Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.926835
| 1 ... 2 3 4 | Next
Write A Review
September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

I am a volunteer with Family Promise, and I truly love this organization. It is rare that a family who needs shelter would be allowed to stay together, since usually shelters are either male or female only. But at Family Promise a Father can stay with his children and their mother. The program helps families get back on their feet, and I believe this is one of the most rewarding aspects of the program. To see the transformation that happens in some families, from their entry into the program until they move into their own housing. Family Promise is a program where the family comes first and every action taken is to strengthen those bonds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

My wife and I are Family Promise Coordinators for our church. Family Promise is a belief based non-denominational partnership supported by nearly 30 churches here in Knoxville.
This is an amazing program, and I am seeing it work with my own eyes. I am so prowd to be a part of it. This
program is a helping hand of support for families in despair. These families have lost any support system they may have had. They are out there with their children. Struggling to feed them and with no place to live. It is desperate situations, and these families are hurting. Family Promise helps ease the pain by lifting and supporting these families by providing a safe place to stay, food, support, and encouragement. This is not long term homeless support, but it is a program that helps families to get back on their feet.

My church's involvement is one of support. We are teamed with an area church to help support their needs for one week every 3 months as they house families in their church.

The way this works is that an area church houses families for one week at a time Sunday through Saturday. Family Promise provides beds to the host church, and provides transportation for our guest. During the day the children go to their schools and the parents go to work or go to the Family Promise Day Center and receive help getting jobs, or other support. Our guests are then delivered back to the church at 5:30 each evening, and we provide dinner.

After dinner there are activities for the children, homework, movies or any number of things, to be done just like in mine and your homes. The parents attend financial budgeting and other classes each week. The support church along with the host church provides the meals and activities for these families. When our week comes to an end the families are moved to another church, and so on.

There are many ways you can help with Family Promise. From cooking meals, helping with activities, preparing snacks, or breakfast, movies, or other forms of entertainment, reading books to children, helping with homework, or helping financially with needs such as school supplies, diapers, or other needs. We are desperately trying to raise money for a much needed new day center to support the growing needs.

This is a great program. It has been instrumental in helping so many families rise from the depths of despair. I ask you to get involved by volunteering or by supporting this ministry financially.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I served as an intern for Family Promise of Knoxville for about nine months. During that time I had many great experiences but my favorite experiences were always moving day. Often I would help the people load and unload on moving day and it was great feeling to see the looks on the faces of the families. For you and me home is something we to often take for granted. In reality it is essential for our identity and having a place you can call home means the world to the former guest of Family Promise of Knoxville.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

Our church has been a co-host for about 2 years. We partner with a host church and provide an overnight host, an evening meal and help with Sat. morning breakfast. I have been impressed with the overall organization of the program. These families have daily access to a social worker and the director of the program. They have weekly meetings that teach them about budgeting, nutrition and parenting. Being a part of a program that has volunteers from many different religions working together has been a real blessing. I look forward to helping for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

The Ministry that lies deep within the heart of family promise is a true gift from God. Not only to the family's engaged in the program but to all who serve the community in order to make this program possible. The fellowship that is shared within the true body of Christ is a wonderful thing. Thanks be to God

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I am happy to be a Pastor of a church who hosts families of Family Promise. It is a joy to be part of this life changing organization. I had a chance to see a family, a single mother with two young children, move into an apartment after staying in Family Promise for several months. They were so excited to get back on their feet with some tools (weekly seminars from professionals in the community), furniture to furnish the place, and a new scooter.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I have been volunteering for Family Promise since our church began the service about two years ago. What an organized group! They have every "I" dotted and every "T" crossed. They do not push me to do more than I am able and are always so appreciative of my time spent with the families. This group doesn't just "go through the motions." They live and breathe Family Promise. It is just a part of them, and the families are always so grateful for the help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I am a Volunteer who spends time at our Church when Family Promise's families spend nights during our week where we have the families housed overnight in our Sunday School rooms. I usually stay one night and in the morning make breakfast for the families. Without the support of Host congregations these homeless families would probably be spending every night in their cars (if they have one). Family Promise tries to take in these families and have them into housing within 60 days. The families spend the day time at the Day Center where they use computers to find jobs, housing, support, etc (after training by Family Promise Social Workers) so they can move out of the program. Without Family Promise these Homeless Families would be still homeless and in very stressful situations. They have a large list of additional families that need their help but due to not having a larger Day Center Family Promise cannot help these additional families. Family Promise of Knoxville does a very good job of helping Homeless Families in the Knoxville area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012

more

September 18, 2012

What a life saving organization this is. Our church is one of the home churches who houses these lucky clients. The families are so very grateful to Family Promise... otherwise, they would be living in their cars or on the street with their little children. Family Promise gives them a chance to get back on their feet and regain their pride and lives. I just wish it were a bigger organization as I know there is a waiting list of needy families.... how heart breaking for the people at Family Promise to have to turn people away who are so in need. They are truly life savors!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 2 3 4 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers