Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Explorit's mission is "To ignite and foster curiosity about science and nature through inquiry and discovery." This small center does a wonderful job of providing real hands-on science for all ages (with a special focus on ages up to 12.) Because the hands-on activities use familiar objects and materials Explorit's science learning can continue with similar stuff at home. I think this is a really smart approach and as an adult I enjoy the activities too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Explorit is an innovator and leader in providing open-ended, discovery and hand-on programs for kids and families in Northern California. For nearly 30 year I've been contributing to this tremendous non-profit and have served as a volunteer, Board member and always as a dedicated donor! Explorit's programs reach as many as 18 counties each year through traveling programs such as evening family events called "Science in Your World", "Health in Your World"and during daytime hours through its "Classroom Adventures" programs. Check out Explorit's website for all these (and more!) programs and especially click on dive into a newly launched "Community Science Project"- "Spiders in Your World"! You can take a brief "Spider Attitude" survey and find out really interesting things about these often maligned- but alway intriguing- creatures! If you live in the Northern California area or are just visiting, take time to bring your children, yourself- the whole family and friends to one of the several inspiring events coming up in 2013, or just drop in during public hours...and become a member!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I first became involved with Explorit in 2001. I was a pediatrician in the local area at the time and was asked by Explorit to participate in a community group working closely with the Explorit staff to develop a new program called Health in Your World. The program aimed to provide science-based health education for children. I was new to Explorit but quickly became tremendously impressed with Explorit's mission and commitment to science education, it's unique "hands on" approach, it's attraction to families and children, and particularly to the creativity, enthusiasm and dedication of its staff. I have joyfully become more involved with Explorit and am still thrilled to see children exposed to the wonders of science and nature and developing critical-thinking skills in our hands on and play-based programs. By the way, Health in Your World has become a truly amazing program that allows children to work out science-based preventive health messages that lead them to adopt healthier, long lasting lifestyles.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Explorit is a great place for children to discover science and nature. We brought our son for the first time when he was just about 3. Seeing him learn while playing was amazing. He also got to touch a large boa constrictor for the first time and to our surprise, he loved it. Now that he's 5 and more curious than ever, we're very pleased to see him interact with the staff, who's very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. Explorit is such a great organization that's dedicated to enrich children's lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Explorit was my first job in the museum/science center field and I couldn't have asked for a better start. The people I worked with were simply fantastic and it gave me exposure to all the different aspects of running a non-profit from marketing to managers. Explorit is small in size, but large in impact and the level of professionalism and passion is unsurpassed. They really serve the greater Sacramento area, not just Davis where they happen to be based. They are a creative, hands-on science center much like the Exploratorium, but locally grown. It is amazing that they accomplish so much on such a small, efficient budget.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Explorit Science Center is a one-of-a-kind organization that continues, through good times and bad, to successful fulfill their mission to bring science (STEM based activities) based hands-on programs to their local community and to 17 surrounding counties! Explorit's Summer Science Camp is just one of the amazing programs that is sure to keep your children wanting more science! This summer was the first summer my son attended summer camp and I have never seen him more excited and interested in learning. He would talk to me the rest of the day about what he learned and why things happen. During the school year I would ask him, "How was your day at school?" "What did you learn?" A typical response would be, "oh, it was ok. We did some math...." After his days at Explorit I didn't even have to ask, he volunteered all the information he had soaked up with enthusiasm and a need for more! My many thanks to Explorit and their staff for engaging our children in learning, questioning, discovery and building a sense of self confidence in our future leaders.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I remember every spring poring over the summer class catalogs from the City's recreation program, the University, the various art and music programs around town and... Explorit. OF COURSE science would be part of a Davis kid's summer plans. In fact, for many years, his favorites were the weeks spent at Explorit's various camps -- astronomy, science "magic," math games. I'm sure that combining science with fun was a huge part of why science is still his favorite subject (high school!).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Located in a park-like setting, its building surrounded by magnificent trees, Explorit is *the* place to take kids to expose them to science in the flesh. They get hands-on experience with exhibits that demonstrate scientific phenomena and principles of all sorts. There's plenty of room to run around outside, and the trees provide wonderful shade on those hot summer days. Don't miss it!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

The staff at Explorit are real heroines and heroes. They provide an essential service to Davis and its neighboring communities, supplementing science education in the schools and fostering the spirit of inquiry among the public at large. I have volunteered a little and been to a several of their public events and I am proud to have them in my adopted home town.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was a volunteer and then a science educator at Explorit for about a year and half. The staff is great and so dedicated to what they do. I can personally speak for the amazing effect that hands-on science education has on kids--and their parents too! I wish that every kid (and parent) could spend some time at Explorit or in one of our outreach classrooms around northern CA each week. Explorit never had much money, but it never seemed to be a problem. We did great things with what we had.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers