Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
123.545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

FLAME requires any removal from their mailing list by postal mail. Therefore, even though I never signed up for their mailing list, they refused to cease sending me unsolicited requests for donation when I tried via phone and email multiple times. I needed to pay for a stamp and mail them my request. This seems unethical and immoral. I'd send my donations to a more user-friendly non-profit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

I've donated to FLAME for over five years because of their unique contribution to publicizing accurate information about the Middle East. It's disappointed that Charity Navigator has given them a low score. I would encourage the staff and directors of FLAME to work with Charity Navigator to figure out how to raise the score so that it accurately represents the value and contribution of this worthy organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

I am very sorry that FLAME doesn't keep a data base for last year's donation. Due to the recent death of my mom I am currenty helping my dad with the taxes. I talked with a representative on 2-14-12 about sending a year end statement for the donations. I was told to check my dad's check book and give him the amount and he would send me a letter. The conversation was unprofessional and lastly he asked what age bracket I was in. All I wanted was the 2011 tax statement and he told me he wasn't required to send it. This is a sad way to run a charity and to keep donors.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2011

I am disappointed that a unique organization that you regularly rated with 3 or 4 stars has dropped to 0 stars as a result of your reevaluation. Your emphasis on accountability and transparency means little with an organization as small and lean as FLAME. Most of the characteristics on which they were downgraded do not apply. For example, the only red crossed item that has meaning is the conflict of interest question. Otherwise, there is no board to report to, no minutes to record or retain, etc. They do provide their financial statements on the web site. I think you should review this charity on what they accomplish relative to their mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

I fail to understand your low rating for FLAME. Its work is critical and being done by few if any other organizations. Its president takes no salary. It has low fundraising expenses, and nearly all its income goes to support its mission of refuting an ever-increasing onslaught of media bias against Israel. How does all that rate 0 stars?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 6, 2011

For years I've relied on the one-page FLAME reports to articulate my reasons for supporting Israel. Along with HONEST REPORTING, FLAME stands almost alone in refuting the media bias against Israel, a bias that encourages Israel's enemies.

What I didn't know until coming to Charity
Navigator is that this charity's president, My Joffe, takes no salary. Almost all of the (depressingly small) budget goes to program expenses.

Most charities can be replaced. Not FLAME. Its contributions are unique. I wish it had more money so its message could be better heard.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...myself, making me more sure of my convictions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...ask it to work harder at raising funds. It can't raise even a million dollars a year, a drop in the bucket, and not enough to get its reports widely published. In fact, the only place I ever saw FLAME reports was in US News & World Report, and I'll bet that was due to the kindness of Mr Zuckerman, the publisher.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers