Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

As Principal of a large high school, I have worked with Erika's Lighthouse since its inception. They have provided incredible service to our students, staff, and parents, shining a light on the issues of teen depression like no other organization I have encountered. They recently trained over 400 teachers on the basics of depression and were well-received by our staff. I look forward to many more years of partnership with this great organization!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

ELH has been instrumental in brining forth awareness to depression and suicide prevention to adolescents and the larger community in our area. High School student have come together to share poignant stories of hope and help for those struggling.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I love being a part of a strong and important organization. Adolescent depression is something that many people do not want to discuss. However, it is very crucial to inform adolescents of the signs and symptoms, so they can receive help in a timely matter, or know what to do to help a friend. It is important that we spread awareness and work towards breaking the stigma of depression and that is exactly what Erika's Lighthouse strives to achieve!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I have witnessed the tremendous change Erika's Lighthouse has brought to a community over the last ten years. The educational programs offered have had a great impact on so many lives. Reducing the stigma surrounding depression so teens can get the help they need, and proceed with productive lives is the core of the organization's message. Programs offered for educators can be easily integrated into various curriculums and school cultures. There are videos featuring real teens speaking candidly about mental health and important skills needed to help themselves or a friend and let their parents know what they may be feeling. The Parent Handbook gives families much needed support and is full of valuable information. The website has lots of information about programs offered - www.erika's lighthouse.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I love the innovative approach to suicide prevention through depression education and advocacy. The programs at Erika's Lighthouse are very effective in providing awareness to this community. The support I have seen throughout the community has been astounding for this organization. It is truly amazing how a community can come together to support a necessary cause, and help get depression out of the dark.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I can't tell you how much this organization has helped me personally and helped our North Shore area in Chicago. Invaluable!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

We started Erika's Lighthouse to change attitudes about mental health, and i think that slowly but surely, we make a difference in young peoples' lives. Join us, on our quest!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been involved with ELH for the past 5-6 years and it's been amazing to watch the impact the organization has had on the communities in the Chicago suburbs. In a relatively short time Erika's Lighthouse has provided area schools with the tools with which to educate students, faculty and parents about the signs and symptoms of adolescent depression. The best part is that the students in the ELH clubs (at quite a few schools now, and growing!) are the ones sharing this information with their peers and opening up dialogue that wouldn't have taken place just a few years ago.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Erika's Lighthouse is an exceptional organization on the northshore of Chicago that is doing dynamic work in the field of mental health education and awareness. Our community has a wealth of top notch therapeutic resources, but until Erika's Lighthouse came around, no one was addressing the largest reason why people weren't getting help, STIGMA! Erika's Lighthouse educates communities about teen depression in a way that is accessible and helpful. I have seen first hand that mental health education reduces the shame, gives people a new way to talk and think about mental health and most importantly, provides hope. I would, without hesitation, recommend this organization to educate my school, place of worship, hospital or parent group on the topic of depression and good mental health.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I was researching curriculum that would be relevant, interactive and educationally appropriate for high school students. This is the second year that I have provided a lesson to our sophomore health classes. The materials that Erika’s Lighthouse provides are outstanding. I was impressed by the empirically based data that was used in the creation of the curriculum. The lesson plans are thorough and allows the students to interact and discuss depression and suicide in a safe and supportive environment. The video, Real Teen's has a significant impact on our students as well. They "see" kids who look just like them and our students immediately can relate to this. Moreover, Erika's Lighthouse is providing student's an opportunity to get involved and to do something about "getting depression out of the dark". I would highly recommend this program and curriculum to any high school.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers