Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Write A Review
October 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2010

Our daughter has been riding at Equi-ed for over three years now. We were so happy to have found this wonderful place! She had previously been enrolled in therapeutic riding at another facility, but... more

October 18, 2014

Equi-Ed has been a part of our daughter's life for over 7 years now. In spite of cognitive disabilities, she is able to ride horses at Equi-Ed competently, demonstrate the ability to follow directions, and connect with these gentle animals in a way that empowers her on a weekly basis. The staff at Equi-Ed is knowledgeable, patient and accepting of differences. I would highly recommend this incredible program to children and adults alike! Equi-Ed is a place where amazing things happen...and lives are changed!
October 23, 2010

Our daughter has been riding at Equi-ed for over three years now. We were so happy to have found this wonderful place! She had previously been enrolled in therapeutic riding at another facility, but was told she had gone as far as she could. Being intellectually disabled, we all felt our daughter needed to continue her connection to riding, being with people who understood her, and of course, experiencing unconditional acceptance from these gentle horses. Equi-Ed provides all of the above and does so with expertise. Our daughter always looks forward to her lessons which improves her self-esteem immensely. The staff is amazing and everything our daughter learns from her riding instruction carries over to many other areas of her life. We are so grateful for this non-profit organization and hope that it can grow and expand with the generous support of others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing our daughter's improved self-esteem, coordination and attentional skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

build a covered arena so that Equi-Ed could continue to provide their very important work all year long.

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I found Equi-Ed through my Military support group which I had been attending as a physically disabled veteran. I have MS, (multiple sclerosis), which is an Acquired Brain Damage disease causing less ability in deductive reasoning and thinking; muscle spasms and lack of balance. As all of these things happened to me. I became more and more depressed.

I had ridden with an equestrian therapy program for a short while before I was as disabled as I am now, so I was a little afraid to try. I came out and met all the folks that work and volunteer out there, and they wholeheartedly convinced me to do it! I came back happier with a whole different outlook! They helped me! I got better! I gained confidence and strength! I really felt like a part of a team and not a burden to be led around on a horse; I was riding and in command of my horse. Equi-Ed is such a big part of what I do now, that I work out at the gym to be strong for my next ride. They give love, lessons and help from the heart!!!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

My son with Asperger's (high functioning autism) has been riding with Equi-Ed for two sessions. He didn't really get into the usual team or individual sports, but loves horseback riding and is always happy about going to his lessons. The walking motion of the horse has a calming effect on him and he usually falls asleep in the car after his lesson. He really loves it when he gets to trot on the horse. It puts a big smile on his face. His goal is to be able to take the reins and direct the horse on his own while walking and trotting. The staff are patient with him and carefully instruct him in safety and communication with the horse and volunteers. They also offer many other ways to be involved as a client from holiday parades, to parties and barbeques, fund raising activities, and movie nights! It is fun to be a part of the Equi-Ed "family". Thank you Equi-Ed!!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

The staff at Equi-Ed have far surpassed my expectations as a charitable organization. They are thoughtful in their day to day activities. Keep safety for the clients, staff, and horses at their forefront. They are clearly making an impact in the lives of those that choose to spend time at the facility. I'm so grateful for the training they have given me and opportunity to take part as a volunteer. Each and everyday I'm learning at the gentle and patient hand of our leaders.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Having been involved in the horse industry for many years and having had some previous experience with another therapeutic riding center, I can confidently say that Equi-Ed is a fantastic program. Not only is it a great place for the students but it's also a wonderful place for the horses, volunteers, and staff. Equi-Ed staff always ensures the utmost safety of the students and horses while making it a fun and enriching environment for everyone involved. The students are always stimulated with new and exciting lesson activities while being able to enjoy the comradery of their equine companions. The horses are taken care of very well and the staff goes to great efforts to make sure the horses are healthy and happy at all times.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I have volunteered at Equi Ed from several months and I enjoy the interactions with the horses and students. I love watching the lessons and the care that the staff and volunteers put into the care of the horses and the people.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I can't say enough about Equi-Ed and the life changing impact it has on everyone, from the students and their families, to the volunteers.
From day one, as a new volunteer, you are taught through the extensive orientation how to do everything safely. It gives you a new awareness to do all
you do with a mind to the safety of the horses and people around you. This awareness becomes a part of you, not only at the barn, but in your everyday lives.
Since first learning about therapeutic horseback riding in high school, it has been a dream of mine to be involved. I was so thrilled to learn about Equi-Ed, and began volunteering just over a year ago. It is truly awesome to be able to witness the interaction of the horses and riders, and to see the confidence and skills building from lesson to lesson. The instructors are exceptional and highly qualified to taylor each lesson to the needs and goals of the student.
Equi-ed is the place to be! As a student, volunteer or supporter, you know you are a part of making a positive difference in countless lives!
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Our son went from a timid boy to a confident boy through his participation in the Eqi-Ed therapeutic riding program. All the volunteers are kind and knowledgable. The staff build in opportunities for kids to work on IEP academic goals. Equi-Ed is the best!
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I have worked with several therapeutic riding programs in the past and Equi-Ed holds its staff and volunteers to a higher standard than any other I've known. It is all about quality instruction for students, quality care for the horses and ongoing educational opportunities for everyone involved.
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Therapeutic riding has a proved track record of benefiting clients with a wide number of emotional, behavioral, or physical issues. The key to it being an exceptional program has to do with having the dedication and commitment from the staff and volunteers AND wonderful equine partners. Many will talk about the human component in this therapy but the horses are the stars and these horses are well cared for. Equi-Ed also does an amazing job in striving to keep the horses, the riders, and the human handlers safe. The training they provide their volunteers is top notch and is there to insure the best outcome for everyone. I am honored to be a volunteer at Equi-Ed.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers