Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a volunteer of this foundation for almost a full year now after being introduced by a colleague. This is undoubtedly the most gratifying volunteer position I have ever held because I am able to visibly see a difference in a patient's life every single day. At the beginning of the visit, people are astonished that this is actually offered in a hospital. After the visit, I leave with many thank you's and kind words. It makes me so happy that I am able to provide for someone in their time of need through Face in the Mirror :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I discovered Face In the Mirror in 2011, my sophomore year at ASU. I've had such an amazing experience working with Patricia and am so excited that I can still be a part of it as a Senior at ASU. I wish this service had been available for my aunt when she was initially diagnosed with breast cancer. I know it would have made her fight that much easier. Thank you FIM and keep doing what you're doing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

A service that provides cancer patients with pampering while in the hospital, and afterwards. A way to let them forget about their illness for a while and give them much needed relaxation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Every day I am honored to be a part of this amazing team who serve patients at their bedsides and in the outpatient units. I am a cancer survivor also and wish a program like FIM had been available for me during my experience! We bring care, compassion, and comfort to oncology patients in need. We support them from point of diagnosis, throughout treatment, and into survivorship! We are there to lighten the load of staff and caregivers and to lift the spirits and soothe the souls and bodies of women, men and their caregivers during this very challenging time. Days are made lighter and hearts shine brighter because of the tender loving care which our volunteers give to patients every day of the week through Face in the Mirrors' outreach programs. We cleanse their faces and massage/moisturize their hands and feet. We put a bright smile back on the womens' faces with a touch of makeup and a new wig and hats. We gift them with all of the gentle products and services which are always free of charge. We encourage them and give them hope while lifting their self-esteem in the face of so many physical changes. We help them & their families LAUGH again! We activate the healing potential by bringing renewed joy to their days. We and they are blessed! They are your family, your friends, your coworkers! Please help us to continue to make their journey easier to bear. Help us to support them in reaching for a renewed life of joy and health!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been the"Face in the Mirror" as a cancer patient and now I am honored to give back through this amazing organization. Every day I am blessed to be able to comfort and encourage amazing women and men who are rising up to meet the challenges of a cancer diagnosis. I see how our pampering and care relaxes their bodies and minds, soothes their souls, and brings BIG smiles to their faces as well as to their caregivers and the staff. We bring this gift directly to them right where they are - at their bedside in the hospital or in the outpatient units while they are receiving their chemotherapy. When they are strong enough to venture out we lift them up with a monthly "Celebration of Life" Tea Luncheon where they receive more love and encoragement, good food, great company, inspirational speakers and FUN! As a bonus they receive free gifts of the highest quality skin care, cosmetics, wigs, and hats. All free and delivered straight from the loving hearts that serve this great organization. Join us! Together we can renew hope, lift spirits, and change lives!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The moment I heard about Faces In The Mirror. I knew it would be a great fit for me. Being able to make someone's day and building lasting bonds by pampering them in the mist of one of their most difficult personal experiences is their concept. I look forward to seeing Faces In The Mirror grow and be able to pamper many more people in the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have participated in thier Tea parties. And seen the faces and moods cancer patients or cancer survivors lighten up as they share thier stories and engjoy thier special time. It is a good time to be had by all.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 20, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

One of my favorite things during the week is volunteering for Face In The Mirror. I enjoy meeting and pampering the cancer patients. I take the greatest pleasure in listening to the patient’s own courageous personal journey. Every day that I volunteer I learn so much from the patients and I discover new things about myself. On the days that I volunteer I go into the hospital to give and to serve the patients, but there are many times when they give to me. They help me remember the things that really matter and they teach me a lot about humanity and the complexities of human emotion. Face In The Mirror provides great services for cancer patients and also provides opportunities for patients to socialize at monthly tea parties. Thus far my experience with Face In the Mirror has been wonderful and I look forward to watching the organization grow and encourage a lot more people.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

I love the volunteers, I love being around other people who open up their hearts and give their time to serving others!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 9, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

I can only imagine what goes through a woman's mind when she first learns she is in the fight of her life for her life. All your time and energy go to doctors appointments, procedures, medications and one day you look in the mirror and cannot see the woman you once were. Then come along a woman who says let me help you feel better, stronger when you look in that mirror. It's really not about looks but about touch, listening, caring. It's someone taking the time to say I see you and you are beautiful. That's what these wonderful women, volunteers at Face In The Mirror Foundation do for women who are facing the fight of their lives.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reach out to more women facing life threating illness.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pamper women and men in the hospital room. Put gift bags together. Website maintenance, Grant writing, Fundraising Volunteer