Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.955565
Write A Review
April 24, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 23, 2012

As an Auxiliary Board Member, I am very proud of the work done by Family Outreach Richardson-Plano. With a very limited paid staff and a host of committed volunteers, the mission of the prevention of... more

April 24, 2013

Family Outreach continues to be a organization dedicated to helping families - be it parenting classes, in home mentoring and casework, a help-line for community info and referrals - the goal to prevent child abuse and neglect has never wavered! And I am proud to be on the Auxiliary Board of this great organization that works tirelessly to meet that goal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 23, 2012

As an Auxiliary Board Member, I am very proud of the work done by Family Outreach Richardson-Plano. With a very limited paid staff and a host of committed volunteers, the mission of the prevention of child abuse is taken very seriously - the results and successes are truly blessings to those families serviced by F.O. To hear the stories of families in crisis and to realize that the cycle of abuse can be stopped is amazing, as is the dedication of those who do the one-on-one mentoring, teach the parenting classes, man the help line, etc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2011

I am honored to sit on the Auxiliary Board for Family Outreach Richardson-Plano. Our major responsibility on the Board is to raise funds so the staff and volunteers at FO can continue the excellent work they do to prevent child abuse and neglect. I have seen and heard volunteers and clients speak of their experiences with FO at our Auxiliary meetings and it is always most rewarding to hear. Whether it is a volunteer speaking of mentoring a family, or the staff case-worker reporting on a case she is handling, or the client telling us how FO has changed her family for the good, we on the Auxiliary Board have no doubt what a necessary and vital organization we are serving!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing and seeing clients and volunteers tell their stories of how lives of families are changed for the better and how the cycle of child abuse and/or neglect is stopped.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe the organization does a great job with the resources it has - be it the one-on-one home mentoring and casework, parenting classes, the Help Line, etc. However, funding is always an issue, as FO relies on donations and grants. So, if I could make a change, it would be to find a major corporate sponsor who would support not only our annual Bowl-a-thon held in the fall, but also various projects throughout the year!

April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 14, 2011

I have volunteered for Family Outreach, Richardson-Plano for 10 years in various administrative capacities. All the administrative work of the agency is done by volunteers! I have also mentored fami... more

April 24, 2013

I have been a volunteer at Family Outreach, Richardson-Plano for over 12 years. That tells you there is something compelling about being a volunteer there.

The mission is child abuse prevention. While everyone thinks child abuse is just awful and we read/see about it in the media, the
question is: "Who will do something about it?"

Well, there is something you can do. You can join forces with Family Outreach which can make your life more fulfilling. It is a great group with whom to work and a cause worth working for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2011

I have volunteered for Family Outreach, Richardson-Plano for 10 years in various administrative capacities. All the administrative work of the agency is done by volunteers!

I have also mentored families which is very fulfilling work even tough it can be frustrating at times as we work
with a families that have difficult life situations.

Our mission is child abuse prevention and cases are referred from Child Protective Sevices when a closed case needs some additional help. This is a volunteer job that enables me to do real work with real people; no letter stuffing jobs here.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have helped to write grant applications and have been able to increase the funding recieved. I have seen what a pareting class can do for a disfunctional family. I have seen what remarkable reults can occur when there is consistent mentoring of a family over a period ot time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have enough grant funding to employ a part-time marketing person. I wish we had more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Have enough funding to take some of the adminsitrative burden off the volunteers, especially the Executive Board.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have some life long friends as a result of volunteering for Family Outreach. I have been able to use my social work skills with families and feel that I am effective. I have had various administrative jobs for Family Outreach and learned new skills in each one.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Tired, but fulfilled!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Family Outreach for almost 20 years. During the new volunteer training, we were encouraged to learn about the different volunteer opportunities-mentoring, community education and parenting classes. I chose to sit in on a parenting class as I had never heard of such a thing. As I walked into the class I was thinking, "What kind of people need parenting classes?" However, after just one class, I knew that I was that 'kind of person.' At the time, my family was in crisis (another one!)and my husband and I were raising our first grandchild. It is not an exaggeration to say that what I learned in those classes made all the difference in the type of person he is today...an intelligent, responsible, thoughtful and caring adult who understands that every choice has a consequence, whether good or bad. Simply put, my life, and that of many others in my family, has been changed for the better because Family Outreach and its dedicated volunteers were there. And, because they were there when I needed them (even though I didn't know it), I have made it my mission to also "be there" for as many parents and grandparents, in as many locations, as possible to have the same wonderful opportunity I had.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 19, 2011

I have been affiliated with Family Outreach over 18 years serving as a volunteer, supporter, and currently vice president of the Auxiliary Board. Family Outreach has been able to make a dramatic imp... more

June 27, 2012

The mission of Family Outreach of preventing child abuse and neglect in the community is one I have supported as a volunteer, board member, donor, and community member. Since 1973 Family Outreach as served the community through mentoring at risk families, parenting classes, anti-victimization programs and prevention programs. The volunteer members are diligent stewards of their funding and their talent. I know of no other organization that does so much with so little. Family Outreach has an amazing success rate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2011

I have been affiliated with Family Outreach over 18 years serving as a volunteer, supporter, and currently vice president of the Auxiliary Board. Family Outreach has been able to make a dramatic impact in our community to help strengthen families and help prevent child abuse. It is an organization that offers valuable programs and services provided by dedicated, trained volunteers. Because it is primarily volunteer driven Family Outreach is able to provide a great service with low overhead. Programs offered are anti-victimization for children, mentoring for families at risk, and parenting classes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

From school presentations, I have seen children come forward reporting their own abuse and asking for help. I have seen the difference good parenting tools learned in class can make in a family. I have participated in the positive changes made in a family while mentoring that family. All of these experiences validate the importance of Family Outreach and what it does in our community to break the cycle of abuse and to help families develop the skills to weather life's ups and downs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The best changes for Family Outreach would be to have steady and sufficient funding to do their very valuable work. And, to have name recognition in the community would help with volunteer recruitment.

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

As a volunteer Family Outreach Richardson-Plano, Inc. gives me the opportunity to be a part of the process of empowering others to make a difference in their own lives as well as the lives of their children. I am grateful for their mission and I am grateful for the the heart of this organization, a heart which is filled with committment and love toward humanity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I started Volunteer for Family Outreach this year and it was a warm welcome. The ladies are a very wonderful group that spend their time helping others. They are such a wonderful group of ladies that are always willing to help anyone out. I have learned so much from all of them and the training is excellent. The parenting classes that are offered are very well planned. This is a great organization with a lot of Love, dedication and beautiful people with big hearts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Family Outreach is an organization of volunteers who provide services to the community in working to eliminate child abuse and neglect. The women and men in the group are dedicated and put in numerous volunteer hours. I have taught parenting classes which are open to the community, and many of the parents taking these classes are amazed at how the skills and tools they learn can be incorporated in relationships with their children, spouses, co-workers. Most of the parents are referred through CPS and the Courts. They come to the first class angry and resistant. Usually by the second or third class they are participating and sharing how they see a difference in their relationships. Mentoring families is another way parents recognized with problems can learn how to be better parents. I have been a mentor, and it is an opportunity to make a difference in the lives of the parents and children. I am proud to be a volunteer with Family Outreach Richardson-Plano.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has been a God-send for mysekf and my children. I came to the program through working with CPS and they have completely helped make our experience life changing. We have been able to do some family counseling and well as have a personal worker that comes to our house and helps with anything we need. From getting information on assistance with bills to information about programs for the kids to finanical planning/money management, time management and a number of other things. I am very grateful for this program and all the assistance it has continued to provide for myself and my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

As a new member of the fundraising board since early 2012, I've been very impressed with the spirit of giving, hope, dedication of volunteers. Their selflessness is inspiring, and the services that they provide are an important contribution to the health of families in our community. Further I've found its programs to be effective and their stewadship of donated resources excellent & conscientious. This is a very worthy organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

Family Outreach of Richardson-Plano changes lives. We mentor families to a better life. Our goal is to stop child abuse one family at a time. Many of our clients just need a guiding hand or parenting classes. I have volunteered in many different areas. I was a mentor of a family, one mom and three kids. This mom was working two jobs and going to school and trying to create a better life for herself and her children. The family was referrred to us for a simple error in judgement, with time and working through the details...they are on the right track. I work at the help desk monthly, answering calls and researching to find the right answer for the help they are needing. Lastly, I taught seven week parenting classes for over two years. It has been the highlight of my Family Outreach volunteering. The classes are court ordered for many parents. It is a basic class, but the growth and joy these individuals show upon completing the class makes it all worthwhile. I have fond memories of all my former students and look forward to teaching again very soon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers