Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.926835
Write A Review
October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

We have found it heart warming to share our plenty with these families. They are interesting, hard-working people. I am grateful that they share their stories with us. We always enjoy providing dinner one evening and being with children again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have volunteered many times with Family Promise. they help homeless families to get back on their feet - they teach parenting, finance, etc to parents. They provide a place to live, take the kids to school, feed them and eventually help them to get into permanent housing. If this is not the greatest, I'm not sure what is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Being able to provide shelter and care over the Christmas Holidays for the homeless families staying at our church this past year was particularly rewarding and made all of us mindful about the need to care for those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am a member of First Pfresbyterian Church, Knoxville Tn where we host Family Promise families 4 times each year. I grocery shop for the families while they are in our care. While I am shopping, I feel a joy in knowing mothers, fathers and their children are getting the help they need right now and with us and that this care is happening all over the country. To be able to help families in desperate times find the compassionate help they need to get back to their real family life is a great privilege and I thank Family Promise for the opportunity to be part of this service.Blessings to all,Doy Barron

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am a coordinator for our church, and am very proud to describe Family Promise Knoxville to volunteers within the church. We have had great support from FP Knoxville during host weeks, and have had the satisfaction of seeing most of the struggling families get back onto their feet, and into housing. The program is rewarding-our congregation has an almost 50% volunteer rate, with volunteers choosing tasks aligned with their abilities and interests. It takes a lot of energy to support families getting a hand up in the program, but it is well organized, and FP Knoxville successfully brings in families that will work hard to make permanent changes and stabilize their lives. I have been privileged to work with Knox Family Promise and to offer the volunteer opportunities to so many people in our congregation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I previously served on the Board of Directors of Family Promise of Knoxville (FPK). I now work as a volunteer through my church. FPK serves a unique need in our community. When people hear "homeless" they think of the guy downtown on the street. But, homeless means much more to families with children. It means families being split up when seeking emergency housing. It means children have trouble getting to and staying in school. With the help of loving congregations of all denominations, FPK answers that need. Churches and volunteers offer up unused Sunday School rooms for bedrooms and meeting rooms for meals and homework. Children get transportation to school. Most parents work and are able to get to and from work, with the help of a day center for children and parents if needed. Families are able to stay together. And, FPK offers daily help to obtain permanent housing. FLK serves homeless children and their families and helps them get back on their feet. I help coordinate our church's work, 4 weeks a year. I have stayed the night with families as a 'host'. I have enjoyed meals with the families and games with the children. With FPK, "homeless" to these children and families means having people who don't know them reach out and lift them up. That's what makes FPK a GREAT non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Family Promise of Knoxville is an inspiring organization that lends a helping hand to families. It is a joint effort of guests helping themselves, volunteers providing meals and volunteer hours of service, religious organizations and other organizations providing support and shelter, and a dedicated staff - all working together to provide a stable and safe temporary haven for families who find themselves homeless. Life can throw boulders in our paths; this program assists families to cope and plan and overcome the adversities they face. As a volunteer and previous coordinator for a support church, I have observed former guests in the program become volunteers themselves. I have seen guests grow in confidence and self respect as they faced and solved problems and met their goals of independance. Time and donations in support of Family Promise of Knoxville are truly well spent!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am a recent addition to the Family Promise Board, though I have been aware of their great work for many years. Family Promise is a fantastic organization led by dedicated social workers and professionals who are driven to empower families and achieve positive and permanent changes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Our church has been involved since the start of Family Promise here in Knoxville & we love being a part of this wonderful. The families I have met are incredible!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have been part of Family Promise since it was only an idea in Knoxville! As part of the original board of directors, we researched the need in this area and the services that were being provided by other nonprofits. This organization is so different - it serves families that are just going through a hard time - and Family Promise provides a safety net for a few months - until they can get back on their feet. I have been on the board as well as well as the coordinator at a host site - and the rewards I get from working with the families and kids have been life-changing for me. I always love to see the relief on the faces of the parents when they realize that they and their children will be safe, when they realize that they will have food and shelter and people surrounding them who love them - and this gives them the time and courage to keep going and solve the problem of housing, employment and transportation. I used to give to lots of nonprofits - but now I like to give to Family Promise because I know what they do and that the money goes directly to services for the families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers