Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Education Through Music - LA is a frontrunner in positive change in our broken education system here in the greater Los Angeles community. As a professional musician and former educator I can truly attest that this program not only provides underserved children with the highest quality music education, but more importantly enhances all aspects of these children's academic experience through its incredible comprehensive curriculum. This program's primary focus is to use the key fundamentals of music (rhythm, pitch, reading, mathematical divisions, emotional expression, historical context, sequencing, scientific principles of sound and physics, foreign languages, eye/hand coordination and motor skills, public presentation/performance skills, artistic expression ...to name a few) to enhance and support the students grasp on essential life skills and academics. In addition, this is not an after-school program. This program is part of the regular school day for every child! I have seen first hand the profound difference they have made in children's lives over the years and am proud to say I will continue to support the wonderful work they do in the lives of our children and our community!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Education Through Music-Los Angeles is a non-profit that truly believes in the mission to bring music to every child in Los Angeles. Glad to be a part of this wonderful organization.
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

ETM-LA puts music into under privileged schools in the Greater Los Angeles area serving over 6,000 low income disadvantaged youth. The passion for having music education for every child as part of their core curriculum in schools is shared with the staff, faculty, and volunteers of ETM-LA. They work tirelessly to develop funds and raise awareness for ETM-LA's mission, education in music. I'm honored and appreciative to be a part of such a meaningful organization!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

This is an outstanding non-profit that provides comprehensive music education to disadvantaged students in Los Angeles area schools. During a time where music programs are being cut, not only do they partner with districts and schools to support the reestablishment of school music programs, they level the playing field by making sure EVERY CHILD receives the highest quality music instruction from expert, well trained music teachers. This goes beyond after school programming, special assemblies or temporary artist residencies. They are IN SCHOOL for ALL GRADES for the entire school year. The programming is outstanding and schools are seeing real results not only for the learning of music, but the development of the whole student.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that they are so well funded that they can provide these amazing services to more schools and districts throughout Los Angeles County.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 11, 2012

It is amazing when you find a unique nonprofit that truely is dedicated to the program goals and the children. Education Through Music - Los Angeles is that nonprofit and it is wonderful to see how ... more

September 30, 2013

I have known ETM-LA since April, 2011 and find them to be an excellent non-profit. They are very professional and I am glad to give my highest recommendation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continued growth and support from organizations and individuals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012

It is amazing when you find a unique nonprofit that truely is dedicated to the program goals and the children. Education Through Music - Los Angeles is that nonprofit and it is wonderful to see how the management and staff will do anything to support the childred with honesty, professionism and developing the musical goals for each child with interface to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Education Through Music-Los Angeles provides music programs to students in public, parochial, and charter schools, with every child in these partnership schools receiving a general music education. With school districts cutting funding for the arts, I think it is more important than ever to continue the tradition of a comprehensive, sequential music education in schools so that every child may have the opportunity to learn and experience the gift of music. ETM-LA is a non-profit that truly cares about changing the lives of the children, and making a difference by strongly believing in the mission to bring music into disadvantaged schools in Los Angeles.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2012

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2010

Education Through Music-Los Angeles is a high-quality program that brings sequential and comprehensive music education to schools in need. The teaching artists are trained, top-notch instructors who ... more

October 20, 2012

Before working with Education Through Music-LA, I was involved with numerous music education programs in both NYC and LA. I continue to dedicate myself to this work - to ensure every child receives music education as part of the core curriculum - because ETM-LA's sequential comprehensive music education programming, and the ETM model is TOP-NOTCH. ETM-LA transforms our schools and communities with whom we work, and will continue to come alongside our school districts, parents, principals, and community leaders to keep music in our schools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2010

Education Through Music-Los Angeles is a high-quality program that brings sequential and comprehensive music education to schools in need. The teaching artists are trained, top-notch instructors who are passionate and dedicated to students.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working with the schools, parents and teachers - and hearing how music has improved the focus and self-esteem of the students, and seeing the results first-hand.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

I played the piano accompaniment for one of ETM-LA's Student Recital and experienced first hand how competent, loving and caring the ETM-LA teachers were. They were not only teaching children how to play violin or cello, they use musical experience to teach children the sense of self-esteem, cooperation and the joy of accomplishment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2012

more

May 4, 2012

Working with ETM-LA has been a fantastic experience for me. I have had the chance to meet a variety of students from a wide range of backgrounds, and have seen the impact music can have on their lives. The great work that ETM-LA is doing in our community is creating well-rounded, articulate, and excited students for the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

ETM-LA provides valuable instruction in the classroom to students throughout Los Angeles, who may otherwise not receive music in their schedule. As a teaching artist with ETM-LA, I have found the program to not only benefit the students, but also the teachers who gain valuable training and peer assessment through ETM-LA's teacher workshops. I will forever be thankful to ETM-LA for all the help and guidance they have given me, as a music teacher, along with the wonderful experience of working with so many of Los Angeles' brightest young minds.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers