Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The day I made my way through the frantic atmosphere of the recruitment base, waiting for my new green IDF uniform, I never thought that with a little pinch of a needle at the Ezer Mizion bone marrow sample testing booth, I could save a human life. I had almost forgotten all about the sample I gave. When they called to tell me that I was a match, I cried with joy and I cry every time I relive the dramatic moment

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Ezer Mizion has been there for me and my family since our arrival in Israel 12 years ago. Wether we needed medical equipment loans, medical advice, a hot meal after 12 hours in the emergency room, advice for early intervention, daily home visits to measure blood pressure for me elderly mother visiting from the States, hydrotherapy as tool to treat ADHD, there is no limit to their caring and concern. If there's a way to help, Ezer Mizon does it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Our grandson was born at the Rabin Medical Center in Petach Tikvah, to our great joy and to the joy of the entire family.

Three days after his birth, our daughter-in-law's condition deteriorated rapidly and she was rushed to Intensive Care for emergency treatment. Tragically, despite the
medical treatment, our fervent prayers, and our hopes, she returned her pure soul to her Creator at the age of 23, leaving behind a young husband, two young orphans - age two years and a baby of less than three weeks - and a shocked and grieving family.

As soon as our daughter-in-law entered Intensive Care, we contacted Ezer Mizion for guidance and assistance in choosing the right doctors, to ensure that she received the best medical attention possible.

A representative of Ezer Mizion got in touch with us and for two entire weeks, day and night, he would call us, get an update, and speak to the medical staff. He was there for us constantly during this entire difficult period.

Furthermore, as a result of the baby's low weight, the brith milah had to be postponed. It was only on the third day of Chol Hamoed Sukkot, at 12:20 PM, that we were informed that it would be possible to hold the brith milah that day (and it was not advisable to put it off to the next day because his mother was in critical condition ...). The mohel set the time for 2:00 PM.

Within an hour and 40 minutes we had to organize an entire brith - including a festive meal, clothing for the baby, etc. When we called Ezer Mizion to consult with them, we were advised that they would arrange everything. Just one hour later, a representative arrived with generous portions of rolls, salads, cold cuts, drinks, etc. as well as dishes, cutlery, etc.

At the end of the event, I asked him how much I owed him for this feast. He was insulted by the question, and responded that there was no charge - not a single penny - everything was purely as a good deed.

Dear Rabbi Chollak!

It is for good reason that the great Torah sage Rav Chaim Kanievsky said, "Ezer Mizion are my emissaries. . . ."

Continue to glorify the name of Heaven through your important and holy enterprise and may the Holy One Blessed be He always be of aid to you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

I would like to take this opportunity to express my heartfelt thanks for the help I received form Ezer Mizion recently.
The volunteers who took me five times a week to and from Hadassah Ein Kerem Hospital for several weeks made these treatments so much easier for me. Meeting these dedicated
people was inspiring. It is a great chesed you perform and in the future I would like to be among your volunteers.
Special thanks to the people who help make the arrangements everyday!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 11, 2012

My name is Yaffa. I am an intelligent woman with a lucrative profession, and
I am employed in a prestigious position. I like esthetics, cooking, art,
music, and most of all - I love children.

A few days after our sixth child, Efrat, was born, I was not the same
person. It was
like somebody else had come to inhabit my skin. I was always
upbeat and capable of handling all the household crises that crop up daily.
Suddenly, I felt frightened, unsteady. Fragile. Like a crumpled leaf to be
crushed into dust at the gentlest wind. I cried without stop. I was very
confused, angry at everyone around me. I was living in a nightmare and my
family had joined me in my horrific dream.

When Efrat was three weeks old, my husband knew that we urgently needed
counseling. The house was on wheels, the atmosphere was poisoned with the
nasty remarks that were not mine but were coming out of my mouth.

