Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
880 Reviews
1234.920455
Write A Review
September 5, 2012

more

September 5, 2012

In world full of disinformation about drugs and their effects, Erowid provides a source of reliable - as well as fascinating - drugs information. They provide both factual information and tales told by real people about their experiences - both good and bad. I am often asked to provide a resource for people who want to find out about recreational drugs and their effects. I send them straight to Erowid.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am an ethnopharmacologist, with a research focus on psychoactive plants. I support Erowid through annual donations, and use this resource in my professional work. I teach classes in ethnopharmacology and botanical medicine at the graduate level for several institutions. The link to Erowid is posted on all my class web sites and I encourage my students to explore this web site and make use of its resources. The simple fact: There is no more comprehensive, accurate, unbiased, or useful source of information on psychoactive drugs and plants anywhere on the Web. Although I'm biased in favor of Erowid, my opinions are supported by more objective feedback from other sources, for example, NIDA, the National Institute on Drug Abuse, hardly a 'drug advocacy' organization. Representatives of NIDA have compared the information available from Erowid favorably with the information available from the NIDA web site; have in fact acknowledged that Erowid's documentation and adherence to facts is more comprehensive and less biased than its own. Nearly every topic indexed in Erowid includes links to external, peer-reviewed informational resources, including PubMed, Druginfonet, Psyweb, rxlist, mentalhealth.com, etc. In summary, Erowid.org is an invaluable resource for students needing comprehensive, well supported, detailed, and unbiased information on psychoactive drugs and plants, as well as for researchers who require access to information related to their own research or teaching. Erowid may not include all information related to psychoactive drugs and plants; but in my work, it is the first resource I consult, and from there, I can quickly access external resources to get more complete information. Erowid.org exemplifies the best kind of web based resource on these controversial topics that can be found on the web; there should be more like it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My classes, in that my students use this resource and find it useful in fulfilling their assignments, writing research papers, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more resources to expand its staff, and encourage it to become more visible to professional scientists and professional organizations, possibly by being indexed in PubMed

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

No other organization provides such a variety of information on this controversial topic that is as free of propaganda and misinformation. Erowid provides facts and lets its users decide; it does not disseminate propaganda.

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

Erowid provides reliable, clearly sourced, and exhaustive information on virtually any drug one would like to research. I know of no other source as good.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

Erowid is the world's best and most important web based archive for all kinds of psychoactives/entheogens related topics. Erowid has been developed to a life saving platform that is the main source for every researcher, activist, user, dependant, and all people that get in touch with any kind of pschoactive substance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

I think one could effectively argue that Erowid has saved more lives than any other drug resource in human history.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2012

more

September 2, 2012

very informative website. cuts right through all the b.s. Erowid takes an open-minded approach to documenting and sharing the effects of drugs by themselves, and in combination. Ive been checking to make sure im not about to kill myself (lol) by first researching on erowid for 17 years now.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

identifying useful items that were growing naturally nearby in the forest. keep up to date on the newest changes in laws. show others that some combinations of drugs are not wise, and others are not wise by themselves, or that some totally rocked! (dmt)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just minor changes to the HTML layout of the website. maybe a facebook page for experiences posts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

easy to navigate, informative. experience blogs, lots of links to knowledge

September 1, 2012

more

September 1, 2012

Im so positive that people have already written a very drawn out review about literally how great this website is. It seriously saves lives, gets used by a fair amount of people for fair reasons. It's literally the web md of the subject. You know they are a good organization and have a good relationship with it's audience because it asks its subscribes users to write reviews for it.. A+

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

Erowid is a treasury of knowledge about the crucial area of consciousness-affecting substances. As our civilization hurtles towards a future which is more frightening by the day, the dedicated staffers at Erowid keep expanding and improving our understanding of ourselves, our natural environment and the fragile connections that sustain both. Erowid is a national treasure. Countless people have found and keep finding through it the information that keeps them safe, learning and growing happier.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This site is an invaluable source of information not just from a medical but from a social and legal point of view.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Erowid has been a wealth of knowledge and information, and as a professional in the mental health and harm reduction field the mission of Erowid is one that is very close to my heart. I have seen so many situations in which not having the right information or having altogether wrong or misunderstood information creates a completely different outcome than having correct and factual information. Being able to look up knowledge and trip reports in one place has made helping those in need much more efficient and in the end makes for a much smoother crisis intervention. The information is usually fast to appear and accurate and it is clear that the people who run Erowid have a vast knowledge of all facets of the topics they research and share. Erowid is my first choice for this information and they layout is user friendly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers