Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I have volunteered with Experience Corps for 3 years now. After retiring as a physician, I wanted to find opportunities to continue to help my community. Assisting children to improve their reading seemed like a very good method for working on that goal, and I have engaged in that activity 15-20 hours per week in an elementary school in Oakland, California.

It is very clear that such efforts yield real results in reading improvement. For example, I can begin working as a one-on-one tutor with a second grader in September. At that time, his or her reading performance might be in the 5th or 10th percentile. At the end of the school year, reading level is usually close to the 50th percentile! This doesn't solve all of the problems for these children, but being able to read at grade level proficiency should certainly be an important step up.

Our organization, Experience Corps, makes this experience possible for over 60 volunteers in Oakland. The current structure of our city schools simply doesn't allow for random, individual volunteers to work effectively with any school. Experience Corps meets with and establishes ground rules for volunteer activity in any school. Security questions and background checks are handled by Experience Corps, and that assurance is given to the school. Advance arrangements are made with teachers. In addition, volunteers are periodically gathered together to discuss policy, future activities, and ongoing inservice education is provided as well.

Experience Corps is providing a wonderful service, and they get my highest rating!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase size of volunteer pool, and continue working on optimal working relations with schoold.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

This is my fourth year as an Experience Corps volunteer. As a retired person from a "helping" profession I had a need to offer something of myself to my community. Experience Corps has certainly satisfied that need. Experience Corps has provided me with superior training and has responded whenever I needed their support. I was fortunate enough, last year, to have the 2nd grade teacher whose children I tutored, thank me for for their improvement in literacy which she said was was verified by their test scores. Actually, my thanks comes from the fulfilling feeling I have as I am leaving school on the days I tutor. So, this wonderful organization can be credited with helping the young and the "old."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I feel so fulfilled when working as a volunteer in Experience Corps Bay Area's K-3 Literacy Program in San Francisco. Tutoring "one-on-one" in two third grade classes each week has been challenging and rewarding. We receive exceptional training as volunteers and learn how to best work with English Language Learners and others who need extra help to read fluently and with understanding. As an older adult volunteer, I have been embraced by the school community and the Experience Corps staff and feel that I am making a difference through this wonderful program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Experience Corps is a wonderful organization and I am very pleased to be a volunteer with them. The training is very professional and a great help to me as I work with first and second grade children. My association with them is a real gift to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

In my involvement with Experience Corps - Bay Area, I have been impressed time and time again. I have seen young students drastically improve their literacy skills, and better yet...they were excited to learn more. I have seen these older adults inspire these young children to succeed in school and become invested in their own futures. It has been heart warming to see senior citizens light up and thrive in their involvement. I have seen older adults at the risk of isolation come together to socialize and network over a shared passion for education. I heard a stories from volunteers about finding a new purpose in life when they thought they had surpassed the feeling of inspiration, and stories of finding time and discovering new passions in retirement. With this enthusiasm, Experience Corps volunteers not only witness academic growth, but a child who is excited to grow older and a child who admires their life-learned wisdom. Preconceived notions and misconceptions are reconsidered. And along side these blossoming students and seniors with rejuvenated quality of life, are the communities that flourish as a result of a more educated future citizenship and tangible proof of a community who cares about it's children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Being an Experience Corps volunteer has been one of the most rewarding experiences for me since I retired. Whether working one-on-one or with an entire class, the interaction with both the students and teachers has been very gratifying. The Experience Corps staff provides volunteers with practical tools to be effective tutors, as well as ongoing support if problems arise. I commend the organization for the excellent work they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

It is an honor to be a volunteer with Experience Corps. This is my second year serving. Helping children in grades K-3rd with their literacy development is quite satisfying. The training and support provided are useful and appreciative. The expression of a child's face when they learn something is such a joy to "Experience"!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Experience Corp does a great job at not only placing their volunteers but also provides much needed ongoing support in the way of, training, team meetings, newsletters, online instructional videos, and close contact. It's nice to know that they invest in their volunteers and see us as such a valuable resource.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Being an Experience Corps Volunteer is an immensely rewarding experience for me personally and I believe for the first grade students I work with one-on-one. Experience Corps provides its tutors with literacy training and tools to be effective and creative in building a relationship with each child and addressing their particular literacy needs. Additionally, working with the classroom teacher has given me an opportunity to see first hand--and to appreciate--great teaching. Finally, the tutoring team established at my school and throughout our city provides an opportunity for me to meet and exchange ideas with other seniors who share a common concern for the future of our community and its youth - wonderful people I would not otherwise know but for Experience Corps.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Experience Corps Bay Area continually impresses me. The concept of pairing two generations to share their time, energy and ways they see the world is one that's very close to my heart. Seeing this come to life through the work at Experience Corps has been a wonderful thing to be part of. The team behind the work are talented, hard-working and very driven to care for the students, Experience Corps tutors and schools that they work with. And you can see this come through in the positive impact they make in the communities they work in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

2 hours a week per student, over the course of a school has helped students make gains of up to 60% in terms of literacy proficiency. Volunteer