Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

There are some things that you hear a lot about, but do not really grasp until you encounter them in real life. Only then do you suddenly truly understand all that you heard or saw on the subject, and realize that - until now - you really had no idea what it was all about.

That's what
happened to me recently when, for various medical reasons, I had to travel from my home to the hospital, back and forth, repeatedly. When I attempted to use public transportation, I learned that I would have to take three different buses in order to reach my destination. My health situation could not tolerate all that time on buses. Taxis were way out of my budget. I was at a loss of what to do. Then suddenly, the "good angels" I had heard so much about appeared out of nowhere and opened my eyes.

A friend referred me to Ezer Mizion's Transport Division. It was there that I discovered an entire world of busy activity, humming quietly underground - or more accurately - above the ground, on the asphalt roads. I revealed an entire network of volunteers, regulars and occasional, at set hours and odd timers, with big vehicles and little ones. Among them were very busy, rushed people, who are anything but bored. Nevertheless, they were all there on call, like soldiers at a drill, quick to respond to every request from Ezer Mizion's coordinator to come help another Jew.

I don't have to describe the distress of patients and their families, some of whom unfortunately suffer for long periods of poor health. Much of that time, they spend on the roads, between home and the hospital. The other family members, and especially young children, get caught in the middle, desperate for a bit more attention and less isolation and distance from their harried parents.

The endless travel time turns from an inconvenience into a nightmare, as the lengthy trips steal away big chunks of time from the children, and the long hours spent outside the home come at the youngsters' expense.

You cannot possibly understand the tremendous kindness in the mitzvah of facilitating speedy, comfortable transport of patients and their escorts, until you go through it yourself. We hope that no one should have to go through the experience and that everyone's loved ones will stay well and healthy, and that by just hearing about it, people will come to a true understanding of how significant volunteer driving really is!

Ezer Mizion's volunteer transport network is based on the caring and cooperation of hundreds of drivers who devote time and patience, driving their own cars and paying for the gas, to pick up patients and their companions and get them to their destination.

At this opportunity, I suggest that drivers devote some thought to this important topic. Whoever feels he can find the time to help out in this important chesed should speak to one of the organizations he is familiar with and offer his assistance to drive patients and their family members. In this way, more Jews can be helped to get through their difficult times with relative ease and comfort and to gain valuable time for the benefit of the patients and their children.

May all Jewish patients experience full recovery and render all these chesed avenues unnecessary!



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

After years of a protracted struggle against lymphoma, my remaining option was the possibility of a transplant from an unrelated donor. Thanks to you and to the remarkable enterprise established by Ezer Mizion, a compatible donor was located for me. During the course of the treatments I underwent, two additional donations were required. You mobilized the effort to save my life and did whatever was necessary to cure me. You did everything willingly and graciously, but also with determination stemming from the mission you voluntarily undertook.
Words do not suffice to express what I feel these days, now that I am liberated from a prolonged period of hospitalization. During this time there were more than a few difficult moments, and the bone marrow donations you organized for me with a willing heart, within a very short time framework, enabled me to recover.
I still have a long way to go, but I feel strengthened and hopeful about the success of the process. This is in large measure due to your exceptional generosity and kind-heartedness, and to all the good people who helped - and first and foremost, you.
It is wonderful to know that there are still good people like you, who volunteer day and night, for the purpose of literally saving lives. May such good deeds increase and may a cure be found for all those in need of one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2011

I volunteer - usually on a weekly basis - to sit by the bedside of a patient in one of Jerusalem's hospitals.
There are other volunteers from Ezer Mizion who drive me there and back.
While in the hospital, there is an Ezer Mizion volunteer giving out tasty meals (or snacks, depending on
the time of day/night). I have seen how these gifts of food have really made a difference in the lives of the family of the patients.
Some people are sitting there day and night and can't leave to try to find a normal meal. Ezer Mizion comes along (with a smile too) and provides them nourishment to continue the vigil by their bedsides.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have sent me therapists to work with my handicapped daughter, at a very reduced rate. Ezer Mizion also provided transportation for her to get to appointments in their vehicle that fits the wheelchair - with no charge at all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! Perhaps more vehicles to be able to help more handicapped and elderly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing! Perhaps more vehicles to be able to help more handicapped and elderly.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I met and learned from very special people: the patients and the other volunteers

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt that I had made the patient's day/evening better and that I had given their family a bit of respite.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

To our new Ezer Mizion family,
That has no boundaries of time,
Nor boundaries of will,
Whose power of giving
Is beyond all imagination.

Our blessing is
That you be blessed with strength and much ability
To continue and sweeten the path
With the great insight
and pleasantness
That we have had the merit to see in you.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing and hearing how much Ezer Mizion lightens the load of the families they touch

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the word about the amazing work they do to increase their "family" of admirers and supporters

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

I wanted to thank you for the Sweet Retreat that strengthened, enriched, pampered.
Thank you for all the activities, both for mothers and daughters, giving us all a chance to rest a bit from our day to day occupation and to see that, in essence, we are all the same. We all share the same
challenges, with our children always around us and in our hearts, and dependent on our constant care.
We could see that you thought of everything, and that it was all meticulously planned.
May Hashem give you all your well deserved reward. Thank you, and best wishes for good health for all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving constant support and advice

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make these retreats more often - they are a source of strength to continue

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

A Bouquet for Those Who Water the Flowers

There is an ancient legend that says
That when a child enters the world
An “angel” is born with him in heaven.
I have an angel, we all have.

There is an ancient legend that says
That when a child enters the world
A
“star” is created together with him in heaven.
You, I, we all have stars. . . .

There is an ancient legend that says
That when a baby enters the world
He is a flower in the heavenly garden. . .
An angel gives him the dew of heaven to drink
And nourishes him with the warmth of the stars.

But sometimes it happens that a star is hidden;
That the rays of warmth and of light are delayed;
That an angel strays from the path
and doesn’t water the flowers equally
So that their growth is delayed.
And some of the flower’s petals are defective.

But this deficiency doesn’t affect the flower’s
beauty, its happiness, or the glory of its soul.

Because we know how to “see” with our ears
And our eyes “hear” the singing of birds.
We have learned to “see” with our hands
And to “hear” with them melodies and sounds.

We have learned that man is like a bird in flight.
Like a flower that is joyous in G-d’s grace.
And if there are flowers whose petals are unhealthy
Their souls are rich, their roots are deep.
AND YOU ARE G-D’S MESSENGERS

You are the warmth
You are the strength
You are the light
You are the angels

Who water the flowers
And give us the strength to continue
And to look ahead with hope
And for all of this many, many, many
THANKS!!

Esti M. and family

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The gave my family and I hope and strength to continue

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help raise donations, the more donations they have the more they can help

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

To my great sorrow, my acquaintance with Ezer Mizion in recent years stems from my wife's serious illness. In the recent past, she has undergone difficult At the time, she recovered. Unfortunately, during this past year, she had to resume treatments.
This is not the place to describe all the
trials and tribulations we are going through but to share our gratitude for giving us a precious gift called "life."
Our everyday life in this world is filled with non-stop challenges – day after day and hour after hour of endless running, aggravations, fears, anxieties and doubts, without a moment's rest. From Ezer Mizion, we receive peace, tranquility, happiness and… life.
At these very moments, my wife is getting ready to go to a hotel in Nir Etzion. I heard her this morning getting up with a song on her lips and singing to the children as she got them up to go to school and kindergarten (and this after yesterday's treatment…) She was so excited that a trip was in the offing to grant her life.
We have not yet gotten over the Chanukah event that you organized for the children at the farm, which gave all of us a boost of joy and vitality. We still bask in the memories of past events that brought us joy and…life.
At moments of tension, of medical tests, of thoughts about things that we fear to say in words, we recall these exciting events, picture the smiles on the faces of our happy children – and thanks to you, we receive life.
These moments of "joy and life" are worth a fortune to us. If we could, we would keep those moments alive forever. If we could, we would stop the "film" and remain suspended in this state of joy and life without returning to our challenges, but…
At present, all we can do is, at the very least, to say – thank you for everything, and to express our deep appreciation for your tremendous life-giving enterprise.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

they bring the joy and life to the house without them I dread to think what the atmosphere at home would be like

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

enable more families to receive this amazing support by finding more funds

April 27, 2011

more

April 27, 2011

Dear Tehilla, Avital and Orit,

There are sweet little kids, hardly noticed at all
And bigger kids that everyone always recalls.
These children are stars that twinkle so bright,
Illuminating the world each day with their light.

But if they are the stars, then you
are the sun
Kindling the glow in each and every one.
Darkness and pain, from them you release -
Illuminating their path with softness and peace.

Like the sun in the sky, you shower your light
And make sure that for them, everything's just right.

You work with these souls the whole year, throughout
Their deep, hidden feelings, you gently draw out.
And then after a year, when they grow and they learn,
Comes the great summer camp for which all year they yearn.

