Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.428575
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am not only a client served, having adopted a belgian/qh PMU foal in 2002 (I think, may have been 2003) from ERR, I'm also a professional in the "field"- that of animal rescue/advocacy/fostering. I met the folks at ERR through the director of the sanctuary I am involved with (I was on the board at the time, I now am a foster for the sanctuary's pot bellied pigs that need a place to come to after medical issues). I had just lost (to cancer) our one horse- a rescue/abuse case- and the director of our sanctuary knew I was looking for another horse. My experience adopting Beemer was incredible. From a professional point of view, I was asked all the "right" questions (and they were followed up on)- such as: experience, facilities, veterinarian, references, and support for those things I was not familiar with (I'd never dealt with a foal before, so that was a very legitimate concern). The folks at ERR walked me through how to get vet checks done long distance, and made themselves available for the vet check (the foal was in New Jersey, so this was a considerable distance for them to travel). They helped me arrange transportation, were on site when the transportation arrived, and kept in touch with me once Beemer got here, to make sure everything was ok. I do not believe ERR usually does long distance adoptions, but this was a unique situation on many levels. I have kept in touch with ERR over the years- not only to give updates on Beemer, but also because ERR is very active in education, advocacy, and is an excellent example of a rescue well run. While my "rescue" work is with a different species, I continue to learn new things from the expertise of ERR. I am also highly impressed with how ERR does outreach, educates the community and the politicians with out being confrontational. Colleen and her staff, have done a lot to help ALL animals, to help people involved with animals, and to better our society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

At the close of this year – 2012 – I would like to take this opportunity to whole heartedly thank Equine Rescue Resource, Inc. for the work they have done and continue to do in the community they serve. My relationship with them began in 2005 when I adopted TB mare, Widget. Since this adoption, Colleen and the Board have made routine visits not only to check in on how I was handling a yearling, but to provide support for Widget’s care and training. Widget is now 7 coming 8 and is an accomplished hunter jumper show horse. She has helped many adolescents and adults rekindle their love for riding and horsemanship.
In July, of this year, I started a local ministry in which I am working with families and children who do not necessarily have the funds to own a horse, but have a passion and desire to be around them. ERR has once again provided support and guidance in this new venture. I have fond Colleen’s advice and wisdom priceless, as she genuinely shares the “hard facts” about owning and running an equine operation. Through word of mouth advertising, our school has grown in size, and we recently entered into a legal agreement to foster 1 pony mare, providing an opportunity for other local 4-H kids to have a venue to continue their riding through the winter months. I am more than happy to provide a copy of our agreement, as well as accurate medical and exercise records for this pony for anyone who may question the integrity of this non-profit organization.
I and my ministry wholeheartedly support the efforts of Equine Rescue Resource, Inc. and am looking forward to a long lasting relationship with them. After all, “The righteous man cares for the needs of his animals, “ (Proverbs 12:10a).
God Bless ERR! J. Grant , PMP, BS Equine Studies – President Cross Rails, Inc.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a retired law enforcement officer one of my special tasks was Animal Cruelty. I have been the Cruelty Advisor for this organization since it came into existence. While there are other horse rescues in the area I elected to become part of this organization because I found it to be the most caring regarding not only horses but any animal in need. Some rescues become involved with only police related matters this rescue will take in not only cruelty cases but horses that are no longer wanted, abandoned , if the owners die or are no longer able to care for their animals. Being with this organization from the start I am impressed with their ability to adapt to new changes and how they strive to ALWAYS remain focused on the health and welfare of the animals in their care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with ERR for the last five years, in that time I have seen the rescue go above and beyond to help not only the animals but also their human counterparts. From wrestling semi-feral minis running wild for a week to a wayward sheep (once destined for the dinner table) they have tried to assist any who have asked for help. I have seen Colleen and other members work for hours doing not only the physical and often heartbreaking work, to the hours spent networking for others to find a safe haven for as many as possible. They have given assistance with feed and hay, blankets and comfort to owners who desperatly need help but don't know where to turn, as well as bags of groceries and clothing for those in need. And at those times when the only thing left is to assist an animal out of its pain it is done with the utmost of caring and love, they are never alone and always treated with love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My experiences with Equine Rescue came back in 2005 and 2006. I was part of an animal communication group who went to the farm for a weekend to try and work with the horses to see what their issues and traumas were. I still remember a couple of the horses, one is Gabriela, a beautiful black horse who had just come in and needed a lot of work. Today I see photos of her on facebook and she is thriving. Another was Fozzie, the first horse I had ever seen who was over 40 years old. Amazing! She seemed to be very happy and knew she had a good life there. The staff and volunteers at Equine Rescue really care about the animals and take great pride in what they do for them. I suspect the animals do just as much for the people:) I know how much a rescue appreciates being rescued, as I had an off track thoroughbred once, who became an awesome horse with much love and work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

August 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Organization does a lot within the community taking in horses that people can no longer afford, and those who have been abused or neglected. I have personally seen the recovery and rehabilitation of animals that have been starved, injured, and even emotionally scarred. Horses that have been starved take large amounts of care in regards to regaining their weight, frequent veterinarian visits, and even supplements to help them recover from their abuse. The welfare of the animals are the number one priority of the organization and its' volunteers. The lengths at which the volunteers have gone to for these animals in need is truly inspiring. ERR inc has not only helped horses in need, but takes opportunities to teach its volunteers about the needs and daily care horses require. The rescue adopts the rehabilitated horses to homes in which the animal will be properly taken care of, and even require pictures and visits to ensure the animal is still in the best home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is wholly disorganized and participates in illegal practices. Horses are placed in foster care without foster agreements on purpose and when expenses are incurred by the foster home for vet and farrier care, this charity pulls the horse out and blocks the foster home completely. There are a number of people whom have been financially damaged by this charity. I also have first hand knowledge and proof that this charity is using rescue funds to feed and house 4 privately owned horses and 1 "adopted" out horse.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

2010 to 2011. I am now bringing a small claims lawsuit against this charity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Adhere to the bylaws and to IRS 501(c) rules.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers