Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.55
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Family Focus is an excellent nonprofit that places an emphasis on family support to help give children the best possible start in life. Each of their centers throughout the Chicagoland area uses a variety of programs, such as parenting classes, toy drives, and after school activities for children, geared to that community's specific needs to help build up that community by giving its children the chance for success. In my time that I have been a volunteer at Family Focus, I have seen the positive work they do for our community and have witnessed their values and strong desire to help in every aspect of their work. Everyone at Family Focus genuinely cares about its mission to strengthen families and I am truly grateful to have the chance to work with them and make my contribution.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Family Focus is a wonderful nonprofit that focuses on helping to build stronger communities around the Chicago area. Each center works to fulfill the specific needs of it's surrounding community and effectively uses resources to help through parenting classes, workshops, opportunities for children in the summer/after school and works to provide resources & opportunities for people to succeed. It's important to have local nonprofits like Family Focus that are able to address the specific needs of the communities they work in and provide the proper outreach and support. Working with Family Focus for several months, it quickly became clear to me the care that the staff puts in to their work. Everyone works hard to make the most out of Family Focus to provide the most help and focuses on maintaining a connection to the people and communities being served.

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Family Focus is a community outlet in which service and advocacy is the center of all that they do. The programs offered, from parenting classes and children's growth workshops to things as simple as food and toy drives offer aid to any individual that asks. Each one of the centers offers something different based on the community it serves in order to fully service each and every person uniquely. The work being done is crucial to Chicagoland communities and families; our city would not be such an amazing place without such outreach groups. It is always a sincere pleasure to work with Family Focus in their various endeavors and I know I will always have a connection to the work they do.
February 5, 2013

more

February 5, 2013

I am a participant at family focus lawndale in the PI program where there is a lot to offer. My experience at family focus has made me a better person and the staff is like mothers and fathers that some have never had, like me. I was taught the value and meaning of life with my parent educator. They even have workshops to help you be better parents, friends and role models or just to blow off some steam. We also do field trips with our children that most parents can't afford. This is like going to grandma's house where there is the greatest dishes, warm embraces, smiling faces, uplifting chatter, positive interacting, feeding the needy, and not judging the greedy. If we had more people to support family focus then we will have higher goals for our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2013

more

January 31, 2013

I am a participant at family focus and my experiance with family focus has been a great one since I came to the PI program. When I first came to the program I had no hope. This program gives me a lot of motivation and encorugement, even though I am going through kind of difficult time I know if I need help with something the wonderful people at family focus will do their best to help me with anything they can. Also my kids enjoy being apart of family focus, they can be themselves and enjoy being a kid. So thanks family focus for being apart of me and my kids life. I am very glad to be apart of this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization practices unethical standards. Many of their reports to funders are false such as to DHS, CPS, and ISBE PI programs. Money in the form of gift cards were kept by the center directer for many many years. Documents were falsified stating that the 100.00, 50.00, and 200.00 gift cards were give to participants and they were not. So called signed verification sheets stating that participants received gift cards were marked in by staff that this money was received by them. A binder was created and given to Inc accountant Tarita Anderson was created and have in it that participants received gift cards and they did not. A very very small percentage maybe. I know because I created the binder under the direction of Lawndale's center director. Those cards were kept by the center director. I was there. This went on for over three years. Food purchased from Sams Club was food given to employee, center. director's mother, aunts and other family members.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pass out boxes of food for 200 families in Lawndale, help us launch a social media strategy or work on a newsletter, participate in a toy drive during the holidays or help us with an event. Volunteer