Tehilla and Avital, the summer camp coordinate,
Planning and arranging a program that's great.
Orit organizes the line-ups - simply amazing,
A smile on her face, her mouth always praising.

Thank you all for the love that you lend,
And the faith and hope that in Naomi you extend.
Thanks for all you do to take such good care,
Keeping her happy and occupied the entire year.

Special thanks for everything!

Naomi's big sister,
Yafit

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the love and joy shown to my special sister makes her a happier and calmer person and has given her tools to grow

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

arrange sleep away camp in the winter in addition to the amazing one they have in the summer.

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

I work as a pre-school teacher, in Pre 1A. I joined the "Active Nurturing Playground" project last year.
I feel that the Active Nurturing Playground (ANP) has opened new horizons for me in my work with children in the sensory-motor area. This is a very crucial area at the pre-school age,
since, as is well known, physical movements are the first skills that develop in the young child.
The ANP project created an enabling environment in my pre-school class, one that enables all the children, not just those with challenges. All of the children have an opportunity to engage in sensory motor activity in a fun and enjoyable way that effectively enhances the learning process, social skills and behavior.
The ANP gave me the tools to more easily pinpoint the child with challenges and to help him as much as possible.
In addition, the project gave me marvelous tools and the ability to pass information on to the parents and to clearly define their child's difficulties. In this way, I am able to foster in them trust and acceptance. As a result, they are willing and able to act on the recommendations given to them.
The ANP kit contains varied and challenging equipment. The mentor, does wonderful work, conveying her subject in a comprehensive, clear and structured fashion.
Her cooperative efforts with us, the pre-school teachers, and with the children in the group, produce real results in the field. Here is a striking example of a case in point:
The mother was ill with cancer, and her hospitalizations were frequent. Each time the mother was hospitalized, the child was passed from one neighbor to the next, until a family was found that would take her on a regular basis each time the mother was not at home. In addition to this difficult family background, she also had personal challenges.
There was a gap of two years and three months between her and her classmates. She had difficulties in organization, language retrieval, and understanding instructions. At snack time, she would become very dirty and this automatically created social rejection as well.
Into this mess stepped the wonderful project of the ANP.
Before we became involved with the ANP, we worked a lot with the child in group and individual work. The miracle was that the girl's motivation to learn was very high. She was willing to give up on free play time in order to progress and learn. In addition, she received therapy once a week at the Child Development Clinic. Still and all, her progress was in tiny, baby steps.
The minute we started working with her in the ANP, it was as if the cork was pulled out and everything started to move. She needed this motor activity in a massive, basic and consistent dosage.
We came to a stage that the Child Development Clinic wanted to close her case. They said: "The child has closed gaps in an amazing way. What happened? A miracle?" No!
She simply had not had the opportunity until now to engage in so many varied activities. We divided the children of the class into groups of five, and included her every time. In this manner, she had many opportunities to upgrade her abilities with the teacher's guidance.
I feel that Ezer Mizion has succeeded in giving us a product that we can use. This is a project that suits us perfectly – its content, the lectures, the mentoring staff. In this way, a bond of trust is formed between us, them, the children and the parents – and the results are self-evident.
This entire project is not something that "was, and is finished." It is a new direction that has penetrated and will remain forever.
It's just wonderful – thank you! We will be very happy to keep up the fertile collaboration in other projects in the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

learning tools to more easily pinpoint the child with challenges and to help him as much as possible

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

the course was all encompassing!

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

I am a teenage girl. I participated in the Lev Same'ach summer camp, and I also spend time once a week with a special child. I have a tremendous love for Hashem's special children. When I went to the Tel Aviv performance of Ahava Rabbah, presented by a cast of special children, tears came to my eyes. The dozens of innocent faces looked to me like flowers blossoming before my eyes. I felt like stretching out my arms and embracing every one of them, "Angels! I want to touch your purity, your divine perfection!" I could hardly contain my feelings.

Just one day earlier, I was in the Newborn Ward of the hospital, and I saw a tiny, perfect baby, just born. It seemed so simple and self understood that the new parents would bring home a healthy baby, wrapped in a warm velvety blanket. I couldn't help thinking of other mothers, whose little "chicks" come in a different guise…

Yet, I felt that Hashem above turns to His angels and boasts: "Look at my precious children. See how they cope with challenges – and how they help others cope. Look at Ezer Mizion, and see the power of 'Ahava Rabbah' – vast love."

How fortunate we are that we have an organization like this, that giving hearts such as these reside among us.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing how under their love and care the children blossom

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

look for more avenues to find more funding for their amazing work

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers