Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
826 Reviews
1234.918895
| 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
March 11, 2014

more

March 11, 2014

Erowid is well-organized for both layperson and health professionals, full of references to objective (biochemistry, health, legal) and subjective (user anecdote) information. The rich data, well-presented, allows users to use the site to make their own informed judgements about a wide variety of psychoactive substances - including prescription ones.

Their just-the-facts plus user stories balance is outstanding, and genuinely prevents a lot of ill-conceived substance use.

I contribute to their funding yearly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more resources to keep their links current, provide even more references, and update the site's functionality; they're not very usable on most mobile devices. Since the site is a go-to quick reference when considering the clinical presentation of combinations of substances, a mobile version with ready access to their linked studies would make them even more useful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014

more

February 18, 2014

Shortly after I discovered the sexual orgasm I smoked my first marijuana and dropped Owsely Orange Sunshine...I was 13 years old. I'm now in my mid-50's and still smoke marijuana daily. I used cocaine for 13 years, meth almost 10 years, and have ingested just about every and anything with a buzz behind the Pharmacy counter. I've smoked, shot, snorted, drank, chewed, and stuck up my ass a record amount of drugs with many who thought they could keep up with me perishing. I've taken psychedelics on and off since that first trip at 13 to the present, I'd guess at least a couple hundred 'trips', I've had over a hundred lovers yet fathered no children. I've held work since I was a 12 year old paperboy thru my adulthood including being a Federal Emergency Firefighter, a 'Hot Shot', and an executive salesman. I'm an initiated Thelemite with 34 years involvement in the quasi-masonic O.T.O. I and my late Thelemic brother exposed the use of magick by celebrities to gain fame & fortune during the 1970's. Sites such as Erowid are necessary for folks like myself to leave a trail.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have an exclusive mail order company where one could order pounds of Santa Marta Gold or Columbian Red, Panama Red and Acapulco Gold buds...weed meant to be smoked and free of harsh-burning green chlorophyll.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Psychoactive substances are an essential part of human existence, history, communitas and mysticism. My work as a performer, writer and thinker is deeply rooted in immersive experience and a psychoactive perception of the universe. The best place i have found for the study and protection of the interface between humans and these substances today is Erowid Center. The site is essential for a large community of people who look beyond current conventions for their essential rites of passage. Dr. Ray Langenbach, Professor of Performance Art and Theory, University of the Arts Helsinki

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding and support to continue and expand their work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Erowid is a great source for drug related information. The street wit and 1st hand experience are most valuable to me. It tells me more about what my patients have gone through better than they themselves can. It allows me to understand my patients better.
-- a Clinical Toxicologist

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Although I am a licensed professional with expertise in this field, I am writing this review because I have found the Erowid website to be both edifying professionally, and also so unique in the quality and relevance of information it contains, that it has been an invaluable resource to me in my personal life as well. This is the kind of material that ought to be highly valued by laypeople and experts alike, but is too often suppressed or relegated to the eccentrics of ivy-towerdom and, as such, is very difficult to come by in the mainstream pursuit of knowledge of psychoactive substance use in American culture. Erowid has been my "Go To" resource for factual content as well as anecdotal and subjective information on legal and illegal psychoactive substances for years. To the best of my knowledge, the character and the quality of the information available on Erowid simply can not be found elsewhere. In a culture where public candor and the free and uncensored exchange of information on socially proscribed subjects are discouraged, censored, distorted, and made available to only a small elite segment of society, Erowid boldly stands in the gap, making relevant information freely available to the internet audience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of personnel and available time dedicated to reviewing, editing, organizing and adding to the ever-increasing volume of information published on the website.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is the only holistic and professional site that exists to catalogue and compile this information in a way that shows the truth about psychoactive substances. It allows a way to present information in a non biased manner about "drugs" that most of the general public doesn't understand or is even aware exists. Certain power medicines afford certain people with a strong spiritual/emotional/mental/ethical constitution to expand their consciousness. There are hidden or unknown hazards inherent to life in general. Sometimes dealing with something overwhelming you find power within yourself that you didn't even know existed/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grant it more funding!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Erowid.org provides a service to the world. I first stumbled on erowid.org when I was looking for information about ayahuasca. I have used the site for learning about medicinal preparations. Over the years I have returned for more information: pictures, anecdotal stories, compilations of research and even entertainment. Thank you erowid.org for providing this much needed resource.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

include more "how to" prepare medicines

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

I am finishing up my degree in biology with a focus on neuroscience. As a college student I have experienced countless peers experimenting with drugs, especially psychedelics. From the tried and true LSD and mushrooms, to the experimental 2C-x family, the dosage and effect of the chemicals tried by young people today range wildly. It would be ridiculous to expect this information (what to expect from a given dose of a given drug) to be faithfully maintained by word of mouth between friends and dealers. Yet, people are going to try these drugs regardless.

Erowid fills the void here with their collection of dosage charts, health formation, and user experiences – not only with psychedelics, but with every drug imaginable. As someone who understands the biology behind and has first hand experience in the world of drug experimentation, I feel truly grateful for resources like Erowid. I literally cannot count how many times I've heard incorrect information about drugs from people who deal drugs or peers that use them. In fact, I would wager that it is far more likely to hear wrong information than right information. I know many, many young people who would have suffered severe physical or psychological harm if not for the wonderful resource that is Erowid.

The immense curiosity about one's own mind is a beautiful gift for a person to have. It shows real intelligence and creativity for one to recognize the mystery of the soul, of awareness itself, and attempt to understand it in the same way people have been doing for thousands of years – entheogens and other drugs. Attempting to control these actions is – from the point of view of people with true spiritual and scientific experience everywhere – ignorant and uneducated. Erowid understands that people deserve information, and they are currently the only comprehensive source of this harm-preventing knowledge. They are an incredibly underrated organization because of the ignorance of and stigma associated with drug use.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The majority of addictive behaviors occur when the user of psychoactive drugs is uninformed about the drug and its side effects, including physical withdrawal symptoms. I have had family members who have suffered addiction simply because they tried a new drug under peer pressure or ignorance.

Through the information provided by Erowid, I have been able to successfully choose the natural drugs I choose further my personal and mental development, while pursuing a challenging academic degree, having no withdrawal symptoms or dependence on any drug whatsoever.

Drugs have both positive and negative effects to offer us, and source like Erowid Centre is a great boon to this world as it educates in an unbiased way about the myriad of drugs available in the world today, so that they can make informed choices and be warned by personal experiences about certain dependence-inducing drugs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Erowid is a very useful information resource about psychoactive drugs. It is written in understandable language and it is well known and widely used among its target population. Professionals and volunteers should join their knowledge and collaborate. This would be not only great harm reduction but also benefit enhancement (people would not take drugs if there were no benefits).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them public funding. Let professional psychopharmacologists review their content, fixing or at least commenting on statements which do not agree with scientific knowledge or can lead to dangerous behaviour.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers