Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.902445
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

I have worked on the Board of FA for almost ten years. Their commitment to the cause of reproductive choice is admirable. The organization is fiercely dedicated to maintaing the political infrastructure necessary to protect a woman's right to choose. These religious leaders are passionate, articulate, and courageous. They have a network of support for women who struggle with their choices, who seek counseling in times of stress and crisis. Their presence is highly valued by women who are accompanied into clinics while being threatened by anti-choice bullies, when testifying before congressional hearings and committees, or when speaking in public or to the media about a woman's right to choose. I am a proud member of this fine organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 23, 2011

In the past year or so, Faith Aloud has grown exponentially and has increased its impact so that it serves women nationally. This isn't a "national organization" in name only-- in the past year, Fait... more

October 31, 2013

I have worked with Faith Aloud's Executive Director for nearly a decade and I believe strongly in Faith Aloud's fills a valuable role in society-- Faith Aloud has given voice to women's religious dignity at a time when much of the morality conversation is about shaming women.

There is no
question that this organization's lean operating model allows the most good to be done for women and families. In fact, the Faith Aloud team mobilizes volunteers effectively to serve women all over the United States and even internationally. The creative use of technology allows a Board of members from all over the country-- I am in South Florida-- to work together to support our shared beliefs and common mission.

Women need Faith Aloud. There is no question in my mind.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think Faith Aloud needs more staffing in the "storytelling" department. I believe the stories Faith Aloud staff and volunteers share from the women they serve are so poignant they could change the national morality conversation. Storytelling staff include grant writers, political outreach directors, marketing managers. I believe that everyone needs to know what this small nonprofit based in St. Louis, MO, is accomplishing so that the conversation can change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2011

In the past year or so, Faith Aloud has grown exponentially and has increased its impact so that it serves women nationally. This isn't a "national organization" in name only-- in the past year, Faith Aloud truly has supported women in nearly every state (and even other countries!), reached out to clergy in a spectrum of denominations, and supports clinic staff who will, in turn, serve thousands of women.

Even though I moved geographically far from the Faith Aloud headquarters, I am informed, involved and my passion for Faith Aloud's mission has not waned. One of the many things Faith Aloud manages well is communications on a tech-savvy and personal level.

In every way, Faith Aloud is a professional, outstanding nonprofit organization and the leader in its field.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

... outstanding communication and witness to its growth!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... shout from the mountain tops that Faith Aloud is the premiere faithful and religious supporter reproductive justice! Faith Aloud is the organization you should join!

August 19, 2010

The Board of Directors and staff of Faith Aloud (previously, of MORCRC) are pioneers with sense; they respond creatively to the needs articulated by women and clinics and provide a public service in a way no other nonprofit has. Executive Director Reverend Rebecca Turner is a trustworthy, resourceful and innovative leader and her enthusiasm and compassion are mirrored by the volunteers, staff and Board of Directors. These are the experts, the leaders in the reproductive justice field. There is nothing quite like Faith Aloud, and certainly nothing so expertly run.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

... my career! Rev. Turner hired me as an intern and gave me every opportunity to learn about reproductive justice, nonprofit management, religion, social justice, Missouri politics... not every young person learns leadership hands-on. Thank you.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

As a prior abortion clinic counselor I always felt confident when referring women to Faith Aloud for further support. They stand by their love for women and create a safe, nonjudgmental space for them to share their stories and grow.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 17, 2010

I have been a supporter of Faith Aloud for several years--first as an intern, later as a staff member, and now as a board member. Over the years I have seen the organization grow in strength and suppo... more

October 16, 2012

While Faith Aloud's stated mission is to eliminate the religious stigma of abortion--the work and reach of the organization is so much greater. As an inter-faith voice that validates all reproductive choices, Faith Aloud embodies all that is great about the reproductive justice movement. It seeks intersections, makes connections and tirelessly promotes the idea that it is possible to trust women and trust families. Despite a challenging economic climate, Faith Aloud is doing great work, and I'm proud to be involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of Faith Aloud for several years--first as an intern, later as a staff member, and now as a board member. Over the years I have seen the organization grow in strength and support while holding true to its core values. Over the years I have had the opportunity to work and support a variety of other non-profit organizations, and can say without a doubt that Faith Aloud is among the 'best of the best.'

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Community based-events, on the phone with supporters and at events.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Change the world. Really!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

Faith Aloud is doing groundbreaking work on the issue of abortion by providing excellent spiritual counseling materials for women and by combatting violence and harrassment with mesages of peace. FA shows that people of faith get abortions and that people of faith suport reproductive rights.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer counselor for Faith Aloud for several years. I speak to women who need to be reassured that God is still with them, even as they wrestle with making a decision about abortion, or as they continue to process that decision. Most of the women I have spoken to end our conversation by thanking me for listening and praying with them. A woman I spoke with just last week said, "Thanks for reminding me that God hasn't abandoned me. I guess I always knew that, but I really needed to be reminded right now." I am grateful that Faith Aloud and their volunteer counselors are available to women like this who need to be reminded that God loves them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

Faith Aloud is an innovative, cutting edge reproductive justice organization that recognizes the important role of religion and prayer for women in their reproductive lives. Its strengths include a willingness to listen to women's actual experiences and to then represent those experiences in their education and advocacy work. Faith Aloud tackles hard, intersectional issues and gives voice to people dedicated to compassion, respect, and support for women and families. It is vital that organizations devoted to ensuring women's rights and dignity exist not only in the Northeast and West coast but also throughout the nation. Faith Aloud does national work but, very importantly, does it from Missouri and informed by the grassroots. They are an exceptional group and deserve support for their excellent work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

Faith Aloud is so valuable in providing compassionate and caring info to women and girls making reproductive decisions. One of the few positives in this world full of negatives. For all the positive messages and daily inspiration, thank you Faith Aloud and Rev. Rebecca Turner! We've needed this kind of compassion and caring for women for a very long time.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

As I one time board member who has worked with Rev. Rebecca Turner, and more recently as a person who turns to Faith Aloud as a resource and occasional serves as a phone counselor, I have the utmost admiration for her ministry/service and this fine organization. Faith Aloud offers a progressive, inclusive and relevant religious voice to the issues of women's sexual and reproductive health, women's freedom to choose if and when to have children and raise a family, and a variety of related rights issues from choice to lgbt concerns. Consistent, supportive and encouraging at every turn, Faith Aloud and Rev. Turner are voices of conviction in a time of great need. They support women in the midst of perhaps the worst days of their lives, and lobby to protect the freedoms and choices that women count on but perhaps don't think about until it's too late and that need has been pressed upon them. The speak a voice for interfaith inclusion, for women in leadership roles, and they honor all people, insisting on fair and equal treatment for all.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2012

more

May 4, 2012

Thank you so, so much for having this here. I was once in the horrifying position of being a Christian teen faced with the chance of an unwanted pregnancy. I felt so terrified, I didn't know what to do, I didn't know who to turn to, and I certainly didn't feel as though I could pray about it. Eventually the pregnancy terminated itself, but even then I stayed silent. My family, pastor, and friends never learned my secret.// I never want another woman to have to go through that choking fear and feel as though she has no where to go, and you people at Faith Aloud are helping that more then you know. You should be a staple in every clinic. What you do is wonderful, and something that I believe warms Jesus Christ's heart. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I wish nothing but love and wellness for this group.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in a Faithful Presence, fill orders for materials, do online research.