I wasn't communicating normally. I wasn't caring for the baby and certainly
not for the older children. It was my body, but the real me was a million
miles away. My husband understood that something very serious was happening,
something that required the help of a professional. But who??? The very fact
that we needed help precluded our asking for help. How could we ask friends
or family? It had to be kept quiet. Nobody should know, no one should
talk...We couldn't let it continue. Yet we couldn't do anything to stop it.


For ten days, my husband went around trying to pretend that all is well,
deluding himself that any minute, it would pass, covering things up from the
children, and even more so, from himself. One day, he passed by the big Ezer
Mizion building. He didn't let himself think. He closed his mind to the
ever-present worry that people will find out. In seconds, he found himself
standing in front of the receptionist's desk and blurted out, "Who can I
talk to on the subject of post-partum depression?"

From that moment on we were no longer alone. We had someone to consult,
someone with whom we could share our feelings and our pain. And Ezer Mizion
was the ultimate in discretion. Hot meals began to arrive at our home and
devoted volunteers took the children to the park in the afternoon. They
immediately sent me a wonderful companion, who gave me support and helped me
get organized with the simplest, most basic things.

I underwent a rehabilitation process at Ezer Mizion, in a framework adapted
just for me. I made beautiful progress, and Ezer Mizion celebrated every
step forward along with us.

A few months later, I was already able to return to my job and care for my
home and family. Ezer Mizion continued to help me in every imaginable way
for a long time, until I was functioning at full capacity. Gradually, Ezer
Mizion receded from our lives, as normal life concurrently reentered. And
no, no one ever discovered our secret.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My name is Mika and I’m an eighth grader. One day I went for a very special haircut. I watched as my hair that I had been so proud of was put into a container marked Ezer Mizion to be used to make wigs for cancer patients. With all their other problems, cancer patients also have to be embarrassed because they have no hair. It’s a very special feeling to give a part of yourself to help someone else.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2012

more

June 10, 2012

Dear bone marrow donor,
THANK YOU!
Since we cannot know who you are and tell you personally all that we would like to say, we shall do the best we can and express our feelings through this anonymous letter.
Our entire family and all our friends and the many people who are concerned for
the health of our loved one send the greatest thank you that it is possible to transmit. Giving of your time, effort and pain as you did, for someone you don't even know, and at no profit for yourself - is not something that is self-understood.
No matter what the results of the transplant will prove to be, you can mark off to your credit the priceless merit of saving a life, as we are told: "When a person saves one soul, it is as if he saved an entire world."
Your donation has struck an emotional chord in each of us and has planted hope in our hearts - both for our loved one's health and for life in general - the refreshing knowledge that people like you exist who are willing to do anything for another person, a stranger, just in order to save life.
If only we had enough words to thank you for your selfless donation.
We wish you and your family much health and success in all that you do.
With love -
From the appreciative family

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

The retreat for diabetics was unbelievable. You can't imagine how energizing it is to spend a whole Shabbat with peers you can talk to, to be yourself, to know that you're not the only one dealing with this challenge, day in and day out. These retreats are the real injections that keep us going the whole year around!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I graduated from college with honors, and ended up with a successful career as VP of sales for a marketing company.
I had started not feeling well in 2002, mostly gastro issues. The doctors assumed I had an infection – there were lots of tests, but no answers.
Then the answer came. And
when it did, I wished it hadn’t. I’ll never forget the look in my parents’ eyes when they heard. It wasn’t a stubborn stomach virus. It was cancer.
How does a mother face the possibility of losing the child she gave birth to? My mother cried. My father stood there stoic, clenching his fists. He was the rock of our family but the rock was trembling.
In the summer of 2009, Dr. Rai explained that since no treatments were effective for me I would need a stem-cell transplant. This was the last stop. There was nothing else. I felt like my world was coming to an end. That was my only option. I needed a donor who matched my genetics. If there was one, the transplant would take place. If not, …My sister was tested but she was not a match. So Dr. Rai sent a search request to Ezer Mizion. At that point I knew my life depended on two things, finding a donor and time. My race for life began.
I was 42 when I had my stem cell transplant and I just celebrated my 45th birthday. Every day is a blessing. I thank my donor many times every day!
I’m excited for the future. I have a lot more life to live and because of Ezer Mizion and my donor I am ALIVE and ready!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I have been living in Israel for 3 years. I am still on all the 'Old Country' email lists and look on longingly about all the Golf Outings that are advertised at various times during the year.
Whenever I participated in the day's events, I always enjoyed the entire atmosphere camaraderie's,
food, and of course the golf. If a trip stateside coincided with one of the various outings I would have attended, I would try to work my hectic schedule into the outing, but - more often than not - it was not possible.
Living in Beit Shemesh, having a day job and not being an ardent 'twice a week' golfer, my golf skills waned and my rounds became few and far between. Which has been a shame because the year I made Aliyah, the Caesarea Golf Course reopened its beautiful Pete Dye designed championship course. I was able to play every few months but not more.
Shortly after arriving to Israel, friends and family started turning to us for advice on where to go and what to do as they found themselves on the JFK-Ben Gurion express once again. They are always looking for the 'out of the way', 'off the grid', 'never did that before', thing in Israel. Invariably the suggestion was met with 'been there, done that'.
Until one year when my friend Simmie visited from West Hempstead. He was investigating different yeshivot his high school senior was interested in attending the following year. He also knew there were quite a few others that were traveling to Israel the same Thanksgiving weekend.
After an exhaustive yeshivah search he found himself with an afternoon free. Having done practically everything else in Israel, he wanted to play golf. A few phone calls later we had two foursomes and a tee time at the Caesarea course. We followed up the round at a restaurant in the Herzalia marina and one of the participants commented on what an absolutely great and different day this was.
This began the wheels turning in our heads. If; with a few quick phone calls, we can organize a great golf day, why not make this into an annual event and raise money for a worthwhile cause?
Playing golf, eating food, having fun and all done in the name of raising money - we right away came up with a worthy organization: Ezer Mizion.
Our relationship with Ezer Mizion began six years ago. Simmie introduced me to the organization and on one of our many trips we had packed some gift bags or brought some clothes and we were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to tour their facility and deliver the goods to a welcoming recipient.
We discovered that Ezer Mizion has its hand in so many areas. It may be a family whose mother is struggling with cancer and unable to cope or a frail octogenarian desperate to maintain his independence or perhaps a special child frustrated by failure.
The prime division is its International Jewish Bone Marrow Registry. Our tour of the place was where we learned about the registry.
They had just initiated the testing of every IDF recruit and their numbers of specimens in the bank was growing along with their costs. They estimated if the number of people in the bank was 1,000,000 they would have a 97-99% certainty of being able to provide a match for any Jewish person that would, G-d forbid, need it. Clearly this was a suitable match for our fundraising efforts. Saving one soul is akin to saving the world. Currently they are the fourth largest registry in the world behind the USA, Germany and Brazil. They are the largest Jewish registry.
Irv Hackel played an important role in helping us arrange for a speaker to come and give us words of inspiration while raising money for Ezer Mizion. Other events and circumstances led us to the logical next step, raising money for Ezer Mizion via a golf outing in Israel. As far as I know there are no other ones like it. With Simmie spearheading the US efforts and my being in Israel and arranging the logistics, we inaugurated the Annual Turkey Shoot Golf Outing in Support of Ezer Mizion's Bone Marrow Registry.
This was not as simple as making a few phone calls, but everyone we spoke with was enthusiastic and eager to help. The golf course was happy to help us with the planning. Holy Bagel gladly jumped aboard as a sponsor and provided breakfast and lunch. After all said and done we had 24 golfers, had an incredible amount of fun and raised a lot of money.
Afterwards there was a unanimous agreement to make this an annual event. Many people who heard about it after the fact pledged to play the following year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers