Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

ETM-LA is a great organization that truly inspires the entire educational and music community. Its commitment to providing children with the opportunity not only to learn (and love) music, but to develop math, reading, and social skills, is unparalleled and exemplary. I am so honored to be a part of this organization and believe wholeheartedly in its mission.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

This is a great charity, I have been working with them for a couple years now and the first thing I noticed is how dedicated and passionate the whole team is towards bringing music to every school. They are extremely hard-working and make all the events genuinely fun and exciting for all the kids who participate. Definitely a great non-profit!
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Education Through Music - Los Angeles is an amazing organization. When I was growing up my parents asked me "What instrument do you want to play?" There was no question that I would play one - but the choice of which instrument was up to me. The rest is history. This amazing non-profit gives each child an introduction to music through free public school based music education programs. The children light up when learning about music and they are inspired to grow as individuals. Each child deserves the opportunity to learn about the arts and Education Through Music - Los Angeles is leading this movement!

The Board, staff and volunteers are all dedicated professionals with a love of children and music.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

ETM-LA serves over 6,000 disadvantaged youth in low-income schools across Los Angeles. The staff, faculty, and volunteers of ETM-LA work tirelessly to develop funds and raise awareness for ETM-LA's mission. From choirs to string ensembles, ETM-LA provides a sustainable, in-school music curriculum and believes every child deserves a chance to receive an education in music. I'm honored and proud to be a small part of such a meaningful organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

I have been involved with ETM-LA now for about 6 years and it is without question one of the most meaningful on-going projects in my life. To witness the life-changing quality music education has for the children in the program is one of the most life-affirming things I can possibly imagine.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

via my first-hand visits to our schools and with students, from testimonials by our various principals and faculty, and in the statistical data over several years of the program's presence in a school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Depending on how you define short term, our priority is to continue to expand at a healthy rate and serve as many children as possible.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Our long term goal is to not exist. The highest achievement ETM-LA could dream of is affecting a change in educational policies that result in legitimate school funding for music programs and therefore eliminates a need for a supplemental non-profit support.

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

ETM-LA is so amazing because it is providing high quality, continous music education to schools that would otherwise be without. The personnel is excellent - from the leadership to the staff, the level of passion for the organization, knowledge and desire to serve the community is incredible. It is unique (among other ways) in that it makes sure that the relationships with the schools and the communities is open. Communication is the key to success - each program is flexible in order to meet the needs of those specific schools, communities, and students. ETM-LA is effectively filling a vital need - and is growing year by year to serve more students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2010

more

September 27, 2010

"Education Through Music - Los Angeles" first came onto my radar at the moment of its inception, in 2005. For the past 5 years I have been a Board Member, helping to bring our various projects and ambitions to life. One such project entailed bringing an entire class of our kids to the recording session for the Pixar film 'Ratatouille,' by composer Michael Giacchino. Michael was eventually nominated for the Academy Award for that score (and won a couple years later for the Pixar film "Up"). The awe on those kids' faces as they witnessed an 85-piece A-list orchestra play some absolutely fantastic music was indescribable. It was an enlightening moment for all of us. The fact that this was, for all intents and purposes, just an ordinary day for ETM-LA highlights the immense power of this group, and its ability to fundamentally change the lives of its students.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing the massive changes in test scores, student self-esteem and even widespread community rejuvenation at our partner schools. The difference in the general student population before vs after is like night and day.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

witnessing the immediate results i has on the children in the partner schools.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

exemplary. ETM-LA is clearly very particular in choosing its teaching artists, and as a result the children are getting truly spectacular educations.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

do nothing short of FUNDAMENTALLY change and improve the Los Angeles educational system. Future generations would dramatically outperform prior ones.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 24, 2010

more

February 24, 2010

ETMLA strikes right at the core of my life. When I was a child, my involvement with music shaped me and set me on a course of lifelong fulfillment. We often talk about the relationship between music and self esteem, and music with test scores, and all of this is true. But one thing that I read once in a book about Beethoven said that the emotions in music are the equivalent of great values and great philosophy. Then - I saw how the spontaneous joy of music can become the spontaneous discovery of the feelings behind good values. I realized that when people make music, that it touches their truest feelings and selves. To give a child music is to give a child a soul. When I have been to our concerts, and I see underprivileged children dressing up in their finest clothes, and their families doing the same, and I see the pride in their eyes about what they have achieved, I know that these children are growing in the same way that music has helped me to grow. To me, our biggest challenge isn't just in raising money; it's in living in a society where the collective ignorance that our policy makers have about their own hearts would even allow them to think about cutting music out of our schools. And people have to vote for these policy makers? Someday, I don't just want people to realize that music will make children in to better engineers, doctors and lawyers - for it surely will; but that math and grammar will also make children in to better musicians. Teach on, ETMLA!!!!

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

create its own school district to provide music education for the children of Los Angeles. The ability of ETMLA to adapt its curriculum uniquely to the many different cultures within LA would maximize its effectiveness in education and bridge building.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 23, 2010

more

February 23, 2010

ETM-LA is a very important part of my life. What they do for students, foremost, but also for schools / communities is difficult to summarize properly. The standard accomplishment of the program is the dramatic enrichment of a young child's early education and development. Adding music increases test scores, social aptitudes and many other ancillary benefits. That's the STANDARD, rather typical accomplishment! At its best, ETM-LA completely revitalizes communities which have been sadly neglected or otherwise under-served. The chain reaction caused by students suddenly participating in music-making brings new interactions between parents, school and kids that would otherwise never have happened. I had the immense pleasure of bringing a group of first-time music students from an ETM-LA partner school to a recording session for a big Hollywood production. Watching an 84-piece orchestra of some of the finest musicians in the world lit up these students' eyes beyond anything I could have predicted. Stories came back for weeks and weeks from the students about how inspiring that trip had been.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

gradually change the very core of Los Angeles' culture and educational standards beyond anything the city has known (and yes, I mean that quite literally, without hyperbole).

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers