Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

It has been my priviledge to serve on the board of Family Promise North Shore. I have volunteered for other organizations and since I have started working with them, I have met interesting, real people who care about helping the homeless families that we serve. I have had the pleasure of seeing the guests interact with the staff and board members and they seem to genuinely appreciate the help being offered. It is truly filling a gap in that it serves FAMILIES, not just single persons or mothers and children. It fills a need that is often overlooked. I look forward to working and serving with them for many years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Family Promise since it's inception and currently serve as a board member for the organization. It is truly a wonderful organization allowing us to directly help working class families in need by providing them temporary housing, stability and the resources needed to make allow them to regain their self sufficiency. My entire family, including my children, enjoy the opportnities to serve the families through our church's host weeks. For me, it is the children we serve in the program that truly make this a rewarding experience. I pray that our efforts in providing support for these children and their families allow them to grow and become all that they can be.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

In just 2 1/2 years from launch, Family Promise Chicago North Shore has housed and fed 26 families in homeless situations (including more than 45 children) and helped them quickly return to permanent housing. The model is very low cost and efficient as it leverages 20 north shore congregations to house and feed 3-4 families at a time on site in their facilities for 1 week at a time on a rotating basis. Hundreds of volunteers each do their small part that makes a BIG difference keeping families in homeless situations TOGETHER and children in the same classroom as before their family faced the challenge of homelessness. It has been an amazing experience to see congregations from multiple faiths and denominations work together with social service professionals to get these families back on their feet and into permanent housing. This experience has truly changed the lives of both our guest families and our host congregations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

In addition to my board involvement, I am also a volunteer for this wonderful organization that provides emergency housing to families with young children. A few times a year, I bring my own 4 kids along with a nutritious dinner to share with the 3 to 4 families at a time who take part in the Family Promise program . This experience not only helps our guest to feel like they are part of something caring and supportive, but provides an important form of hands-on outreach to my children in my own community. Terrific organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Our main focus is to help families who have lost their housing get back into permanent and sustainable housing and employment as quickly as possible.  With the help of generous donors, volunteers, and community partners, we provide our families with the services and support they need to transition out of homelessness and back into a position of self-sufficiency. Our solution is unique in that we keep families together, providing a safe environment and emergency transitional shelter using the existing facilities of local congregations and organizations. We offer our families a daytime location which provides them with a mailing address, job search resources, and a place to have their children picked up for school. Importantly, the children are able to remain in their own schools during this time of transition. We provide supportive services tailored to each family to address the root causes of their homelessness. Through workshops, training, and counseling, each family develops a stabilization plan to prepare them for independence. FPCNS is a terrific organization and I am proud to be a member of the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers