Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.926835
Write A Review
October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

My husband and I have spent the night with Family Promise folks for years! The families in this program are on the way back up- to housing, to jobs, to independent living ! Each morning when we leave them, we marvel at their tenacity and at their faith that they can reestablish their lives. We are amazed, and we are humbled, by what happens to us all through Family Promise!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have been a volunteer for a number of different organizations in my life but feel that Family Promise makes a bigger difference in the lives of people in crisis than any other organization I have worked for. To see families supported and encouraged during their time of need and then return to self-sufficiency and housing in a relatively short period of time is a truly rewarding experience for volunteers like me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Family Promise does a great job with their clients. They have best practices that they follow and hold residents accountable for their actions. I have watch people receive housing, job training, and get a better handle on their children. Sometimes the clients need more help than others, but it is really a pleasure to meet new people on a path to a new life through Family Promise. Plus I look forward to forward to our week with new friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Westside UU Church is a strong supporter of Family Promise. We have been a host church for nearly 2 years. I have personally participated in each host week in a large or small role. We as a church community pledge our continued commitment to Fsmily Promise and its important mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Family Promise makes a real difference helping homless families get into a home and get back on their feet. The reason this nonprofit is so impactful is because it's focused on relationships. Family Promise walks beside families, offering them mentoring. Family Promise also brings together faith communties to host the families so congregants from faith communities can make a difference and also get a different face related to homelessness. I have served meals with Family Promise and served as an overnight host, and I must say the experiences have given me a different perspective on homelessness and hope that we can make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

My family and I have cooked and served meals for the families staying at our church, Westside UU Church, every time we have hosted families. It has always been a wonderful experience.Our ten year old helps. He sets out plates and flatware. He plays with the other kids. Last time, one of the fathers was someone that graduated from high school with me. To be able to give back in such a personal way is wonderful. To be able to teach our son how good it is to help others is priceless. On the practical side - Family Promise is so organized. The trailer arrives; we set up. The families arrive promptly. It's a great non-profit that's helping our community one family at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I volunteer through Westside Unitarian Universalist Church (Knoxville) to host homeless families in the Family Promise program. The program works well to identify highly motivated families needing support to work toward stabilizing their living situations. FP provides an effective support system that addresses all needs to ensure a successful path to self-sufficiency. The program focuses on giving families a hand up, rather that just a hand out, which enables families not only to succeed in supporting themselves, but also to become contributing members of society. Spending time with the families during "host week" at our church is a meaningful personal growth experience and a privilege for my family and me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have been very impressed with Family Promise of Knoxville. They work hard to ensure that the host churches are clear about the expectations of them, and they provide amazing support to the families. The families are generally helpful, appreciative, and open about their situations. I love seeing the success rate! And I love spending time with the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have been involved with Family Promise through my church, Westside Unitarian. The program is very well organized, and both the families and volunteers have a clear understanding of the program expectations. The families are well screened. The program features family education on financial management and raising children. Adults are assisted with job searches, finding housing, and transportation. All the families we have hosted have secured housing . Initially, our small congregation was not sure we had the energy and resources to provide shelter to these families each quarter. Now, about 50% of the church volunteers during each Family Promise week - because we can feel what a difference we are making!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have volunteered for Family Promise through my church, Westside Unitarian Universalist Church, in Knoxville. Family Promise not only provides shelter to homeless families, but it also gives families a chance to get their lives back on track with jobs and housing. Nothing is more heartwarming than the knowledge that we've done a little bit to keep children safe and secure with their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers