Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

So in response to Missyn's comment, with all due respect, what did you do as a volunteer, did you venture to make the initiative to fund raise or other aspects to benefit the organization? I have volunteered at other horse rescues in Florida and they are not the vast green acres of Kentucky. Equestrian Inc is respectably recognized for what they have successfully done for 29 years. Some volunteers have no idea what it takes, tireless hours, and serious dedication to run a non profit. It's not just showing up, playing with and riding horses. Do horses die at horse sanctuaries beyond every effort to rehab them, absolutely. It's life. Equestrian Inc is successful, welcoming and very loving toward their well cared for horses.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

St. Petersburg College students volunteer at this facility and absolutely enjoy the hospitality of Glenda and friends. It is kind of sad that a disgruntled former volunteer, whose horses basically boarded for free, felt that this is a forum to air her discontent because the non-profit could no longer afford to feed and hay her horses. When she was asked to fulfill her obligation to "volunteer" in exchange for board, she became disgruntled and left. Of course, there is a lot of sand, it is called Florida, but there is a wonderful swimming hole that the horses love. Also, faithful donations keep the horses stocked with wonderful hay to munch on. Of course donations pay for medicine, vet bills, hay and feed, but it is the volunteers that come out to clean stalls,fix fences, lunge the horses, and brush and groom them, who provide a valuable service.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with about 200 grassy acres and a 40 stall barn without landlord harassment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with Equestrian Inc. for many years, and it is a an absolutely WONDERFUL organization with all happy, healthy horses who are meticulously cared for. I personally spend countless hours doing work for the organization both at the facility and remotely, and I do everything that I do because I know the difference right and wrong, being truly charitable, altruistic person, and being in it because one thinks they can just come in from no where and do it better, and to try to present a fake front to all of their friends of being a truly charitable person when in fact they are truly not. We do absolutely E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G that we do for the benefit of the horses. Period. Glenda Smith is like a mother to me, and she is one of the few people that I can honestly say I would go to the ends of the Earth for and wouldn't think twice. Anyone who thinks anything else A) is an awful horse person who has no clue how to truly care for them, B) is GROSSLY misinformed, and C) quite frankly not intelligent... at all. How can I say this? Simple. The proof is on the wall. Equestrian Inc. has been around in the same location under Glenda Smith for almost 30 years. No one else in the bay area stack up to that. Also we continue to be awarded grant after grant. That isn't because Glenda doesn't know what she's doing, and it isn't because we as a core organization don't know what we're doing. I stand by this organization no matter what, and so do a WHOLE lot of other people. We all wear our hearts on our sleeves, and give our horses the best of absolutely everything we possibly can, and there just isn't anything more to say.
September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 3, 2013

Equestrian Inc is an amazing place! I've been involved with them for almost two years now and wild horses couldn't drag me away! May of 2013 was a very difficult and emotional time for us after the ... more

September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization with very hard working and dedicated volunteers and board members. The horses are very well taken care of and loved by all who come to the rescue. I learn something new every time I am there. It is located on a beautiful property with a spring fed pond and stream. Not only will you see horses but many adorable and loving barn cats. A great horned owl and rosy spoonbill can often be spotted and if your lucky a bald eagle.
June 3, 2013

Equestrian Inc is an amazing place! I've been involved with them for almost two years now and wild horses couldn't drag me away! May of 2013 was a very difficult and emotional time for us after the loss of a beautiful mare we took in from an extremely neglectful home. Happily her 3 companions are doing much better but still have a long road ahead for recovery. The volunteers will cary on the mission and we will be working diligently toward changing the animal abuse laws in the state of Florida. This is an organization for the community to be very proud of!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to increase the donations from the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering with Equestrian Inc in June of 2011. I was looking for a place to take horse back riding lessons, something I had always wanted to do a child but never had the opportunity. I attended a volunteer orientation and immediately was hooked! I've been volunteering and taking riding lessons since that first Sunday in June. This is one of my favorite places to be. It can be hard work but it is so very worthwhile. All of the people involved with the rescue are just amazing and I can't say enough about the horses, goat and barn cats! I'm continually impressed with the dedication and hard work of the board and volunteers. I would highly recommend this organization. Please consider making a donation to support Equestrian Inc or volunteer your time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Hazards everywhere where horses roam. Too much sand, not enough grazing area. Multiple horse deaths from colic. What is going on there???
September 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have always had horses growing up and wished my daughter had the same opportunity to get close and find out how much love horses have to give. My husband was diagnosed with Cancer last year and my daughter of course was having a difficult time ( she is just 12). I read about the rescue in the paper and we went one Saturday afternoon it was amazing. Miss Glenda and Dee Ann were so sweet and let us feed the horses apples and even took my daughter for a ride. I would go there every day if I could.. I look forward to seeing the horses sweet faces posted on Facebook every day. God Bless them all.

Sandra and Madeline
September 29, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

A love of horses is not enough to call yourself a rescue. Hard work, training, patience and caring are the hallmarks of a true charity. These qualities are missing at equestrianinc. I volunteered several days a week for a year and saw neglect, dangerous conditions, the death of several horses, sporadic training and vet care. I also saw many volunteers that made the heart wrenching decision to leave this organization and the animals they grew to love because they could no longer be a party to Glenda Smith's careless approach to rehabilitation, myself included. No marketing plan, no fund raising skills, no training and conditioning schedule, no structure. Your time and money are better spent with a charity that earns your support, not one that simply exists in name alone.
September 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered Equestrian, Inc. one night while watching the news. A horse had been nearly starved to death (Half of it's body weight) and Equestrian, Inc. managed to get the horse away from it's cruel owner & start the long road of saving the horse's life. Glenda Smith and her daughter, DeAnn and the countless volunteers spent 24 hours a day 7 days a week caring for this sweet horse "Jolie". I fell in love with Jolie and the other horses and spent every spare minute from my business going to the farm. Sadly the horse didn't make it, but her last few weeks were spent being fed & loved like no other. There were about 35 other horses there at the time. I had never been around horses but I am an animal rights activist & was so impressed with the work they do at EI to rehabilitate all their horses. I don't know how they do it...but they do it every day...365 days a year. Horses require a lot more "food" than dogs & cats. The love these horses get is paramount. I can't say enough about this wonderful organization. They melted my heart!.
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

I love going and seeing the amazing cratures that have been rescued by this beautiful orginizations. They even let me do my senior pics at the stable just so I could be where I love. Lauren is so sweet and her little baby Eva is so lucky to get to grow up under such a great influence and around such amazing creatures. Thank you Equestrian Inc. I love you guys.
September 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I contacted Glenda Smith at Equestrian Inc to do Myofascial Release on her rescue horses.She and everyone that is connected with the organization has welcomed me and allowed me the opportunity to help heal their horses. I truly have never met such a dedicated and kind group of people that absolutely put the horses first. It can be pouring rain,blazing sun,early or late in the day and they are there to attend to the horses needs. Whether its vet care or food,the staff here makes sure the horse is taken care of. The horses love them back for their efforts, they come by name and give them a loving nudge. Knowing these horses are safe,loved, respected and fed is such a heartwarming experience in a world where people seem to put themselves first.Not here,the horses wellbeing is the only priority.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom horses, muck stalls, paint fences, do repair work, sweep the barn and feed room, clean feed and water buckets, assist with feeding the horses, pull weeds, and/or enjoy the serenity of the farm. Volunteer