Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.926835
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Family means a lot to many people. The success of a family means the most to Family Promise of Knoxville. This is a great organization. The volunteers are great, the staff is awesome and the families are wonderful. The way it is organized uses the network of churches and support site wisely and to the best benefit of their guests.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Family Promise is an excellent organization which helps homeless children and their families get back on their feet. They are good stewards of the money and resources donated by the community. As they work to grow, they are ever mindful of the generosity of their donors as well as the needs in the community for this population.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them grow to serve a bigger portion of the homeless population. They are hindered by the size of the facility they must work out of as well as the size of the staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Working with Family Promise for the past 6 years has broadened the my life and the lives of many in our church. We use our Children's Sunday School area to house our guests when they stay with us. The children of the church help, move chairs, make beds, draw welcome signs and sometimes make cookies for the families. How wonderful to learn about the effects of homelessness when you are so young. These youngsters are the future of our society. What a wonderful way to become aware of others needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

I have been involved with Family Promise of Knoxville for over 8 years. I have found this non-profit to be efficient and effective. The families enrolled in the program get the help they need to bec... more

October 29, 2013

I have volunteered for Family Promise Knoxville since it started. I am presently the volunteer coordinator at my church. What makes Family Promise Knoxville great is the way the volunteers offer their help and support without question.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger to serve more homeless families at the same time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

I have been involved with Family Promise of Knoxville for over 8 years. I have found this non-profit to be efficient and effective. The families enrolled in the program get the help they need to become self sufficient quickly and their success rate for keeping the families from becoming homeless again is greater than 85%. I don't think there is a better run non-profit in Knoxville.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have served as a volunteer, a volunteer coordinator at my church and 4 years on the Board. There are countless amazing aspects of the program but the one that touches my heard the most is the children. I originally became involved in the program to help provide a blessing to the families and the children. I quickly found out that I was the one receiving the larger blessing when I heard the squeal of a kindergartner who got the first look at her new bunk bed. Family Promise Knoxville is a remarkable program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe the organization is currently headed in the right direction.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

We have been involved in Family Promise from the first rotation of guests. This is an organization that actually moves people from dependence to independence in a short time. Being able to see this ... more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Family Promise from the beginning, 3 years as our churches coordinator. It is such a great feeling to see homeless families move to jobs, housing and independence. This is not an easy program, moving children and all your belongings each week to a new church with new rules is not something you do without commitment. The FP staff have requirements and rules that must be followed or you are out. These you families have budgeting and parenting classes to help them succeed. I am proud to be a part of the program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase church involvement, especially among young people. We try.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

We have been involved in Family Promise from the first rotation of guests. This is an organization that actually moves people from dependence to independence in a short time. Being able to see this happen and in a small way be a part of the process is very rewarding. We have helped in many capacities each rotation and it is great to see the "graduates" and hear the success stories each year at the pasta cook-off. Pat L

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have been involved with helping the families in the program for a number of years and feel Family Promise does outstanding work in our community. I have seen miracles happen for many families in need all with the help of this great organization. Those volunteering have the heart to serve and it makes such a tremendous difference in the lives of those who desperately need assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

As far as I know, Family Promise is the only organization in Knoxville that serves families - that is their purpose- to provide housing that keeps moms and dads and their children together during their time of temporary homelessness. Additionally, Family Promise provides transportation, parenting classes, financial classes, and the tools for finding jobs as well as sustainable housing. I am a volunteer at one of the host churches. So for one week, about 3 times per year, I am able to interact with the families and see their appreciation for the program and hear about the success stories when the next family moves into more permanent housing. Family Promise provides that life-line and is desparately needed in this community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Family Promise of Knoxville takes a unique approach to help make families with children self-sufficient by meeting both immediate needs for food, shelter and transportation, and developing long term skills for employment, parenting and managing a household. All this is done in a very cost effective manner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Family Promise has served many members of our community for years even through a name change. Our church has logged countless hours caring for the clients and helping them on a pathway to independence and a home. Children should have a safe and nurturing environment to live and grow in. This organization helps further that goal. Homelessness for children is growing problem in our area and Family Promise is helping with the problem.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers