Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.926835
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Family means a lot to many people. The success of a family means the most to Family Promise of Knoxville. This is a great organization. The volunteers are great, the staff is awesome and the families are wonderful. The way it is organized uses the network of churches and support site wisely and to the best benefit of their guests.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Working with Family Promise for the past 6 years has broadened the my life and the lives of many in our church. We use our Children's Sunday School area to house our guests when they stay with us. The children of the church help, move chairs, make beds, draw welcome signs and sometimes make cookies for the families. How wonderful to learn about the effects of homelessness when you are so young. These youngsters are the future of our society. What a wonderful way to become aware of others needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

I have been involved with Family Promise of Knoxville for over 8 years. I have found this non-profit to be efficient and effective. The families enrolled in the program get the help they need to bec... more

October 29, 2013

I have volunteered for Family Promise Knoxville since it started. I am presently the volunteer coordinator at my church. What makes Family Promise Knoxville great is the way the volunteers offer their help and support without question.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger to serve more homeless families at the same time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

I have been involved with Family Promise of Knoxville for over 8 years. I have found this non-profit to be efficient and effective. The families enrolled in the program get the help they need to become self sufficient quickly and their success rate for keeping the families from becoming homeless again is greater than 85%. I don't think there is a better run non-profit in Knoxville.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

We have been involved in Family Promise from the first rotation of guests. This is an organization that actually moves people from dependence to independence in a short time. Being able to see this ... more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Family Promise from the beginning, 3 years as our churches coordinator. It is such a great feeling to see homeless families move to jobs, housing and independence. This is not an easy program, moving children and all your belongings each week to a new church with new rules is not something you do without commitment. The FP staff have requirements and rules that must be followed or you are out. These you families have budgeting and parenting classes to help them succeed. I am proud to be a part of the program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase church involvement, especially among young people. We try.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

We have been involved in Family Promise from the first rotation of guests. This is an organization that actually moves people from dependence to independence in a short time. Being able to see this happen and in a small way be a part of the process is very rewarding. We have helped in many capacities each rotation and it is great to see the "graduates" and hear the success stories each year at the pasta cook-off. Pat L

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have been involved with helping the families in the program for a number of years and feel Family Promise does outstanding work in our community. I have seen miracles happen for many families in need all with the help of this great organization. Those volunteering have the heart to serve and it makes such a tremendous difference in the lives of those who desperately need assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

As far as I know, Family Promise is the only organization in Knoxville that serves families - that is their purpose- to provide housing that keeps moms and dads and their children together during their time of temporary homelessness. Additionally, Family Promise provides transportation, parenting classes, financial classes, and the tools for finding jobs as well as sustainable housing. I am a volunteer at one of the host churches. So for one week, about 3 times per year, I am able to interact with the families and see their appreciation for the program and hear about the success stories when the next family moves into more permanent housing. Family Promise provides that life-line and is desparately needed in this community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Family Promise of Knoxville takes a unique approach to help make families with children self-sufficient by meeting both immediate needs for food, shelter and transportation, and developing long term skills for employment, parenting and managing a household. All this is done in a very cost effective manner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

My husband and I have spent the night with Family Promise folks for years! The families in this program are on the way back up- to housing, to jobs, to independent living ! Each morning when we leave them, we marvel at their tenacity and at their faith that they can reestablish their lives. We are amazed, and we are humbled, by what happens to us all through Family Promise!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have been a volunteer for a number of different organizations in my life but feel that Family Promise makes a bigger difference in the lives of people in crisis than any other organization I have worked for. To see families supported and encouraged during their time of need and then return to self-sufficiency and housing in a relatively short period of time is a truly rewarding experience for volunteers like me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Family Promise does a great job with their clients. They have best practices that they follow and hold residents accountable for their actions. I have watch people receive housing, job training, and get a better handle on their children. Sometimes the clients need more help than others, but it is really a pleasure to meet new people on a path to a new life through Family Promise. Plus I look forward to forward to our week with new friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers