Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

ETM-LA serves over 6,000 disadvantaged youth in low-income schools across Los Angeles. The staff, faculty, and volunteers of ETM-LA work tirelessly to develop funds and raise awareness for ETM-LA's mission. From choirs to string ensembles, ETM-LA provides a sustainable, in-school music curriculum and believes every child deserves a chance to receive an education in music. I'm honored and proud to be a small part of such a meaningful organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2012

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2010

Education Through Music-Los Angeles is a high-quality program that brings sequential and comprehensive music education to schools in need. The teaching artists are trained, top-notch instructors who ... more

October 20, 2012

Before working with Education Through Music-LA, I was involved with numerous music education programs in both NYC and LA. I continue to dedicate myself to this work - to ensure every child receives music education as part of the core curriculum - because ETM-LA's sequential comprehensive music education programming, and the ETM model is TOP-NOTCH. ETM-LA transforms our schools and communities with whom we work, and will continue to come alongside our school districts, parents, principals, and community leaders to keep music in our schools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2010

Education Through Music-Los Angeles is a high-quality program that brings sequential and comprehensive music education to schools in need. The teaching artists are trained, top-notch instructors who are passionate and dedicated to students.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working with the schools, parents and teachers - and hearing how music has improved the focus and self-esteem of the students, and seeing the results first-hand.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

I have been involved with ETM-LA now for about 6 years and it is without question one of the most meaningful on-going projects in my life. To witness the life-changing quality music education has for the children in the program is one of the most life-affirming things I can possibly imagine.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

via my first-hand visits to our schools and with students, from testimonials by our various principals and faculty, and in the statistical data over several years of the program's presence in a school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Depending on how you define short term, our priority is to continue to expand at a healthy rate and serve as many children as possible.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Our long term goal is to not exist. The highest achievement ETM-LA could dream of is affecting a change in educational policies that result in legitimate school funding for music programs and therefore eliminates a need for a supplemental non-profit support.

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

ETM-LA is a magnificent program for all children. From my observation, it promotes and brings about peace, culture, and education to the forefront of the community. This is exactly what the students of Los Angeles needs now more than ever. Since my daughter has been participating in ETM-LA her Music skills as well as her Math skills has developed tremendously. Music is the one key element in bringing about world peace and human kindness in such a diverse society. Music brings us all together as one big beautiful happy family. ETM-LA does a remarkable job in educating students in becoming all he or she can be!!! Thank you so much ETM-LA!! Nece Smith

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

I played the piano accompaniment for one of ETM-LA's Student Recital and experienced first hand how competent, loving and caring the ETM-LA teachers were. They were not only teaching children how to play violin or cello, they use musical experience to teach children the sense of self-esteem, cooperation and the joy of accomplishment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

My experience as a volunteer with ETM-LA is very rewarding. The organization is far reaching as it impacts handreds of students personally by providing classroom music instruction they would not otherwise receive. It is evident that the staff and board members are fully devoted to making a difference in a child's life by giving them the gift of music. As a retired school teacher I feel a deep level of satisfaction knowing the benefits of music in a child's education impacts success in all areas of the school curriculum.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

Volunteering for Education Through Muisc Los Angeles is always a pleasure. I love working with the kids and seeing them grow. Its always amazing to see how they learn and how much I learn from them. ETM-LA has changed the lives of so many children and I am grateful to be apart of that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

When I first discovered Education Through Music Los Angeles I knew I wanted to be a part of the organization in any way possible. When I was a kid, the music program at school was cut. I was lucky enough to have parents who understood the importance of music education AND had the means to provide me with private lessons. ETM-LA comes through in the clutch the same way my parents did for me. They are some of the most kind, dedicated, and sincere people I have met. It is a beautiful and heart-opening experience every time I volunteer . I know that with more funding this fantastic non-profit will have its profound impact on an even larger scale. We desperately need it. Where would any of us be without music?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

Education Through Music - Los Angeles fills an incredibly important role within LA area schools: providing comprehensive music instruction in schools where district music programs have been drastically reduced or cut altogether. In ETM-LA schools, EVERY SINGLE STUDENT has the opportunity to learn a musical instrument. The overall academic and life benefits of this are far too numerous to cover here, so I'll just say that I am honored to be involved and volunteer for ETM-LA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2012

more

May 6, 2012

Both my children have benefited by the programs ETM-LA have brought to our school. It is very important to my family that our children are exposed to the arts and with the generous assistance of ETM-LA they are exposed through music. Music is very important to the overall education of a child in my opinion. As a family of 5, we are not in a financial situation to pay for music lessons so I am very greatful to ETM-LA for the education they are providing for all the children in our school. My son has been chosen to be involved in several programs/fundraisers outside of school time that ETM-LA has been involved with and it has been a great experience for him. We are very fortunate to have ETM-LA at our school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers