Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

Eves Daughters brings together gals that are experiencing single parenthood and the challenges they are facing along with others that have already journeyed down the same road. They are building a network of individuals and groups that can be there for these struggling Moms. By sharing and caring for each other, they will suceed in our most important role in life - a Mother.I am a 64 year old Mom that raised a child on my own without the support of this type of network. What a difference Eve's Daughters would have made!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I attended a few gatherings and saw the connections formed between struggling Moms and their children. A safe place to meet others and share the burden they carry. Wonderful work being done!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to expand their operations. However, this would be financially impossible at this time in all probability.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Helping single Moms is a priority in this culture that is being overlooked; I felt led to assist while I could.

What would you tell others about this organization?

This is part of your future. Single Moms are neighbors, co-workers, friends that affect all of society. This organization can strengthen these Moms and help them suceed in life.

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Eve's Daughters are a God send. My unemployment ended very unexpectantly and I needed to have my phone for job searching. Eve's Daughters paid the bill. In the future I will volunteer, even after I obtain a job. Eve's Daughters is "Life-changing" for single mom's. I was told about this organization from a friend and I have been singing Eve's Daughters priases to other people, including my church's pastors. Thank you so much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

It has been truly amazing to see our non-profit really start to grow and thrive. We started with an idea in 2006 and currently serve nearly 250 women. Our hope is to continue to extend our reach to other geographic areas as it seems ours is a unique and appreciated approach to developing community and providing support to single moms and their kids. We've got much work to do, but are thankful to be on our way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

Eve's Daughters provides a solid foundation for women who need help after divorce or domestic violence. The women who founded and run Eve's Daughters have been through tough situations themselves and through smart work and determination have succeeded in moving forward in their lives. They want to pass along all the knowledge and information they have gained so other women can move forward and navigate the diffulties of life after experiencing trouble or trauma. Eve's Daughters is a pillar of the community because as an organization it takes nothing and gives back everything these women need, with love, kindness, respect, dignity, and care. Eve's Daughters helps make women whole again by providing the resources and connections women need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

After seeing how the women felt relieved to know this organization is there for them to help them navigate and succeed in the big ocean called life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This experience made me feel like I had made extremely valuable use of my time, to aid and care for other women in my community helped me feel the real value of life=giving back.

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

Eve's Daughters (ED) is an amazing organization that helps so many single moms! I was fortunate to learn of it when it was first launching and have watched it expand and touch many women in need. I have attended events and recommended it to others. ED hosts monthly dinners with activities and/or education opportunities for moms, and often for the kids too. It's a great way to have a night off from cooking and get social time with women in similar situations. Loneliness and lack of support/community are common struggles for any single parent. I think ED does a great job of addressing those needs, in addition to networking single moms for basic needs like housing, furniture, appliances, etc. They also connect with single moms online through Facebook and blogging. I'm not aware of any other organization in the Portland area that specifically supports single moms in the practical and caring ways that Eve's Daughters does. My only feedback is that I hope word spreads about this organization so that many more women will benefit from it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

I interact with Eve's Daughters every month and I have for the past year. My main interactions involve doing crafts with a group of kids while their mom's chat with other mom's over dinner. As a high school student, sometimes the last thing I want to do is volunteer to watch a group of kids in my spare time. But the thing about Eve's Daughters is that the second I get to the meetings, I can feel the support and the good work being done there. While I only play a small role in this by watching the children while the mother's get to talk with each other, I always leave feeling blessed that I got to help them in some way. And the kids are pretty great too. Throughout high school I have participated in a variety of volunteer situations, but I must say Eve's Daughters is something special. The work they are doing is not only good for the moms involved, but the kids are given a creative and social outlet as well. Overall, I only observe a small portion of the good that Eve's Daughters does in my community. These ladies are wonderful and deserve recognition for the time effort that they put in to supporting mothers in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

There is no other group or resource like this for single women in the area or perhaps even our state. I came across it one evening by myself as I was searching for single mom resources on the internet. I was searching desperately for something, but I was also very wary of being scammed. I felt like I was trying my best at being a single mom, but it wasn't enough and I just felt like something had to give. At the time I didn't know a single other single-mom. But I came across the Eve's Daughters MeetUp link. And as I read the description I knew that was just what I needed: A place to meet others going through the same things. No cost involved, childcare provided, no need to bring anything- just show up. And I was pleased it happens to be only 15 min away for me. (Although recently we have had women drive out here from Washington to attend.) Eve's Daughters is a wonderful organization. I have been attending their monthly dinners for the past year and a half. It is a very welcoming place. I have made many new friendships, and there is an instant connection since we are all in similiar places in life (being single moms). We all have different experiences and backgrounds, but being a single mom can be very lonely at times, and at times it can seem like we are the only single mom out there. But having a chance to interact with other single moms is a real blessing! I also really appreciate all the volunteers who take the time to make us dinner each month. And my son really enjoys coming too. The kids do crafts/watch a movie in another room which is fun for them, and gives the moms time for more grown-up talk for once which is fun for us. Eve's Daughters has been such an important part of my life since I began coming and I look forward to it every month.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

So many of my friends are in the category of those that this nonprofit serves: single moms. Since I've heard and witnessed so many of the stories that my friends have shared, I wanted to be involved to offer encouragement to women in similar circumstances. When contacting the directors of Eve's Daughters (ED), about how to plug in and be of assistance, I received very quick and clear responses. Once the ball started rolling as a volunteer, I was pleased to discover how quickly and graciously the inevitable questions that I had were answered. Appreciation is readily offered, as well. This has motivated me to involve more of my friends in supporting and volunteering to assist ED. They have been as impressed and delighted, as I have been.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

Eve's Daughters has been an incredible ministry to women in an extremely difficult situation. Eves Daughter comes along side and equips and empowers these women by providing community, resources and training. I've had the privilege to work closely with one of the co-founders and leaders of the ministry and I have constantly been impressed with her integrity, generosity, commitment and heart which she invests in this ministry. It has been a life line to many divorced women and as a result it also greatly impacts and benefit their children. It's a great ministry with excellent leadership, vision and passion. I highly recommend and endorse it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

Going to my first dinner felt a bit out of my comfort zone - but once I got there an felt welcomed by everyone I knew it was where I needed to be. Eves daughters has allowed me to meet other ladies like myself, who understand what it is that I am going through. It is such a great feeling to be in a room filled with people that don't judge you. They also helped me to get a bag of clothes for my newborn son. If I were to give any feedback it would be to have each women introduce themselves at the dinners and tell the group a little about themselves.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Eve's Daughters was able to get my son clothes when he needed them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Meet more often

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

It was the first entry to come up when I searched Google for "single mom support Portland"

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I was able to find a daycare provider by attending the groups dinners. She just happened to be sitting at my table. This enabled me to have a safe, happy place to take my son when I needed childcare.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at one of our monthly dinners, help outline our next parenting class or speaker seminar, assist our moms and kids, help plan the many pieces involved in fundraising, check in with our families and much more. Volunteer