Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Write A Review
October 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2010

Our daughter has been riding at Equi-ed for over three years now. We were so happy to have found this wonderful place! She had previously been enrolled in therapeutic riding at another facility, but... more

October 18, 2014

Equi-Ed has been a part of our daughter's life for over 7 years now. In spite of cognitive disabilities, she is able to ride horses at Equi-Ed competently, demonstrate the ability to follow directions, and connect with these gentle animals in a way that empowers her on a weekly basis. The staff at Equi-Ed is knowledgeable, patient and accepting of differences. I would highly recommend this incredible program to children and adults alike! Equi-Ed is a place where amazing things happen...and lives are changed!
October 23, 2010

Our daughter has been riding at Equi-ed for over three years now. We were so happy to have found this wonderful place! She had previously been enrolled in therapeutic riding at another facility, but was told she had gone as far as she could. Being intellectually disabled, we all felt our daughter needed to continue her connection to riding, being with people who understood her, and of course, experiencing unconditional acceptance from these gentle horses. Equi-Ed provides all of the above and does so with expertise. Our daughter always looks forward to her lessons which improves her self-esteem immensely. The staff is amazing and everything our daughter learns from her riding instruction carries over to many other areas of her life. We are so grateful for this non-profit organization and hope that it can grow and expand with the generous support of others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing our daughter's improved self-esteem, coordination and attentional skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

build a covered arena so that Equi-Ed could continue to provide their very important work all year long.

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I found Equi-Ed through my Military support group which I had been attending as a physically disabled veteran. I have MS, (multiple sclerosis), which is an Acquired Brain Damage disease causing less ability in deductive reasoning and thinking; muscle spasms and lack of balance. As all of these things happened to me. I became more and more depressed.

I had ridden with an equestrian therapy program for a short while before I was as disabled as I am now, so I was a little afraid to try. I came out and met all the folks that work and volunteer out there, and they wholeheartedly convinced me to do it! I came back happier with a whole different outlook! They helped me! I got better! I gained confidence and strength! I really felt like a part of a team and not a burden to be led around on a horse; I was riding and in command of my horse. Equi-Ed is such a big part of what I do now, that I work out at the gym to be strong for my next ride. They give love, lessons and help from the heart!!!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

My son with Asperger's (high functioning autism) has been riding with Equi-Ed for two sessions. He didn't really get into the usual team or individual sports, but loves horseback riding and is always happy about going to his lessons. The walking motion of the horse has a calming effect on him and he usually falls asleep in the car after his lesson. He really loves it when he gets to trot on the horse. It puts a big smile on his face. His goal is to be able to take the reins and direct the horse on his own while walking and trotting. The staff are patient with him and carefully instruct him in safety and communication with the horse and volunteers. They also offer many other ways to be involved as a client from holiday parades, to parties and barbeques, fund raising activities, and movie nights! It is fun to be a part of the Equi-Ed "family". Thank you Equi-Ed!!
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Our son went from a timid boy to a confident boy through his participation in the Eqi-Ed therapeutic riding program. All the volunteers are kind and knowledgable. The staff build in opportunities for kids to work on IEP academic goals. Equi-Ed is the best!
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Equi-Ed provides my autistic daughter with an activity that she loves, that builds her sense of independence and accomplishment. She has been riding with Equi-Ed for 14 years!! We love it!
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

Since being served by Equi-Ed my daughter has made huge gains with her speech, attention and posture. She lights up every time we pull up the barn. Thank you Equi-Ed!
September 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a parent of a child taking lessons at Equi-Ed right now. My daughter has gained a huge amount of confidence and is much better at dealing with her emotions. All of the therapies we have tried over the last three years have not even come close to the results we've seen with therapeutic horse back riding at Equi-Ed. Truly, they have helped our entire family. We will be forever indebted to Shelia, Max, Sade, and all of the volunteers who make Equi-Ed possible.
November 14, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 20, 2010

My daughter is a special needs child and she started Equi-Ed a couple of years ago. I had heart about the organization at a Santa Rosa Junior College event. IT sounded perfect for my daughter and she... more

November 14, 2012

I am the parent of one of the children who took lessons from Equi-Ed. My daughter also volunteered. THe program is terrific and my daughter finally found friends she could relate to as she was having a very difficult time at school. The horses, instructors, and volunteers gave her much needed confidence which helped her greatly in school. She loved the program. I am very grateful for programs like these.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2010

My daughter is a special needs child and she started Equi-Ed a couple of years ago. I had heart about the organization at a Santa Rosa Junior College event. IT sounded perfect for my daughter and she had a wonderful time. The horses are terrific and the volunteers are more terrific. She was also with children like herself and could be herself. At regular school she was picked on quite a bit so this was a blessing for her. She is now in high school and doing sports, etc and I feel Equi-Ed gave her the ability to believe in herself.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daughter being happy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing. It is fine the way it is.

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My son has been with Equi Ed for almost a year and it has been a total pleasure working with the entire Equi Ed Team. My son was instantly comfortable with the volunteers and has enjoyed every lesson. They are kind, caring and very patient with him. We have seen huge gains with him and his engagement with others as well as speech. We will not only continue to work with them but we would recommend them to our friends!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started off as a client of Equi-Ed, by way of the Adapted PE Dept at SRJC. I had a brain surgery that changed me and my balance, hearing, coordination, view of myself, confidence, quite a few things changed in my life for me. I really took to the horses, staff, classmates and they liked me! We all had such a great time that semester! My balance became steadier, my coordination grew, things got better. It wasn't quick, like in the movies, but I did Improvise, Adapt, Modify, Overcome! I saw and felt how great this program was that I took the Volunteer Class and became a Volunteer. I admired so much how the Volunteers had helped me. I wished and hoped I could be like them. I could start off as a Sidewalker for students and work in the barns with the horses. Just like being a client, I copied everyone until I had it down for myself. Earning the right to Volunteer was a huge self esteem boost and confidence builder for me. Today, I wish I lived closer so I could come in and help more at Equi-Ed. I am a different person now, I am doing much better.....No other program/therapy/activity I have done has given me what Equi-Ed has given back to me. My life really changed for the positive the first day I was a client. Thank you to every single person for all your kind help. Sincere heartfelt appreciation for every horse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers