Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Ezer Mizion serves so many different populations with a variety of needs and in so many different ways. With practical assistance, empowerment and emotional support this wonderful organization helps people who are facing health challenges. Their staf is highly professional and their volunteers are compassionate responsible people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

replicate it in every country in the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

heard this recount of a typical day of an Ezer Mizion employee: A patient lies helpless in a hospital bed. His family surrounds him. The room is filled with tension. He has one chance to live. A bone marrow transplant can save his life but a genetically matching donor is needed.

Ezer
Mizion's Bone Marrow Registry searches. They search further...further... Success!

Initial testing done at time of registration indicates a very good match. The contact number is dialed. It rings but the potential donor is not at home.

When will he arrive? Not for several weeks. He is at camp. Somewhere out in California. Miles away from civilization. Miles away from a phlebotomist who can draw the blood for further testing. Miles away from life for the patient whose condition may deteriorate over the interim.

Ezer Mizion's NY office is contacted. Mapquest joins Ezer Mizion's NY office in its search for the nearest city. No accommodating lab in that city on Ezer Mizion's list. Google and Whitepages.com rush to assist, providing a list of doctors, clinics, phlebotomists, labs--- any entity which may be able to draw the blood and ship it to one of Ezer Mizion's labs to be further tested asap.

Calls are made. Five o'clock comes and goes. Out to lunch...on vacation...please leave a message and we will get back to you as soon as possible...sorry, we do not draw blood...sorry, we cannot be of service...

Keep dialing...next one on the list...yes, we'll be happy to help. Relieved sigh. Paperwork emailed. Close office. Home. Another life saved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Organization created a fantastic event with a success story as its highlight. A sixteen year old boy appeared center stage and met the bone marrow donor who saved his life for the first time. The cliche of 'there wasn't a dry eye...' was certainly true at this event!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

My elderly parents went to live in Israel in 1998. They were looking forward to their retirement there, but sadly only two and a half years later my father had to have a hip replacement. This did not go well and he had a very deep infection in his thigh bone that refused to heal. My mother and sister did not know where to find advice and help, especially as neither knew much medical Hebrew. Ezer Mizion was where they were referred to. They gave them medical advice so that they understood what was going on and could find treatments that were available. They gave referrals to doctors to find the best place for surgery. The Ezer Mizion ambulance transport facility to and from the nursing home and hospital meant that those issues were taken care of and this helped my mother greatly. When my mother, sister or other carer was staying in the hospital, Ezer Mizion ensured that there was always food in the hospital for them too so that no one was hungry. In short, I fell that the support given by Ezer Mizion to my family during this difficult period was exemplary and demonstrates that they deserve every support and encouragement to continue in their vital work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

I am a teenage girl. I participated in the Lev Same'ach summer camp, and I also spend time once a week with a special child. I have a tremendous love for Hashem's special children. When I went to the Tel Aviv performance of Ahava Rabbah, presented by a cast of special children, tears came to my eyes. The dozens of innocent faces looked to me like flowers blossoming before my eyes. I felt like stretching out my arms and embracing every one of them, "Angels! I want to touch your purity, your divine perfection!" I could hardly contain my feelings.

Just one day earlier, I was in the Newborn Ward of the hospital, and I saw a tiny, perfect baby, just born. It seemed so simple and self understood that the new parents would bring home a healthy baby, wrapped in a warm velvety blanket. I couldn't help thinking of other mothers, whose little "chicks" come in a different guise…

Yet, I felt that Hashem above turns to His angels and boasts: "Look at my precious children. See how they cope with challenges – and how they help others cope. Look at Ezer Mizion, and see the power of 'Ahava Rabbah' – vast love."

How fortunate we are that we have an organization like this, that giving hearts such as these reside among us.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing how under their love and care the children blossom

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

look for more avenues to find more funding for their amazing work

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers