Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I'm a new volunteer this year in a Kindergarten class at Parker Elementary in Oakland. This year the class is large and the day is long for those little ones. Having a volunteer in the class clearly helps those young children who need to gain social and academic skills. I see that they are eager for attention and to have their hard work acknowledged. Learning letters and their sounds is difficult. I am so happy to be able to spend the time with small groups to give them the review they needed. It is very rewarding to see the light go on in their minds when they 'get it.'

Struggling children are marginalized. You see that right away, even in Kindergarten. These children need the positive support and one-on-one attention that Experience Corps volunteers can give them that the teacher can't. I have seen the difference even in the few weeks I've been there.

Experience Corps is a model for utilizing the talent of young-minded Boomers. I constantly recruit for Experience Corps to strengthen the education of those in our poorest communities. Giving is gratifying but seeing these children learn is even more rewarding!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the program to include volunteers who can strengthen STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) education. Our lives are based on communicating. Reading and writing is critical to becoming a citizen who can gain employment. Science literacy is also critical to gain employment. Strengthening that in our poorer communities would hugely benefit our society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I retired 2 years ago from a computer technichan job and wanted to do something that would help my community. I read about Experience Corps and thought it would be perfect for me. I started working with a Transitional to Kindergarden class and love it. I feel I am making a real differnce in these young children's lives. Some come prepared for entering school but many have no idea how to work and play with other children, how to articulate their feelings even something so simple as finishing a puzzle can be complicated ! I also feel like I am assisting their teacher, giving her more time to interact with more students and also being an adult to bounce ideas off. I love this program - so happy I am involved in it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More publicity so more retired people would know about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

Experience Corps does more for me than anyone else. I rise to the challenge. I benefit from the experience. My self-esteem soars. I'm doing something beneficial to the students which, in turn, benefits everyone. Experience Corps gives me the opportunity to do something meaningful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more summer programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The mission and support for volunteers makes this a very special organization. Despite coming out of retirement, I blocked off my volunteer time for experience corps, and consider it untouchable, despite my employer wanting more of my time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I have the impression that I'm accomplishing some very important contributions to a needy population of young students, and that my efforts will contribute significantly to their future development.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing to improve

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I am an Experience Corps Bay Area volunteer. After working for 34 years in the Computer Software development field, when I retired I really wanted to work with kids, preferably tutoring, one-on-one.... more

September 18, 2013

I have been volunteering as a tutor/mentor for Experience Corps Bay Area since I retired in 2007. I am not a school teacher, but if you can read and do simple math, you can make a tremendous difference in the life of a young elementary school student. Experience Corps coordinates everything from your training to the student assignment(s). You choose the days and the hours you would like to volunteer. This is a wonderful program, very supportive, with continued training and team meetings throughout the year. I am so happy that I joined Experience Corps Bay Area!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an Experience Corps Bay Area volunteer. After working for 34 years in the Computer Software development field, when I retired I really wanted to work with kids, preferably tutoring, one-on-one. Experience Corps was a perfect fit! They provided training, literature, suggestions for games, for creating visual aids, and a structure. Experience Corps Bay Area connects retired seniors with elementary schools in Oakland where the need is the greatest. Their objective is to keep us active and involved in the community while at the same time, help the youth of Oakland to succeed educationally. I have made new friends from age 8 to 88. I have been volunteering since 2007, and I can actually see that I have made a difference in the lives of my students, some who have already started high school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Experience Corps gives volunteers the tools they need to address one of our most pressing problems: giving all our community's children a high-quality education. As a volunteer myself, I'm part of a team with great adults (staff and volunteers) and charming kids. I work at Sankofa, an Oakland school community that is giving its all under difficult circumstances. If I can help, even a little, it feels terrific!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers, so that every Oakland kid who needs help with reading could get one-on-one attention from a caring adult.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Enthusiastic staff, offers many training opportunities and social gatherings for volunteers, professionally managed.

A few of the mandatory trainings were not very helpful but still a good idea

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

grateful to have a place to share experience strength and hope to the future that is so bombarded with distractions. as a volunteer i get the opportunity of making an impact on the real sense of self definition for the children with the hope of them being able to see through reading many possibilities of what seemed impossible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase outreach sharing with other organizations that have people age 50+ that are seeking volunteer work and unaware of the services provided through ECBA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

What does it feel like to enable a child to believe in themselves? Experience Corps gives me that opportunity to work with children preparing them for a future that should be limitless.

How many of us feel that we are not good at something? As I examined myself, I found that the
foundation about things that I am not good at, stem from my childhood. I lost confidence at an early age because I gave up on myself or was told that I'm not good at something.

I have the unique opportunity to instill confidence in a young child before they give up on themselves. This is a very powerful and rewarding gift.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope that we get more volunteers because there is a tremendous need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

2 hours a week per student, over the course of a school has helped students make gains of up to 60% in terms of literacy proficiency. Volunteer