Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.904765
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I was very excited to go to Face in the Mirror. I have attended one time and I probably will never go again. After lunch for the rest of the two hours the facilitator wept and begged those in attendance for money. I felt this was extremely inappropriate to beg clients for money as everyone there was either a patient or a caregiver. I felt like I was supposed to pay for being there and the service was not free as advertised. When people are sick and this is supposed to make you feel better, no one wants to feel like you owe them for their time and false sense of concern for your welfare. I would definitely not recommend this group to any person going through serious medical issues.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I had a brain tumor in 2002. I still go to support group at St Joseph's Hospital. I appreciate that their our encouraging things to do and feel that we are supported before and after our surgeries. I see other people on their IVs when I go and get a facial or hand massage, I keep a smile on my face and remind others that Face in the mirror foundation is such a blessing.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Face in the Mirror is a truly amazing organization that brings comfort, hope and empowerment to those suffering from cancer. The moment I learned of Face in the Mirror and their mission I knew I had to get involved. Cancer is an illness that has scarred all of us in some way, whether it is through a personal battle with it, or seeing a family member or loved one go through the debilitating effects of it. Face in the Mirror is doing more than pampering cancer patients; They are touching the inner person, giving back dignity and hope and reflecting their inner strength to conquer their illness.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Face in the Mirror is a refreshing break from being a "cancer patient" to being a "pampered woman!"
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a breast cancer survivor, Face in the Mirror has helped me on my journey to wellness. I have
attended their monthly Teas since prior to my surgery and treatment in 2010. Barbara is truly an
angel with a vision that she is taking to fruition. I recommend this organization to all
diagnosed
with Cancer and their families. Their support and kindness are unmatched.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Although I have stage 4 breast cancer and am a Canadian Face in the Mirror welcomed me. I met many other people doing there best to continue living (not just existing) with cancer This organization helps people to not give up on themselves. They even gave me a beautiful embroidered bag with all minds of skiin care products. When you pay large amounts for medication it is easy to forget the little extras such as make up and skin care. They even have volunteers that teach us how to make the best of chemo side effects like hair loss and dry cracking skin. My bat is off to Face in the Mirtor .
October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Our first contact with Face in the Mirror occurred as our cousin was suffering from cancer. We spent each Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings with her. On one specific Wednesday morning she seemed to be more chipper than usual. We found out the reason for that was Carina, from Face in the Mirror was coming. We saw the whole thing, the expectations of the patient before, the massage during and the after glow. What a marvelous gift this was. One that I will never forget.

As a cancer patient myself, I have also received gifts from Carina and want you to know they are greatly appreciated.

Face in the Mirror is a wonderful foundation and deserves your support.

Terry Spahr
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is such an awesome non profit organization. I found out about this organization about 5 years ago, when my friend Susan Castaneda was diagnosed with cancer. My friend passed away a year ago and Face in the Mirror was there for her till the end. Face in the Mirror stepped in an made a difference in her life and soo many other cancer patients. Awesome employees... Thanks again for all you do. Great organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 25, 2010

Face In The Mirror gives the volunteers an opportunity to help a woman or man through their battle with cancer. Face In The Mirror gave me that opportunity and I volunteered for 1 year. I have always ... more

April 15, 2014

I have been part of Face In The Mirror over 8 years and have been so blessed to help in making a difference in a person's life. I saw amazing results whenever a volunteer would visit a patient and pamper them as they went through such a difficult time in their life. After the visit hey were so encouraged and appreciative. The numerous positive feedback from the patients encouraged me as well. There are no other organizations like this mission that offer such wonderful encouragement of love. I am very grateful to be part of such a mission of love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure to suggest that everyone that has been touched by Face In The Mirror "pay it forward". Find a way to share FIM's story that would make such an impact in their life that they would not hesitate to give so that FIM would help many more patients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Face In The Mirror gives the volunteers an opportunity to help a woman or man through their battle with cancer. Face In The Mirror gave me that opportunity and I volunteered for 1 year. I have always liked to volunteer my time but this moment in time has been most rewarding. Now I work for Face In The Mirror and I have the privilege of placing the volunteers in all the hospitals affiliated with Face In the Mirror. I have been involved with Face In The Mirror for 2 ½ years and there is never a day that I do not get a call from a patient to thank a Face In the Mirror volunteer for taking the time to help them feel better about themselves and to help them during a very tough time in their life. The patient is overwhelmed with gratitude for the time they were given to comfort them through their battle. Face In The Mirror teaches the volunteer to celebrate life and to bring this celebration to every patient that they visit. Face In The Mirror also gives the volunteer the chance to be able to help on a one to one basis and see the difference it makes on the patient. I have experienced seeing that difference in a patient’s face and that is Face In the Mirror’s mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I learned to see the person not the disease. I have met many other wonderful volunteers that have a heart to give of themselves. My faith in humanity has been restored. I have learned to celebrate life in my own life.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Take their service to every hospital with cancer patients and change the "face of cancer...one patient at a time."

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a volunteer of this foundation for almost a full year now after being introduced by a colleague. This is undoubtedly the most gratifying volunteer position I have ever held because I am able to visibly see a difference in a patient's life every single day. At the beginning of the visit, people are astonished that this is actually offered in a hospital. After the visit, I leave with many thank you's and kind words. It makes me so happy that I am able to provide for someone in their time of need through Face in the Mirror :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pamper women and men in the hospital room. Put gift bags together. Website maintenance, Grant writing, Fundraising Volunteer