in unfortunate circumstances get back on their feet. I appreciate and respect the people who selflessly give their time and effort for this cause, and I support them through my donations. Since this is a small local organization, I can expect my donations to be appreciated and directly used.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I believe in the mission statement of Lorain Family Promise. I have seen first hand the dedication of its volunteers and board members. The need is so great for this organization it is a pleasure to donate and know my donations go directly to people for their immediate needs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

Serving as a Board member and volunteer, I see the good that this organization does for the families it serves but also for the volunteers at the host and support churches.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

As a Board member I am absolutely dedicated to helping homeless families in any way that I can because i deeply believe that people need each other. As a volunteer also, I have seen up close how parents and children can be hit hard by situations beyond their control. Family Promise helps in a small but significant way to show people under economic stress that others care about them very much. The organization encourages families to stick together, that jobs and homes are in their future. And individual volunteers welcome them with food and warm beds to show the human affection so often needed. Family Promise of Lorain County helps in a unique way toward these goals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing homeless families helped to find homes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

don't know

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

presentation 7 years ago

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

working with new director

What is its top priority in the long run?

new Day Center, establishing other Family Promise sub groups

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

Our church is a host church that provides meals and housing for some wonderful families that are experiencing a blip in their lives and need a short term break. This program gives church members the opportunity serve the community and live their faith. It gives the church the chance to utilize their facility to provide housing in a safe and loving environment for families, especially the children. Stressful days and times often take a backseat to the love and caring by church volunteers as they give generously of their time in coming in and assisting wherever the families as best they can. We also get the opportunity to interface with other churches and denominations which otherwis would not happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

My daughter and I entered Family Promise because we were struggling with money and a safe place to go. My mom referred me to this program and I am thankful for their help. Their helping me with trying to get my own place, Their very nice and I am fortunate to be in this program because without them I wouldn't know where i'd be right now and if my daughter would be safe. I would recommend this program to any family in need of help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

Our church hosts the families assisted by Family Promise several times a year. I also assist with the annual fundraiser concert held at our church each year and am on the Publicity Committee. As you can see I fully support Family Promise with my time and through our donations. Through the years I have met several families who have fallen on hard times and have had to come to the day center requesting assistance. They are a joy to visit with. Through Family Promise they are given food and shelter through the county churches, and given guidance in seeking employment, education, housing, learning to work out a budget and any social service that they may need to be referred. The children are taken care of by being sent to their home schools. The people involved with this organization truly believe in their commitment to help families realize their own potential.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers