Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
842 Reviews
1234.918055
Write A Review
December 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Erowid is a very useful information resource about psychoactive drugs. It is written in understandable language and it is well known and widely used among its target population. Professionals and volunteers should join their knowledge and collaborate. This would be not only great harm reduction but also benefit enhancement (people would not take drugs if there were no benefits).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them public funding. Let professional psychopharmacologists review their content, fixing or at least commenting on statements which do not agree with scientific knowledge or can lead to dangerous behaviour.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013

more

December 6, 2013

At 60, I'm back in school, studying for a HHS degree with a concentration in addictions. I've been on both sides of the counseling desk and methadone dispensing window; (I was male nurse for the last 20 years).

Erowid has helped me, even avoid some hazards during times of full on
addiction. It's still a strong go to information site for me, from a wide perspective, regarding drugs (and alcohol) from the broadest philosophical, hedonic, therapeutic, and practical perspectives.

As a matter of fact, given the anonymity afforded here, I will be candid to disclose that, while I'm perfectly transparent in the above comments, [and will probably access the site as I hopefully enter into graduate studies] that; I'm here to take a glance at the antihistamine Meclizine this morning, with which I'm bumping my purely-hypothetical- illegal-use of percocet and vicodin (as well as tylenol and alleve).

We are not a simplistic people, nor is the subject wholly captured from a marginalized approach from either polarized perspective.

And, please know, that the candid academic and anecdotal reporting--*including a hedonic posture regarding drug use/dependence/addictions, are VERY VALUABLE--whether from a harms reduction-safety posture regarding use; study from a purely academic perspective; and/or informing the counseling perspective.

Please do not negate the purely *hedonic part of the education available here, for the above reasons. Although paradoxical, we users and/or therapists, know the real value of this intellectually honest approach to the subject of psycho-active substances.

For example, I recently was perusing the Silk Road, and for the sake of intellectual honesty, please don't think for one moment that my motives were purely academic nor therapeutic; although both hedonistic and therapeutic motives were involved.

Why I offer this is that, while I, by the grace of my Higher Power, escaped injury; (the FBI seized Silk Road as I was contemplating setting up a purchase of bitcoins; and, I was fortuitously contravened in the matter) my inquiring mind also found peer reviewed science articles on the college servers where I'm studying, which were written by Silk Road's secondary progenitor, Ross Ulbricht.

Only we with these kinds of insights can really understand the pragmatic value of what I'm trying to say. FWIW, I can pray for Ulbricht--no moral qualifiers up or down--I'm just being as transparent as I know how to be.

The up-shoot was that I was able to offer a didactic communication with a university pharmacology class inhabited by a significant population of budding drug/alcohol counselors. I can't express strongly enough how valuable (even in light of frank drug use) how VALUABLE the hedonic perspective is.

I commend ya'll from my heart. Keep up the good work. I would also commend you for protecting the anonymity of your readers, and thereby encouraging the anecdotal input of your readers--valuable stuff, regardless of intellectual posture.

Articles regarding, for example, the history of substances, like the use of trans-dermal marijuana and alkaloids by the Greek doctor Galen for the ancient Olympians [Olympians Dark Ointment] --stuff like that, would be a welcome source of information.

Another example of otherwise obscure intellectual materials I would like to see made available is "From Whence Hath it Tares: A Short Synopsis of Drug Abuse According to the Scriptures and Other Extra-Biblical Writings", by John Heys Mealor:

[Drug Abuse in Scripture
ESBN: FB272D48-FCA5-480E-8F32-A06B68CBFB5C
John Heys Mealor
http://www.drugabuseinscripture.co.uk
vortexezine@btopenworld.com
Copyright (C) John Heys Mealor 2001 - 2011]

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

perhaps some reporting regarding situations like the above (Silk Road) and other occurrences, good/bad, regarding governmental interdict/prev, (including the corruption of governmental machinations in the matter). A broadening perspective from a purely frank posture is really valuable. Perhaps a blogging section for addicts, users and even therapists. [RIP Lou Reed]. I offer this to mark the era of this review, as well as the accompanying moot reasons.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2013

more

November 29, 2013

Erowid.org is to recreational perception enhancers what imdb is to movies and gsmarena to cellphones, only way better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

November 23, 2013

more

November 23, 2013

Through it's tremendous effort to provide accurate information, Erowid helps millions of persons to make better choices at the time of consuming drugs, probably saving thousands of bad trips, addictions and other undesirable effects of some drugs

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2013

more

November 18, 2013

The most harmful part about drugs is the lack of knowledge. Best nonprofit for the harm reduction!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a better web designer

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2013

more

November 17, 2013

Great archive about all kinds of different psychoactive substances. In my opinion the best source for this kind of knowlege on the net.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is the most important online resource on ethnobotanicals, period. It has changed the lives of countless people for the better. It deserves the highest praise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

As an ex drug services user now working a healthcare professional I can confirm that erowid provides an unbiased objective source of information. It has enough depth to meet my requirements vis-a-vis work and previously helped me to stay safer and healthier while I was a full time opiate enthusiast ( IV et al).
All in all a vital resource that should be supported for the public good.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Speaking as a British EU resident I would suggest more localisation options, as erowid appears to be overly North American in outlook

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have taken an interest in this site since it was a simple provider of essential information. In my role as Community Psychiatrist, I have often directed patients to this site so that their choices around drug use could be comprehensively informed. Site visits have had a range of effects. These range from helping people decide against using unprescribed drugs to staying safe when using recreational drugs to complying with prescribed drugs (often for the first time). it is a brilliant resource.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Erowid fills a much needed gap in the current medical literature. Eventually, many of the drugs described in Erowid's database will be part of mainstream medicine (ibogaine for heroin dependency, LSD for PTSD, etc.) leading to the inevitable improvement of many people's lives and experience. For the time being, Erowid is essentially the counter-culture medicine's bible, and does a wonderful job of integrating individual experiences with empirical data and peer-reviewed articles.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better fund it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers