Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

This high-caliber program is run by people who really care. Their deeds are NOT related to anyone's pocket book or ego. The staff who provided self defense training - and the foundation's coordinator (Fred Sanborne) were caring, professional and extremely effective. The training made a lasting impact on my daughter and me. We're very thankful for this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I can tell you how wonderfully empowering it made me feel. I believe that every woman should be able to experience the encouragement and support that I was able to have from this program in regards to feeling secure with their ability protect themselves.. These women, whether single or not, all had a very specific reason for wanting to attend this training. They brought their daughters heading off to college, and their friends who walk their dogs alone at night after work. At the end of the training, I did not hear one woman say they did not feel more confident with themselves and changed as a whole

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

My primary reason for attending the 2 day self-defense class was to prepare my 13 year old daughter (and myself) for any impending threat. We not only learned some effective techniques, we feel safer in the community. I can't praise this group enough! It is my hope that all women of Fairfax County understand that this invaluable training is available to them. Thank you Fred Sandborn and team!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I participated in the 2-night Women's Self Defense Course. I can't praise the instructors or the content enough. To have the opportunity to perform the maneuvers with an active partner is an invaluable experience. I came into the course thinking I was well prepared and upon the conclusion I was truly enlightened at what I took for granted and DIDN'T know about my personal safety. Thank you for seeing the need and organizing these classes for the community. I have been recommending this to my friends and family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I found out about this foundation from going on the Fairfax County website. I saw that they offered Self Defense classes for women, so I signed myself and my mom up. Although she had a bad arm, the volunteers worked with her to help her learn the techniques while keeping her from getting hurt. I feel a lot more confident in my ability to protect myself and I cannot believe the class was free. I saw many mothers and daughters there and the commitment the volunteers have towards empowering us is evident. I have told my friends about the class because we will all be leaving home soon and it is nice to know how to protect ourselves. The class also teaches ways to prevent the worst scenarios and my mom and I use these tips daily such as not walking too close to the side of a car at night. This non-profit is doing a great service to individuals like me. It truly was a life-changing experience and I recommend the class to any woman of any age. This class does not discriminate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

The only interaction I have had with the Law Enforcement Foundation is when I took the 2-night Women’s Self Defense Class, and it was awesome! The lead instructor approaches a very serious subject with appropriate humor. She doesn't minimize any aspect of self defense. But, her humor helps to keep it in perspective to help us learn. She is very clear and concise in her directions. She doesn't speak 'down' to the students ... she speaks to us as adults learning a new skill. And she doesn't use scare tactics. Her words and actions are very supportive ... a very 'can do' attitude in her voice and directions. All of the instructors are very supportive, even while correcting our body positions or reminding us what we should be doing. I needed to ask a specific question, and the instructors were wonderful about helping me at the end of one of the classes. I very much appreciate this. With all that we were learning, there was never a time that we couldn't ask a question. The instructors moved among us to check our stances, etc., and corrected us as needed. I left the second night feeling confident, and with a plan should I ever need it. I hope that refresher classes will be available in the future. Fred is awesome and is an excellent representative of the Foundation. The Women’s Self Defense Class is but one of the MANY things that this Foundation does to support the community. I cannot say enough good things about it. I have set up a bi-weekly contribution through my bank -- that's how terrific I think the Law Enforcement Foundation is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I am so impressed and thankful that this class is offered by our County. All the instructors shared their expertise and experience to promote the prevention of violence and build women´s confidence. The class was so important to me that I traveled far and took it at an inconvenient time. I would like to see this class offered in public schools and venues such as public park classes. It should be a model for a nationwide focus on deterring violence to women. I volunteer and participate in many educational activities, and this is the most important, useful class I´ve taken. I rarely make recommendations, but I sent messages to every network I have to let women know they should take this class. Several of my friends has since taken it, and let me know how highly they value it. It is clear that everyone involved in putting on the class does so because they care about women´s safety and community wellness. It was inspiring to see them engage women of all ages and backgrounds, and seeing the women come alive with new abilities and assurance. Every woman should take this class, and take refresher classes periodically to refresh their skills and awareness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Loved the complimentary self defense class--they were extremely helpful and every instructor gave us 100% with every exercise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

My daughter and I took the 2 night womens self defense course. It was a really great class and I learned alot about how to protect myself and things to watch for. I would recommend this class to all women, young and old.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I participated in a two-night self-defense class offered by Fairfax County Law Enforcment Foundation and I cannot say enough wonderful things about the course, the trainers, the skills I learned and the added confidence! This organization cares about its community and works to not only make it a safer place but to make the residents more aware and alert!! They ROCK!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers