Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.692315
Write A Review
May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

As an educator and recycler, I strongly recommend all teachers and artists to go treasure hunting at ExCL, 20 Wheeler St., Lynn. I have found furniture, materials, art supplies, office supplies, name tags, and more for many different projects with children and teachers. The North Shore is SO lucky to have this great resource in our region! Thank you ExCL.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

If you are an artist, art teacher or just love random materials, this place is for you. There are places with similar missions as Excl all around the country, but Excl is the best! I am an art teacher and I cannot believe what I walk out of there with on any given day. Jodi, who runs the place, is a gem, and always full of ideas for art projects. You just can't beat $50 for 5 visits. Support the arts and support the environment by supporting Excl!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

As an art teacher with a limited budget, unending imagination, and a heart toward recycling, I find EXCL the most fantastic place to shop. Every time I know I am headed in that direction I begin to get excited, because I know I will leave with a treasure-trove of materials for my students to use. Despite having to multitask and having so many other things to do, the staff and volunteers help me find things, suggest uses for materials that I had not even thought of. It's great being able to engage in conversation and feed off these positive talented and supportive people. YAY for EXCL!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012

more

April 29, 2012

I am an art teacher and I use Excl often. I love the supplies and the unexpected items that I always find here. However, I DREAD having to go . The woman that runs the organization is the most miserable, mean person I have ever seen, especially in a professional atmosphere. I know many people who have to use this place and everyone says the same thing. It's too bad because instead of becoming part of the arts community she has made going to EXCL a necessary but hated chore.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 4, 2011

more

January 4, 2011

For my entire life as an artist, I’ve benefited enormously from Extras for Creative Learning - as a student, member, teacher, and parent. What a splendid connection to have, associating with other artists, art teachers and art lovers in the ambience of an organization devoted entirely to supporting those who want and need to create with materials. After studying at Massachusetts College of Art and Design (BFA’98), I had my first interaction with the “Recycle Center” as a student teacher and have continued to use the center as a resource throughout the years. Many staff members and artists I’ve met there have become dear friends. The organization has progressed through a remarkable evolution in the effort to assist artists teachers in the pursuit of creating art. I can testify that this is a vibrantly active and creative non-profit with wonderful leadership on the ground level!! Art teachers in the Boston area and beyond would be lost without this treasure trove of materials!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working with youth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NA

January 4, 2011

more

January 4, 2011

I have visited EXCL numerous times every year and have found the materials to be very interesting. The STAFF, no matter what is going on, is unflappable, helpful, and very creative. When I was in need of ideas for science-related materials for my graduate art ed students (science is not really my strong point), Lindsey foraged through bins, shelves, and under cabinets to find materials and suggest interesting uses. My graduate and undergraduate art ed students as well as art teachers from the Western Mass area all rave about EXCL and the opportunities for free creative materials for their classrooms and lessons. IF ONLY we had such a recycle center nearer to us; but the drive to the Eastern part of teh state for this purpose is absolutely worth it!!!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being able to pass along creative, exciting materials to children in the Holyoke Public Schools for their use in art classrooms.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful if EXCL were situated in a place where one did not have to transport materials up a full flight of stairs.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help to sort donations such as folding felt, bundling envelopes, cleaning furniture, and many other activities. The tasks change every day.