Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
843 Reviews
1234.918155
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

This site is around since 1995. I first found out about it around 98. Even then it already had an impressive amount of information on its topic, accumulating impartially information from all sides. It is centered around substances that affect states of mind, but it does not promote or mystify anything - it actually shows how to recognize something, what the law says about it, what research says about it, how different cultures face it, and the forums have grown to become an incredible resource of anedoctal accounts from users since it has been accumulating them for so long.
I give it 5 stars without thinking twice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I just think the site is a little difficult to navigate from the splash screen (as in I have to dig around for a while to find something).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Who hasn't heard of this site by now? Extremely useful and resourceful, great website!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This website has detailed accounts of all the drugs. Anytime I need to know about something new, the information is there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Erowid is one of the most important websites around and it is vital that it gets the recognition it deserves. It offers truthful information concerning not only drugs, but spirituality and nature. Everyone needs to know about erowid, as it offers more benefits and honesty than any government funded website. It is interesting, educational and straight to the point.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

This website offers incredible amounts of unbiased, helpful information on any substance one might be interested in. has been a help to me personally in getting informed about these substances, and helped me make educated choices about their use. This to me seems like a more efficient system of drug education than the current policies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more articles and expand donation base, as they deserve more credit for their efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

This website is really really freaking awesome. Especially the experiences part of every drug out there. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart to whoever is maintaining & adding additional info to the site !

From Asia, Singapore, Nesshie.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none. it's perfect.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Excellent website. I have used it for many years and has always been a source of accurate information and entertaining experiences.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the website a little - it has been the same for as long as I can remember (however, i would say this due to being a web developer). Other than that i would change nothing - keep up the good work :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first started visitng Erowid after a very existential psychedelic experience during university and the information they have collected helped me to contextualize an experience that was way outside of my cultural heritage as a modern American growing up in the suburbs. I spent months reading everything from the varioius FAQs, to the experience reports written by all kinds of various drug users, to basic effects descriptions and even safe ranges for dosages and other health related information for each drug. This filled a huge gap in my knowledge that was left by cops in the DARE program just telling me not to use drugs (in 5th grade when I didn't really know what that even meant) without providing any kind of context or legitimate information about them. I don't doubt that I would have eventually found more information than the DARE program provided, but at the same time I don't think I could have easily educated myself on so many aspects of drugs without such a well maintained site as Erowid.

I later volunteered with Erowid, triaging experience reports to help get the best reports published more quickly and eliminate the poorly written submissions. Since experience reports were a big part of my research into drugs, I think that the hours I spent doing that work is likely to benefit someone somewhere sometime. The thousands of reports that are submitted to Erowid might be one of the biggest ongoing tasks that the organization tackles, so I believe that any time people are willing to donate toward that cause is greatly needed.

Recently I have not been triaging, but I still believe that Erowid is probably the single best resource for nonbiased information about drugs out there. It reinforced my beliefs that opiates and stimulants are not worth the trouble for most people and allowed be to be safe about my psychedelic use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would... not. Erowid is actually amazingly well run considering how small it is. I would like to see more information in languages other than English, but that is obviously a bit task that will take some time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Simply put Erowid provides valuable resource helping to make millions of peoples lives safer and better. Regardless of your position on psychoactive substances there is a real need for this website which gives information and detail in one place that nobody else offers. They are the best!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Fantastic source of health information that is hard to obtain anywhere else.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better organizing, clearly defined forums.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers