Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
820 Reviews
1234.918295
| 1 ... 57 58 59...82 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am an ethnopharmacologist, with a research focus on psychoactive plants. I support Erowid through annual donations, and use this resource in my professional work. I teach classes in ethnopharmacology and botanical medicine at the graduate level for several institutions. The link to Erowid is posted on all my class web sites and I encourage my students to explore this web site and make use of its resources. The simple fact: There is no more comprehensive, accurate, unbiased, or useful source of information on psychoactive drugs and plants anywhere on the Web. Although I'm biased in favor of Erowid, my opinions are supported by more objective feedback from other sources, for example, NIDA, the National Institute on Drug Abuse, hardly a 'drug advocacy' organization. Representatives of NIDA have compared the information available from Erowid favorably with the information available from the NIDA web site; have in fact acknowledged that Erowid's documentation and adherence to facts is more comprehensive and less biased than its own. Nearly every topic indexed in Erowid includes links to external, peer-reviewed informational resources, including PubMed, Druginfonet, Psyweb, rxlist, mentalhealth.com, etc. In summary, Erowid.org is an invaluable resource for students needing comprehensive, well supported, detailed, and unbiased information on psychoactive drugs and plants, as well as for researchers who require access to information related to their own research or teaching. Erowid may not include all information related to psychoactive drugs and plants; but in my work, it is the first resource I consult, and from there, I can quickly access external resources to get more complete information. Erowid.org exemplifies the best kind of web based resource on these controversial topics that can be found on the web; there should be more like it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My classes, in that my students use this resource and find it useful in fulfilling their assignments, writing research papers, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more resources to expand its staff, and encourage it to become more visible to professional scientists and professional organizations, possibly by being indexed in PubMed

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

No other organization provides such a variety of information on this controversial topic that is as free of propaganda and misinformation. Erowid provides facts and lets its users decide; it does not disseminate propaganda.

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

Erowid provides reliable, clearly sourced, and exhaustive information on virtually any drug one would like to research. I know of no other source as good.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

Erowid is the world's best and most important web based archive for all kinds of psychoactives/entheogens related topics. Erowid has been developed to a life saving platform that is the main source for every researcher, activist, user, dependant, and all people that get in touch with any kind of pschoactive substance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

I think one could effectively argue that Erowid has saved more lives than any other drug resource in human history.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2012

more

September 2, 2012

very informative website. cuts right through all the b.s. Erowid takes an open-minded approach to documenting and sharing the effects of drugs by themselves, and in combination. Ive been checking to make sure im not about to kill myself (lol) by first researching on erowid for 17 years now.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

identifying useful items that were growing naturally nearby in the forest. keep up to date on the newest changes in laws. show others that some combinations of drugs are not wise, and others are not wise by themselves, or that some totally rocked! (dmt)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just minor changes to the HTML layout of the website. maybe a facebook page for experiences posts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

easy to navigate, informative. experience blogs, lots of links to knowledge

September 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Erowid is one of those sites which you find via gossip or random links on the corners of the Internet, but it's a site that has helped me and many many others in their journeys of inner discovery. It's one of those sites that are so helpful that you end up consulting it every time before you start experimenting with your body and mind. I honestly think Erowid has saved my life, because of the helpful tips, easy-to-understand TRUE information and amazing user base. You have to keep in mind that most of the info out there about these kinds of things is either wrong because of government propaganda or wrong because people are just assholes and try to fool you. Thank you, Erowid, for being there when nobody else would. It's like Wikipedia, but better!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2012

more

September 1, 2012

Erowid is one of the most informative non profit organizations on the web. This is the go to site for anything substance health related.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2012

more

September 1, 2012

Im so positive that people have already written a very drawn out review about literally how great this website is. It seriously saves lives, gets used by a fair amount of people for fair reasons. It's literally the web md of the subject. You know they are a good organization and have a good relationship with it's audience because it asks its subscribes users to write reviews for it.. A+

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Erowid is an amazing site. The information they provide has led me to safe and life changing experiences. I became interested in psychoactive chemicals during my first year of college, as I'm sure many others do. The campus health center only wanted to talk about the dangers of binge drinking and the long term damage smoking does, this was useful information but not what I was curious about. Erowid provide more information than I though possible on more chemicals than I could imagine. Because of Erowid I've had intensely spiritual experiences, made permanent bonds with friends all while knowing I was minimizing the risk to my body and mind. Erowid also kept me from making some of the foolish choices those around me were making. My life is richer because of Erowid, and I could have damaged myself without Erowid. I've recommended this site to anyone and everyone I know with an interest in psychoactive chemicals, including my mother! Thank you Erowid! One day when I'm rich I'll donate, till then my eternal gratitude will have to do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own life and the lives of friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask for more of the same!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Through friends.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

A deeper understanding of myself and the world around me.

August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

Knowledge of the chemicals we use is of high importance, I for example didn't know the hazards and benefits before erwid, now this knowledge is common sense in the chemical community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers