Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

Family Inc. is such a wonderful program that offers many great resources to the community!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014

more

June 6, 2014

I got to see first hand how the I Smile program helps children. I went to observe at one of the elementary schools that they were providing services(sealants, oral hygiene instructions, and dental screenings) for that day. The elementary kids were excited, the Dental Hygiene students who were providing the services were excited. It is amazing in today's world how many children do not have access to dental care. Granted this was limited care, but it was a start. Through the screenings if the child needed more dental care, letters and follow up calls were provided. This is an awesome much needed program. Every school from early elementary to high school should have this program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That is hard. More support from the politicians?? If they had more funding, they could get into more schools which would provide much needed access to kids that don't receive regular care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

For nearly the last 6 years I have watched our preschool children and now more recently birth to age 3
clients benefit from the I-Smile dental home project. I want to think that the work of the dental
hygienists will continue many more years. What do they do? Provide valuable services
for children and families relating to dental health and oral care. They come into our classrooms assessing
children’s risks for tooth decay and provide protection in the form of varnish applications until a visit
to the dentist can be scheduled. Often this is the first time children receive any type of dental care and the staff returns to our classrooms to repeat services for children at risk preventing the need for
expensive dental treatments in the Emergency Room or hospital. Even with limited funding when out of pocket dental costs make it difficult for families to complete necessary treatment they assist families in obtaining care. With the goal of prevention they educate about oral habits, inform parents about proper care of teeth and gums, and provide dietary counseling. The staff is a valuable component of our Health Services Advisory Committee. They recruit dentists to serve our
families so they have an ongoing source of regular dental care as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove any barriers they identify in providing services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

I love the one on one serve you receive from Family Inc. More students are helped and seen with the Dental Clinics that are offered in the schools. Our families really like the idea of their students getting their teeth cleaned without having to find a ride or take time off work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more people to break down the different areas so that those people are not working on some many different areas.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Family Inc is an amazing program and has definitely made an impact in our community. Connie Gronstal is the piece in this puzzle that brings it together and makes it the success that it is. Her love of families, her community and people, in general, are why this program is such a successful one.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing I would do is to make it available to a broader area. Hopefully, it will continue to grow.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Family is a wonderful program that greatly impacts our community. The staff is very helpful and welcoming to the families. I hope they continue this service for years to come. Thanks for all you do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Family Inc provides valuable services to the community. The staff and volunteers are extremely helpful and knowlegeable. They offer a variety of volunteer and internship opportunities for students and community members, and they are very easy to work with on a regular basis. I highly recommend this organization as a community partner. --Service-Learning Office, Iowa Western Community College

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

FAMILY is a wonderful program that came as an unexpected surprise. As new parents, my wife and I were looking for some outside expert advice on a whole host of issues. FAMILY group meetings and in home visits helped our daughter and our family tremendously. We were given tons of information on child development, parenting tips, educational material, toys, books, and more. Our child was also given a number of tests to determine proper motor coordination, development, and even a hearing test. I am very grateful that we discovered FAMILY, as they have been such a tremendous part of our family which is why I choose to give back and spread the word as much as possible.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

We have been with Family for approximately 2 years. We started in they playgroups and then were added to the program. We attend classes offered to better improved our parenting style because every parent with agree their wasn't a child manual that you recived at the hospital when you delivered, playgroups and summer activities. My son has made many friends through group and so have I. He looks forward to seeing his Early childhood educator. He has to show her all the new things he has done since the last time she visited. He also talked about her visit to his pre-school for days. As a parent when I was a stay at home mom they gave me that piece of mind every week of adult conversation, they helped me work thru my fears of child care when I decided to go back to work part time and made scheduling visits easy due to my work schedule. If I could summarize everything about Family into a few words it would being Caring for families as a whole.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer for FAMILY for about two years and I feel that I have gained more than I have given. As a grandparent I have learned from everyone at FAMILY during my visits and know that every person that comes through the doors or have the benefit of FAMILY through home visits is a better parent. All of this helps our each of us be stronger as individuals and as a community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Label books and kits in the Lending Library
Assist with a parent-child interaction group
Clean toys
Help with our monthly mailing to 300 parents Volunteer