Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 22, 2015

more

February 22, 2015

I have been a volunteer for this charity for 15 years. We help homeless families stay together. Everyone is working and substance-abuse free. It is set up with very low overhead, and the daily programs are run by volunteers with just enough of a staff to hold everything together. It is a real person-to-person connection, where you can directly help people in your own community pull themselves up by their bootstraps. It is hard not to have your heart melt when you see how infants and children are caught in such a situation. The other volunteers I have met and the staff are just outstanding can-do people who are flexible and helpful. The emphasis is on providing enough help to get people permanently out of danger of being homeless.
December 2, 2014

more

December 2, 2014

I have had the honor of working with Family Promise for many years. Over time my involvement grew and I had the pleasure of watching my sons get involved. Family Promise helps keep homeless working families together and in their home communities while they work to get back on their feet and into their own housing. The guests are literally our neighbors. They attend the same schools as our ownchildren and deserve our support. This program works. This is an organization worthy of our support and personal involvement.
March 12, 2013

more

March 12, 2013

28 years ago I heard about this organization and decided to help. Since then, I ran a shelter for homeless families for 22 years and when that closed, I moved on to office work. This organization has sheltered more than 500 families in those years, has moved most of them into independent living with the assistance of a very small staff and a tiny budget. Volunteers have staffed the shelters, handled the office work and demonstrated the power of goodness and generosity of the "haves" toward their less fortunate brothers and sisters! As an example of that, several ex-clients have returned to serve the poor who followed them into the program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2013

more

March 1, 2013

I retired from the corporate world in 1985 and for some 10-11 years thereafter I was involved with an
organization that sponsored seminars for business executives. Then strictly by chance, I had my first contact with Family Promise when I volunteered to help out a local church who was then
sheltering homelessindividuals. From that early experience I have become a more active volunteer and am now involved in many of their other activities, a Walk-In Dinner program they sponsor yearround and another sheltering program for working families with children. At various other times I have also served on many of the FPB committees including marketing and fund raising.

All in all, I describe my work (20-30 hours per average week) with this organization as THE BEST JOB I HAVE EVER HAD. What it pays in personal satisfaction to me, is far greater than any paycheck I ever received in my working career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013

more

February 25, 2013

I have been supporting Family Promise of Bergen County for many years and am honored to be able to endorse their activities. The neediest among us are their constituents - either feeding homeless individuals at the county shelter, sheltering homeless families temporarily down on their luck, helping them get back on their feet with professional family case managers or giving homeless children two weeks of fun in the late summer sun. We often forget how lucky we are - until we see ourselves in the faces of these families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

call and talk to the Director of Volunteers to find the right opportunity Volunteer