Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

The staff at Equi-Ed have far surpassed my expectations as a charitable organization. They are thoughtful in their day to day activities. Keep safety for the clients, staff, and horses at their forefront. They are clearly making an impact in the lives of those that choose to spend time at the facility. I'm so grateful for the training they have given me and opportunity to take part as a volunteer. Each and everyday I'm learning at the gentle and patient hand of our leaders.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I have volunteered at Equi Ed from several months and I enjoy the interactions with the horses and students. I love watching the lessons and the care that the staff and volunteers put into the care of the horses and the people.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I can't say enough about Equi-Ed and the life changing impact it has on everyone, from the students and their families, to the volunteers.
From day one, as a new volunteer, you are taught through the extensive orientation how to do everything safely. It gives you a new awareness to do all
you do with a mind to the safety of the horses and people around you. This awareness becomes a part of you, not only at the barn, but in your everyday lives.
Since first learning about therapeutic horseback riding in high school, it has been a dream of mine to be involved. I was so thrilled to learn about Equi-Ed, and began volunteering just over a year ago. It is truly awesome to be able to witness the interaction of the horses and riders, and to see the confidence and skills building from lesson to lesson. The instructors are exceptional and highly qualified to taylor each lesson to the needs and goals of the student.
Equi-ed is the place to be! As a student, volunteer or supporter, you know you are a part of making a positive difference in countless lives!
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Therapeutic riding has a proved track record of benefiting clients with a wide number of emotional, behavioral, or physical issues. The key to it being an exceptional program has to do with having the dedication and commitment from the staff and volunteers AND wonderful equine partners. Many will talk about the human component in this therapy but the horses are the stars and these horses are well cared for. Equi-Ed also does an amazing job in striving to keep the horses, the riders, and the human handlers safe. The training they provide their volunteers is top notch and is there to insure the best outcome for everyone. I am honored to be a volunteer at Equi-Ed.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering at Equi-Ed a few months ago and find it very rewarding. It is so nice to work with people who care so much about those being served. It's a joy to watch the lessons. I also appreciate the wonderful care given to the horses.
October 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2009

Equi-Ed, Inc. is an incredible organization which provides a wonderful opportunity to volunteer in a place that enriches the lives of so many with disabilities. Through a friend I heard about Equi-Ed... more

October 22, 2013

I have been a volunteer at Equi-Ed for over 5 years now and just love it. I started helping in lessons and was immediately touched by the interaction of students, horses and of course the amazing instructors. Life has changed a bit for me so I now volunteer in a smaller capacity by feeding and cleaning every other Sunday. However, I could not imagine my life without this wonderful organization. I enjoy my time with these incredible horses. How humbling it is to see these big animals be so gentle with their riders and enhance life for those with struggles. I am in awe of the staff who master every day with strength, patience and unlimited kindness. We are so fortunate to have such a resource in our County!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had the power and the means, I would make sure that they never run out of funds!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2009

Equi-Ed, Inc. is an incredible organization which provides a wonderful opportunity to volunteer in a place that enriches the lives of so many with disabilities. Through a friend I heard about Equi-Ed and I thought I would see if I could help out. I had a personal loss in my life and needed something to fill a great void. With my love for horses and the need to give something back, I decided to try it out. This was over a year ago and I must say I will never be able to give as much as I receive from this outstanding organization. The people who run Equi-Ed are remarkable and inspire me to no end. We have such wonderful volunteers too. Young or not so young we are all there because we feel this place is special and we care about what it provides to so many. The location is stunning in its setting and the peace you feel there stays with you. The horses are incredible and being treated with love, care and great knowledge by staff and volunteers. These gentle animals are used in the lessons after they have been carefully selected and trained. I get to help out in lessons with the children as a horse leader or spotter. It is amazing to see these horses and individuals with disabilities work together. I get very humble and suddenly my daily gripes are just not important anymore, I realize how fortunate I am, and how wonderful life is even with hardship in it. Since Equi-Ed relies on volunteers for horse care as well, I get to feed the horses on Sunday mornings. The program is very well organized and runs so smooth. Thanks to great communication among staff and volunteers lessons are provided during the week and on Saturdays. I am honored to participate in any way needed. I hope Equi-Ed gets the recognition it deserves so very much and with that hopefully more people become aware of this great organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by seeing the children with disabilities become focused, more relaxed and aware. They leave the lesson with a big smile on their face.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

let the people currently in charge do what they do so much better than if I was in charge. My hat's off to their hard and dedicated work.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the interaction with the kids and horses. What a powerful combination.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

inspiring! These people have such care and love for what they do. I for one am better now for knowing them.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

have a permanent location where it could serve more individuals.

Ways to make it better...

I had more knowledge about horses. I could be of better help. However, the wonderful people at Equi-Ed are teaching me so much.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

getting donations, and volunteers.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I have the utmost respect for the people who run Equi-Ed Inc. Their time and effort are amazing and they deserve our gratitude and appreciation.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I am a current volunteer with Equi-Ed and can't wait to be up there each week. What I love:
*Volunteers are required to complete extensive training (16+ hours in total) & update each year.
*Consistency of methods / barn rules for safety of students, volunteers/staff, and horses.

*Staff are wonderful and forces of nature! Watching them work is amazing; their knowledge and techniques, humor and patience. More experienced volunteers are friendly and helpful.
*Most of all, students are awe inspiring and it humbles me to be a part of their learning each week.

:-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

clone Maxine, Sheila & Sade!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I stumbled upon Equi Ed while looking for somewhere to take horseback riding lessons. Little did I know that I was embarking on a life-changing adventure! I've been volunteering for Equi Ed for about 5 months now and I can honestly say that this program has made a huge impact on my life in such a short time. The work that Equi Ed does with it's students is truly inspiring. As a volunteer, we are able to see first hand how riding horses can have a positive impact on someone with a physical or mental disability. The horses are amazing animals that truly work hard and make a difference in so many lives. The staff and volunteers are absolutely amazing at what they do and put in countless hours to make sure the program is run efficiently and the horses are properly cared for. I absolutely lie being part of such an amazing team and I wouldn't trade this experience for anything!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I could write VOLUMES about all the wonderful things that Equi-Ed is. In short though, the Directors and instructors ROCK. Their attention to safety, details, education, fun, and happiness is above and beyond. Never have I met such a selfless group. It is life changing watching the students grow in strength and self-esteem while learing, exercising and having fun. They are the true meaning of champions!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I found Equi-Ed on Craigslist trying to find a way to give back to others during my jobless state and be near horses. Everyone has been helpful, friendly, encouraging, direct, kind and fun. I appreciate that they are keeping me safe and educated around horses. Thank you Sheila, Bev, Max and everyone else who is training me. I appreciate your hard work for others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers