Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
170 Reviews
1234.929415
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

The folks of this organization truly care for people. Whether it's the orphaned children of AIDS, the adult women who have been entrapped into the Tracosi (not sure of the spelling) slave trade or the sick from all the diseases of their area, ECM will do whatever they can to help out. They love them all and let them know it.

But their overriding goal and main objective is bringing the Good News of the Gospel of Jesus Christ to all these people. They know that no matter what else they do, if they don't point them to Christ all will be in vain.

And every dollar that comes in, they stretch to go as far as possible, but there are always projects waiting for the funds to come in. They make do with a very small salary so that more can be available for the work. Their volunteers are very dedicated and faithful.

But they are suffering from the same malady so many organizations are, new, younger volunteers are not forthcoming and they may have to begin paying for some of the work that volunteers have traditionally done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They may be already doing this, but I would look into a younger couple to work alongside John & Lorella with the goal of turning over the reins to them in the next few years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014

more

May 8, 2014

I have traveled to Africa and seen the work in Ghana. They really help the children spiritually and education and with health. There are other ministries of ECM that I visited such as women freed from ritual servitude. Lorella really knows the customs and so on to help take care of political and legal aspects of the ministry. No money is wasted. They are very frugal, and I do not worry that any donations will be wasted.
May 6, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 29, 2012

I spent four months in Ghana as a teaching volunteer with Every Child Ministries. What a wonderful organization it is! I love that ECM works toward employing the native people to help spread the minis... more

May 6, 2014

Every Child Ministries maintains integrity by focusing on the Lord and His work in Africa. The staff is small and volunteers have huge hearts! I love ECM!
September 29, 2012

I spent four months in Ghana as a teaching volunteer with Every Child Ministries. What a wonderful organization it is! I love that ECM works toward employing the native people to help spread the ministry and make it effective in helping the people of the country. Teaching teams included one Ghanaian and one American, orphanage moms were women from the same area, and most local offices were staffed by Ghanaians. ECM is a great organization to support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

February 17, 2011

I served a summer in Ghana with Every Child Ministries and was very impressed with the way this ministry is run. They have found people who already live in these areas and have trained them to help their own people- the most effective way of supporting a people group, in my opinion. They use funds wisely and communicate regularly to supporters so we know how money is being used. They target orphans, street children, and freed shrine slaves, the most helpless! What an amazing organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping children and women in Ghana

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add to the staff and resources to make it more effective, if more money were available.

May 4, 2014

more

May 4, 2014

Every Child Ministries does an amazing work in reaching out to the forgotten children in Africa. My family has know John and Lorella Rouster, the founders of ECM for many years. It is amazing to me that this couple began as missionaries to the people of Congo and have grown to serve children and adults in Congo, Ghana and Uganda. When others in Uganda were trying to reach out to the refugee children, many who had been forced to become child soldiers, they went to John and Lorella for advise. ECM has many ministries serving street children, orphans, training Sunday school workers, helping women released from slavery. It is interesting and worth reading about their different ministries. Each one started because John and Lorella saw a need; God touched their hearts and a new ministry was started. There are so many organizations trying to help those less fortunate. If you want to help desperate children, you can know that your money and support will be saving these "African Jewels"!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 3, 2014

more

May 3, 2014

I have been a donor and a casual volunteer for Every Child MInistries for 20 years. Because of my personal involvement I can attest with authority and experience that the organization is rock solid. Their level of financial and personal integrity is beyond question. They operate a huge ministry with a skeletal paid staff here is in the US. Most of the administrative work is handled by volunteers, so that the money can go to the forgotten children and ministries in Africa.

As a child sponsor, I have a relationship with my child. I regularly receive pictures and reports on his school work and behavioral development. As soon as they are old enough they send pictures and letters to you. (English is taught in Ghana) I am currently corresponding with my 16 yr. old child on a regular basis, after 6 years of sponsorship.

I donate to several organizations, but I feel so strongly about the work ECM is accomplishing that anytime I have extra money I send it to ECM and trust them to use it where needed. I could go on and on, but I invite you to view their webpage. It will draw you in and you will be amazed at the things they are accomplishing, and the tremendous needs they are revealing. You will also feel their sincere heart to rescue children and help them grow to love the Lord and live strong independent lives giving back to others.
May 2, 2014

more

May 2, 2014

We love ECM. +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++










































We LOVE ECM. We have been involved as volunteers and donors for about 8 years. We sponsor a darling girl in Ghana. We just got a letter from her today and she is doing well in her studies and talks about the Lord. Very lovely charity to donate to. They go to places other missions have not been able to stay in because of harsh environments. They really make a difference in the areas they serve. They also make you feel a part of their ministry as they send hand-written thank you notes, and you get letters from your sponsored child. We also get updates from our child's teacher regarding her academic progress. They email great newsletters with actual pictures (not stock photos) with details on their work and missionaries. I highly recommend ECM. They are financially accountable and worthwhile.








May 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 21, 2013

We have been involved in the evangelical church for over 60 years. During that time we have seen many changes taking place in missions and missionary outreach. Every Child Ministries has kept pace. Th... more

May 2, 2014

ECM has captured our hearts because of their love for unwanted children and because they seek to discover and resolve some of the root problems be it the church, the family, the community, or in some cases outside forces. God wants us to be cheerful givers. To ECM we are cheerful givers.

Jim and Marit Wallin

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2013

We have been involved in the evangelical church for over 60 years. During that time we have seen many changes taking place in missions and missionary outreach. Every Child Ministries has kept pace. They are involved in all aspects of human need.

First and foremost Every Child Ministries
stands firm in its commitment to tell children and adults alike about the love of Jesus and their need to recognize Him as their Lord and Savior.

Early on Every Child Ministries' goal was to establish a Sunday School in every village in Ghana. To date over over 2000 Sunday Schools have been established, many in conjunction with local churches Over the past 27 years this work has expanded to include a home for children, a Christian School, classes in the public schools, health concerns with financial aid where needed, slave children, and many more.

Our support for Every Child Ministries continues to be enthusiastic as it should.

Jim and Marit Wallin
Downers Grove, IL 60515


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None-just more of the same. Lack of finances hold back the development of this caring and responsible mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 20, 2013

Anyone searching for a non-profit organization you can truly trust and believe in, there's no greater opportunity than EVERY CHILD MINISTRIES (ECM). Year after year, I am awestruck witnessing the pro... more

May 2, 2014

I have been blessed to witness ECM in action and know the co-founders personally. Just a few of the traits I've seen are: compassion, loving care, Christ-centered, frugal, dedicated, devoted to abandoned and orphaned children, women freed from slavery & families in need of healing. They are always looking up and listening to God's guidance. They find a need and fill it. If you're looking for a charity that you can be certain will make the best investment with your funds, or if you're wanting to help a child or worthwhile project, or if you're looking for a missions experience...ECM is the place you're looking for!
June 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Anyone searching for a non-profit organization you can truly trust and believe in, there's no greater opportunity than EVERY CHILD MINISTRIES (ECM). Year after year, I am awestruck witnessing the promises of God for increase and blessing demonstrated by the growth of programs and services provided through ECM to the forgotten children of Africa.

Keeping God first in word, deed and prayer provides a rock-solid foundation upon which ECM follows God's direction, bringing His practical love, compassion, and provision to those they affectionately call African Jewels--diamonds in the rough--that, with God's guidance and love through ECM, become shining with inner beauty and divine potential, learning to look up to and trust in Jesus for hope and a future.

I have been blessed to witness ECM co-founders, John & Lorella Rouster, extend acceptance, love, and practical help to thousands of children in need, recognizing each one as a unique gift of God. Amazing Grace describes the countless ways I have seen ECM reach out, raising funds to build homes to provide meals, medicine, and education to kids living on the streets, freeing slaves and their children, teaching Bible principles in public schools, comforting kids in war-torn areas, returning displaced kids to their families, teaching skills to teens and others to help them become self-sufficient, providing life-saving surgeries to children, giving meals and hope through a knowledge of Jesus to homeless children...and the list goes on! I have watched, and learned, as they face what appear to be insurmountable obstacles, placing their full faith in God, and returning His love by answering the call to a higher purpose.

I highly respect and give thanks to all who partner with ECM. I pray God will continue to bless ECM with caring individuals who partner with them to accomplish these life-changing endeavors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

sign on to be a full-time staff member!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2011

I went to Ghana in 2002 when ECM began building Haven of Hope Children's Home. It was an incredible experience that changed my life. I will never forget the children living alone on the streets. These children are orphaned or abandoned. ECM provides ALL their needs. NOTHING is ever wasted. Even used Christmas cards are punched into shapes with Scriptures added for the kids. This is one organization where you will get to know the Directors personally. They are the hardest working, most dedicated, God-fearing people I've ever met. Every time they see a new need involving the forgotten children in Africa, they get more and more involved, always growing, always caring, always praying and thanking God. My husband and I now sponsor one of the children at Haven of Hope. We are kept abreast of his well-bing, school grades, and receive letters from him. Although on a limited income, we have so much more than the majority of families in Africa. If you want God to bless your life, become a blessing to ECM!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We now sponsor a child at that orphanage and have watched it grow and improve, with clean drinking water, a school (Haven Academy), beds, clothes, shoes, food, discipline, spiritual guidance and plenty of LOVE. We've watched ECM stretch and grow into other areas of need, as well, such as freeing trokosi slaves, going into other countries, helping the war-torn.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure that everyone who has indicated an interest in ECM is kept aware of the most current needs in the many areas they serve. Some of these needs are critical. Some, I imagine, would fall into a "would be nice" category. Having a book to tell the Rouster's incredible never-ending story of who they are, how they got started, and what they plan and pray for the future would be fascinating reading, and perhaps a way to raise funds.

May 2, 2014

more

May 2, 2014

Doing excellent work in Africa, reaching many children and families with the message of Jesus Christ!
I have worked with them for many years, as an office volunteer and last year had the privelage of going on a summer team and seeing the work for myself. Doing a great work for Christ.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 19, 2011

We were looking for a non profit organization worthy of our interest. We found it in ECM. Our first visit to their headquarters was impressive. Operating out of a small frame building in rural Indian... more

October 5, 2012

We continue to support ECM with enthusiasm. Every visit to their Hebron Headquarters is encouraging. The knowledge, commitment, and dedication on the part of all leaders, employees, and volunteers is obvious. A good work is being done because of them and their dedication to the forgotten children of Africa is evident. We trust that this work can continue to expand as the challenges they are facing and the opportunities they hope to grasp continue to expand. Jim and Marit Wallin, Downers Grove, IL.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 19, 2011

We were looking for a non profit organization worthy of our interest. We found it in ECM.

Our first visit to their headquarters was impressive. Operating out of a small frame building in rural Indiana, it was immediately obvious that our donations would not be used for the director's
comfort. pride, or anything else except to serve the children of Africa.

ECM serves children in many ways. The most significant to us is Haven of Hope. This is a home where unwanted children are cared for and educated. They are also taught the love that Jesus has for them through His death, burial, and RESURRECTION. We have sponsored a young girl through ECM and have enjoyed observing her growth and developing love for Jesus. She shares a space on our refrigerator and in our hearts with our own grandchildren.

We strongly support ECM as we feel our donations are used with integrity.

Jim and Marit Wallin
Downers Grove,IL

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through correspondence with the young lady we have been supporting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move their headquarters to Downers Grove.

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pack boxes of supplies to be shipped to Africa.
Host a FREEDOM PARTY to sell goods made by survivors of modern-day slavery.
Help prepare newsletters for mailing. Volunteer