Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 25, 2010

Face In The Mirror gives the volunteers an opportunity to help a woman or man through their battle with cancer. Face In The Mirror gave me that opportunity and I volunteered for 1 year. I have always ... more

April 15, 2014

I have been part of Face In The Mirror over 8 years and have been so blessed to help in making a difference in a person's life. I saw amazing results whenever a volunteer would visit a patient and pamper them as they went through such a difficult time in their life. After the visit hey were so encouraged and appreciative. The numerous positive feedback from the patients encouraged me as well. There are no other organizations like this mission that offer such wonderful encouragement of love. I am very grateful to be part of such a mission of love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure to suggest that everyone that has been touched by Face In The Mirror "pay it forward". Find a way to share FIM's story that would make such an impact in their life that they would not hesitate to give so that FIM would help many more patients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Face In The Mirror gives the volunteers an opportunity to help a woman or man through their battle with cancer. Face In The Mirror gave me that opportunity and I volunteered for 1 year. I have always liked to volunteer my time but this moment in time has been most rewarding. Now I work for Face In The Mirror and I have the privilege of placing the volunteers in all the hospitals affiliated with Face In the Mirror. I have been involved with Face In The Mirror for 2 ½ years and there is never a day that I do not get a call from a patient to thank a Face In the Mirror volunteer for taking the time to help them feel better about themselves and to help them during a very tough time in their life. The patient is overwhelmed with gratitude for the time they were given to comfort them through their battle. Face In The Mirror teaches the volunteer to celebrate life and to bring this celebration to every patient that they visit. Face In The Mirror also gives the volunteer the chance to be able to help on a one to one basis and see the difference it makes on the patient. I have experienced seeing that difference in a patient’s face and that is Face In the Mirror’s mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I learned to see the person not the disease. I have met many other wonderful volunteers that have a heart to give of themselves. My faith in humanity has been restored. I have learned to celebrate life in my own life.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Take their service to every hospital with cancer patients and change the "face of cancer...one patient at a time."

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a volunteer of this foundation for almost a full year now after being introduced by a colleague. This is undoubtedly the most gratifying volunteer position I have ever held because I am able to visibly see a difference in a patient's life every single day. At the beginning of the visit, people are astonished that this is actually offered in a hospital. After the visit, I leave with many thank you's and kind words. It makes me so happy that I am able to provide for someone in their time of need through Face in the Mirror :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
November 26, 2012

There is only ONE Mission out there taking love, attention, pampering, giving back dignity and building hope ...and that is Face In The Mirror. Medicines are necessary to make the journey with cancer,... more

October 6, 2013

It has been my honor now for almost 10 years to serve as the Funder of the FIM Mission. My volunteers are people who live to serve others. My supervisors; daily take our Mission to over 100 cancer patients weekly and are Angels on earth. The Board that I serve with are giving, strong, powerful, people each with their own amazing lives and hearts full of compassion and passion.
I realize this is supposed to be submitted by others. But from Founder with a promise made to my sister who died of cancee, through the yeas on the amazing journey, to now over 30,000 lives touched, I have served and remain as a volunteer and think of myself not above that. We are all together on a special Mission. That is to take love, and essential touch to the person suffering and surviving the dreaded disease of cancer. We give back dignity and build back self esteem, leaving the with a "I Can" smile and a heart full of hope. FIM medicine is not found in the doctor's books, but recognized by many as being as important to recovery and as important as the one that is found in a medicine bottle.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more corporations to fund us and more personal contributions so we could reach more people who need us in the many hospitals left un touched. Shaklee products are being supplied to us. We are so grateful! Thank you Shaklee!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

There is only ONE Mission out there taking love, attention, pampering, giving back dignity and building hope ...and that is Face In The Mirror. Medicines are necessary to make the journey with cancer, but this organization is there by the side of the patient while they take infusion, after being diagnosed and often the last person they might see before being taken off to Hospice. Even there their Mission can be found. I know that the volunteers are the highest form of humanity. They live to give life thru touch and hope thru word, and dignity thru a clean shave or a beautiful facial and makeover. The little woman all alone can now feel comfort in the hands of one of these angels who come to only give comfort. A foot and hand massage is a spa day to those who have never known one! This are not enough words to express what this organization does for humanity going thru their storm of cancer. They need to be in every hospital across the USA.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

Face in the Mirror has been serving the Mission of pampering, dignity, and giving back self esteem to now over 14,000 since 2004! Last year alone, the volunteers gave facials, wigs, hand and foot massage, listened to their hearts, and returned to help them again to over 3,000 women, 700 men, and 1,500 children in the Burn and Trauma as well as cancer. The Mission is simply to bring hope in the midst of their storm, to help them put a smile back on their face, and hope in the heart to meet the daily challenges of their disease. FIM volunteers go into the rooms daily of many of our valley hospitals, also visit the man who needs a bit of dignity, from chemo, medicines, and with a clean shave, a hand massage, and a pick me up, they too are ready to face another day. The outreach of All About us Kids is taking love and pampering to 1,500 children each year in our Valley hospitals. Each department needs volunteers, and office help, and those who could help us raise funding so we can continue this journey of hope.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2009

I was visiting my sister who was in the battle for her life. Charlotte had a beautiful positive nature and nothing seemed to bring her down. But this day, she was, and I wanted to help pick her up. Asking if I could make over her face, she said yes. In a few minutes as she sat on that little bathroom stool with her eyes closed and a smile on her face, her cheeks now had a blush, eyebrows that were gone were now lightly drawn in, a bit of color to her lips and her short wig fluffed. I suggested she take a look at herself in the mirror. She stood up and saw herself looking more like Charlotte and said, "I look pretty, take my picture"! It was magic to my ears! I took pictures we laughed and celebrated that moment, then she said, "you have to do this for others"..I asked why..."because no one cares what you look like when your sick" she said to me. WOW that was amazing, really I asked, no one has cared in the 10 years you have suffered and she answered, "no one but you" So, I made her that promise that day, one that would change my life, and forever set in motion the gift to other thousands of women and from that promise the birth of Face in the Mirror was born. The goosebumps, love, smiles, appreciation, has been an ongoing daily experience. Now in many hospitals taking that pampering to others, in Charlotte's memory...she lives on...her idea was one that "Changes the Face of Cancer, One Patient at a Time! Face in the Mirror is now growing across the country...we need funding more than ever before. I don't pay myself, I work to give, and as we grow the growth just gets bigger because sadly the woman with cancer continue to need us. And with all of me I made that promise that I would make a difference and with my many beautiful self sacrificing volunteers it is happening daily! We need volunteers, money, grants, and endorcements. They will come because we are doing the right thing for others...and this can't go out without something coming back ...and it does! May each person who reads this look inside their own heart and find if there is room for Face in the Mirror and it's Mission. Thank you...Expecting Miracles, Barbara MacLean Founder

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

and by founding it and watching the many smiling faces and hearts that have been touced

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

and will grow it's outreach to all corners of the USA...and pray each day that the hearts of men will listen to the still small voice when it speaks to give so that others can enjoy and feel the change this makes in their lives as a cancer patient.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the goosebumps of knowing the nonprofit that I worked for years to put together, is now changing the face of cancer, one patient at a time!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

are beautiful people. Simply giving of their hearts so that others can receive the essential touch of love and pampering

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

grow grow grow!!! To all the hospitals awaiting and the many thousands who have yet to experience a "spa day" while going through the largest storm of their lives!

Ways to make it better...

My experience would have been better if when we walked into each room with a woman waiting for the pampering we give to hear, she is well and won't be back!

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

funding and volunteers. Grants, and endorcements. ALL needed, All we wait on...All are out there...and I believe when they arrive, the skies the limit!

One thing I'd also say is that...

Medicines that each woman with cancer receives, infusion, radiation, along with the lonely days and nights, is now changed for those who lie in the hospitals where Face in the Mirror's Mission is received. They smile more!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I discovered Face In the Mirror in 2011, my sophomore year at ASU. I've had such an amazing experience working with Patricia and am so excited that I can still be a part of it as a Senior at ASU. I wish this service had been available for my aunt when she was initially diagnosed with breast cancer. I know it would have made her fight that much easier. Thank you FIM and keep doing what you're doing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

A service that provides cancer patients with pampering while in the hospital, and afterwards. A way to let them forget about their illness for a while and give them much needed relaxation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Every day I am honored to be a part of this amazing team who serve patients at their bedsides and in the outpatient units. I am a cancer survivor also and wish a program like FIM had been available for me during my experience! We bring care, compassion, and comfort to oncology patients in need. We support them from point of diagnosis, throughout treatment, and into survivorship! We are there to lighten the load of staff and caregivers and to lift the spirits and soothe the souls and bodies of women, men and their caregivers during this very challenging time. Days are made lighter and hearts shine brighter because of the tender loving care which our volunteers give to patients every day of the week through Face in the Mirrors' outreach programs. We cleanse their faces and massage/moisturize their hands and feet. We put a bright smile back on the womens' faces with a touch of makeup and a new wig and hats. We gift them with all of the gentle products and services which are always free of charge. We encourage them and give them hope while lifting their self-esteem in the face of so many physical changes. We help them & their families LAUGH again! We activate the healing potential by bringing renewed joy to their days. We and they are blessed! They are your family, your friends, your coworkers! Please help us to continue to make their journey easier to bear. Help us to support them in reaching for a renewed life of joy and health!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I first experienced the ladies from Face in the Mirror when I had my first chemo session at St. Joe's back in November 2011. They made me look great!! Later on that year, I attended my first tea party at Banner - Good Sam Hospital - and received the wig and a new makeup session with Jackie Herrera!! I've tried introducing a couple of my neighbors to this organization. This organization goes out of their way to make everyone feel at home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I recommend Face In the Mirror for those going through a journey with cancer. They are there to support the patient and build their self esteem by providing wigs, hats, scarves, pure botanical skin care products and make up. They help you to pamper your sole when you are feeling not so good. The Celebration of Life Teas are a great way to meet and talk with others on a similar journey.

I know the good work they do. I found them when I was going through my treatments. So now I not only recommend them to others but also volunteer with them to ensure that this organization is here for others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I went to a Face in the Mirror program at the Wellness Community in Phoenix, AZ. It was about taking care of your nails during chemo treatment. I had no idea that chemo could be so damaging to fingernails and dry out your skin so much. The nail professional that volunteered her time for this program was very kind and sincere. I felt genuinely cared for while receiving a wonderful papering session. I also learned what to do to better care for my nails and skin. I also attended a Face in the Mirror Tea party shortly after completing my chemo treatment. It was a wonderful celebration of life for cancer survivors at all stages. There, I received another pampering session (because I was a first timer). Again, the volunteers made me feel truly cared for and like a queen for the day. They also gave me some beauty products to take home! I am still using them today! Thanks Face in the Mirror for making me feel normal and not so much like a 'patient'!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

When Face in The Mirror had one of their monthly tea parties at Banner Good Sam, I was able to pick up one of their flyers. Although it took several months before I attended the first tea, the people made me feel welcome. As a six year breast cancer survivor, Barbara says that it is just as much for me as it is for the newly diagnosed. At the last tea party, held at St. Joes, I was asked if I was willing to help with registration. saying "yes" was a no brainer. This is a small way to help Barbara continue her ministry,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pamper women and men in the hospital room. Put gift bags together. Website maintenance, Grant writing, Fundraising Volunteer