Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 3, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 4, 2012

I began volunteering with Equestrian Inc in June of 2011. I was looking for a place to take horse back riding lessons, something I had always wanted to do a child but never had the opportunity. I at... more

June 3, 2013

Equestrian Inc is an amazing place! I've been involved with them for almost two years now and wild horses couldn't drag me away! May of 2013 was a very difficult and emotional time for us after the loss of a beautiful mare we took in from an extremely neglectful home. Happily her 3 companions are doing much better but still have a long road ahead for recovery. The volunteers will cary on the mission and we will be working diligently toward changing the animal abuse laws in the state of Florida. This is an organization for the community to be very proud of!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to increase the donations from the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering with Equestrian Inc in June of 2011. I was looking for a place to take horse back riding lessons, something I had always wanted to do a child but never had the opportunity. I attended a volunteer orientation and immediately was hooked! I've been volunteering and taking riding lessons since that first Sunday in June. This is one of my favorite places to be. It can be hard work but it is so very worthwhile. All of the people involved with the rescue are just amazing and I can't say enough about the horses, goat and barn cats! I'm continually impressed with the dedication and hard work of the board and volunteers. I would highly recommend this organization. Please consider making a donation to support Equestrian Inc or volunteer your time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 11, 2012

Volunteering at Equestrian Inc. was the best move I have ever made. When others speak of "life changing" I can attest to that. It is indeed life changing. Our horses come from all situations. We ... more

May 31, 2013

The role of Equestrian Inc. is to provide a sanctuary for abandoned, abused, unwanted and slaughter bound horses. Recently we acquired a mare who had been starved so badly that each and every bone showed. Our volunteers rallied together to do everything in their power to save this beautiful girl. Unfortunately it was too late and she died. Being with such a dedicated caring group of people trying to save her was truly a life altering experience. Our founder, Glenda Smith, is completely devoted to giving our horses the very best of care and her enthusiasm for her life's vocation is contagious. Each and every volunteer cares deeply for our wonderful horses. Equestrian Inc. is excellent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012

Volunteering at Equestrian Inc. was the best move I have ever made. When others speak of "life changing" I can attest to that. It is indeed life changing. Our horses come from all situations. We try to help them adapt to a new life by retraining them according to their particular aptitudes. It's such a beautiful experience to see them blossom into a happy well-adjusted horse. Some, because of age or other problems cannot be retrained so they are welcome to consider Equestrian Inc. their forever home. Our horses are loved and respected for the wonderful animals that they are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

A little over three years ago I was looking for a place for myself and my very shy 9 year old to volunteer at. I noticed an article in the local paper about EI needing volunteers for their abused, abandoned and other horses. We went right over. The first one to greet us with this amazingly big smile was Glenda Smith, owner. Glenda is the epitome of charity. We were welcomed and shown around and introduced to the many wonderful horses and animals at EI. We felt so welcomed that we continue to go out there all these years on a regular basis. Not only has my daughter grown and learned to care and ride for these beautiful horses, she has grown to a very outgoing, confident young lady. This could only happen when you find a place that is so knowledgeable and passionate about what they are rescuing. We were enveloped into this very warm, caring, loving family of volunteers, no experience necessary. Equestrian Inc. is one of those special places that will be in our hearts for many more years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Repurchase the property EI is on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

My 12 year old daughter has been involved with the farm for 3 years. She has learned to ride and take care of horses, something that we would never have been able to afford anywhere else.

Linda is a saint. There is no other way to describe a person who has devoted her whole life to the
care of abused animals, asking nothing in return. She is the Mother Teresa for horses.

The farm itself is well managed and is a social and educational asset to the surrounding community.
If you haven't yet been there and experienced the farm and its wonderful volunteers, then get there, as you are missing out on an experience that is real and unique.

Marius Smook

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

I volunteered at Equestrian Inc for a while and have owned horses for many years. Having moved here from Minnesota and being involved with many horse non profits, I have seen many non profits for horses. Equestrian Inc is among the best. The love and care I have seen and experienced there on a consistent basis is what makes their facility stand out. From community involvement, education to the public and of course, the great care given to the horses and other animals is what makes Equestrian Inc a five star facility!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

I was introduced to Glenda Smith and Equestrian Inc. in 2009 and she has never ceased to amaze me with her knowledge about and passion for horses. Equestrian Inc. also has a team of talented volunteers who have dedicated great portions of their lives to the organization and the horses it rescues. Due to the efforts of the entire team, lives have not only been saved, but horses are able to grow, become healthy and extremely happy. If you are looking to volunteer, donate or adopt, I highly recommend Equestrian Inc.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 1, 2012

I like to keep things simple so I'll just say" This place will save your soul" :) more

April 24, 2013

I was looking for riding lessons when I found Equestrian Inc and while checking out the horses on their web site I found Bella, a most beautiful mare who had been abused and abandoned. I have been working with her for over 6 months and the love and trust that she gives me has been very humbling. Loving a horse is great-having one love you back is beyond description for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012

I like to keep things simple so I'll just say" This place will save your soul" :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

I am almost into my third year as a volunteer at Equestrian Inc. and I was also there when an ex-racer was brought in from a track up north. He was supposed to come to Equestrian Inc about a month ago but there was a change in his plans and he was sent to another trainer to race. Glenda, the founder, with the help of some volunteers, kept track of this poor guy and when the trainer realized he would be better suited in retirement, he contacted Glenda and Equestrian Inc is now his home. He makes the fifth (5) ex-racehorse to come to Equestrian Inc this year, which is 100% better than where they could have ended up. Come and check out the farm and all the horses that call it home. There is always work to be done but it is also relaxing and enriching too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Equestrian Inc. is an asset to Tampa, FL. This non-profit horse rescue organization has a dedicated founder, trainers and volunteers that work very hard to make sure every rescue receives the proper care, training, medical needs, and rehabilition needs to give these beautiful animals a happy life without fear or mistrust. They start their day knowing they are going to be fed and let out to pasture to play with their friends. They have been given a routine, a purpose and a place where they receive lots of attention. At the end of the day, they welcome their roomy stalls and dinner.
Recently a new horse came in from up North that did not want to race, and his fate was not favorable. As a volunteer, to be able to see this horse brought in from a long journey and start enjoying his new life is such a wonderful feeling.
EI reaches out to as many horses as they can. This is a sanctuary in the middle of Tampa.
Come out and hug a horse - it will make you smile!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

Equestrian Inc. has given many equines new careers. From breeding farms to off the racetrack, Equestrian Inc., has rescued and rehabilitated horses in order to find them new owners and forever homes. ... more

April 24, 2013

Equestrian Inc. has such a great impact on many horses. They strive to help as many horses as possible. I always feel so invited to partake in many events and I am always welcomed by the great group of volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

Equestrian Inc. has given many equines new careers. From breeding farms to off the racetrack, Equestrian Inc., has rescued and rehabilitated horses in order to find them new owners and forever homes. I have been at Equestrian Inc. for over 8 years, and can't wait for another 8 more! It will change your life when you change others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

groom horses, muck stalls, paint fences, do repair work, sweep the barn and feed room, clean feed and water buckets, assist with feeding the horses, pull weeds, and/or enjoy the serenity of the farm. Volunteer