Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.904765
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 6, 2014

more

November 6, 2014

Face in Mirror my Life saver. I was diagnose with cancer end of November 2013. I started my chemo treatments in MN end of December & continue with Dr Monk S Joseph's Medical Center in Phoenix, AZ Feb 1st, 2014. Dr Monk was the Principal investigator on the clinical trial I was on.

I arrived in Phoenix with no hair and wig/hair covers I had were friends & hairdresser's as I was awaiting a "voucher" for same from ACS. "Face in the Mirror" immediately supply me with head covers, lotions & creams and each week foot massages etc . I was "pamper"!!! and it felt so good!!
Bought calm to mind, body & spirit!.
Their monthly "In Celebration of life" Tea luncheon are fabulous. ....they are a time to meet new friends, to realize you are not alone, enjoy beautifully prepared tea and entertainment. We receive makeup, hand massage etc etc

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Many not for profits are out to make a difference - but this one stands above them all! Folks do not have to come to them for help... folks do not have to seek them out... THEY come to those NEEDING the help and what a help they are! In a world centered around hussle and bussle these folks take the time to STOP, and TOUCH the human at what may appear to be the worst time of their lives!

We need more foundations as this.. one that cares about the people it services much more than that mission or foundation itself.
October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Amy and I have Stage 3C Ovarian Cancer. The first day that I went to the infusion lab to receive chemotherapy was the scariest day ever. It was the unknown of what was going to happen, what side effects would I suffer, and would it all work and save my life. I was greeted by wonderful people from the front office to the nurses and all were fantastic and professional! But the moment that Corina, from Face In The Mirror walked in and said "I am here to comfort you through this experience" I was truly relieved for the first time. She offered the comfort of a warm smile, a loving touch as she massaged my feet, and she played lovely, calming music. She was so kind and comforting and as if the massage wasn't enough, she gave me lotions, makeup, and other care products to take home. She offered to help me with makeup tips and wig fittings as though needs came up. I was overwhelmed by how kind this organization was and that it all stemmed from the love of one sister to another. So beautiful! If I won the lottery, I would donate every penny to this organization so that they can continue to take the worst time in a person's life and add some hope!
October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

AS A 22 yr. SURVIVOR AND GRATEFUL /CLIENT/ PARTICIPANT IN THIS LIFE-SAVING ORGANIZATION, I am so grateful AND THANK GOD every hour of every day for the unselfish devotion that the organizers and giving volunteers have gone through over these multiple years to make us, AS CLIENTS/PARTICIPANTS to enjoy a more fruitful life. With such UPLIFTING PROGRAMS (speakers, both professional and medical) and providing artsy/crafty projects (to assist/help us get through this phase. AND: WE ARE TREATED TO THEEEE MOST DELICIOUS LUNCH PROVIDED BY ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL HERE IN PHOENIX, Also, another AND: GRATEFUL TO THE COMPANIES THAT PROVIDE US FREE COSMETICS AND ACCESSORIES TO: KEEP US ----- -NOT AFRAID TO LOOK IN THE MIRROR !!

Bobbie Rogers

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Place my name in as a VOLUNTEER to assist in this most rewarding organization,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

As a breast cancer survivor, I understand the feelilng of loss which is reflected in many ways, not the least of which is the aspect of feminity. I support friends who are going through the process of loss and healing after their diagnosis and treatment of cancer. Recently a friend related her experience of first day chemo when a lady she described as "angelic" ministered to her a facial and hand massage. It was so welcomed and comforting on that particular long, tiring day of treatment. The "angel" was a volunteer from Face in the Mirror. I was invited to be this friend's guest at Face in the Mirror's monthly tea at St Joseph's Hospital in Phoenix. It was most uplifting to watch others currently undergoing treatment , and experience for myself, the special gift of personal beauty products, a speaker with a positive message, and lovely spread of food to nourish our physical senses.
This organization does a great service and I support the effort to grant them special nonprofit status.
Glenda Myers, Scottsdale , Az
October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Laying in my hospital room with a collapsed lung 3 days after my first of two breast cancer surgeries, a friendly woman walked into my room. She was from Face in the mirror. I can't say I was very responsive to her visit but as she patiently talked, I felt comforted that someone was reaching out to me as I felt overwhelmed. I was so delighted that someone cared about the emotional repercussions of my surgery and wanted to address the fact that I felt less than beautiful after my surgery. This organization has proved to be a sisterhood that understands what a women goes through after breast surgery. I cannot thank them enough for giving me a much needed boost and for recognizing the emotional toll, not just physical of breast cancer. Thank goodness for their fantastic work!
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has supported my Mom and helped her feel confident and beautiful again despite living with no hair and on chemotherapy for the past 2 years!
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Face in the Mirror is an outstanding organization. They provide assistance, products and best of all they make us feel loved. I have attended many of their monthly meetings that offer support and an opportunity to meet other people that have have the same illness that I do.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first encountered Face in the Mirror two months after completing treatment for invasive breast cancer. Trying to eat healthy foods to boost my energy and immune system, navigating the ongoing oral chemo minefield with new negative side effects popping up almost weekly, dealing with well-meaning friends and family who still gasped when they saw me and heard "CANCER" - the last thing I time time/energy for was my physical appearance. I went to an event sponsored by my Cancer Wellness Center where I was getting help with medical and treatment information as well as support. The wonderful volunteers from Face in the Mirror took me in hand, gave me a complete facial, then step by step applied makeup to help me look and feel like I had rejoined the company of the living once again - even giving me full sized containers of the products (botanical/organic) they used so I* would be able to duplicate it at home. I looked like me again and as a result, began feeling that as well. A wonderful lift when I needed it most.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

They really were there when I needed help the most...
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pamper women and men in the hospital room. Put gift bags together. Website maintenance, Grant writing, Fundraising Volunteer