Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 27, 2013

more

March 27, 2013

My love of horses and children is a perfect fit for this newly planted Canadian. I can't begin to explain or convey what the smiles of the children can do for you! Working with adults is a joy, they have become an extended part of my family.

I may be helping others, but in a favourably
twist EC is helping ME!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 27, 2013

more

March 27, 2013

I've been at Equestrian Connection for 4 years now. I've done 2 years of volunteering and 2 years of working. When I first started at EC everyone was so friendly and didn't treat me like that "special" kid. I was basically judged in high school based on my learning disabilities and EC just treated me like they treat each other. Everyone there makes me feel like we are all one big happy family and that is what EC is also about besides helping kids through adults but also making them feel that they are part of the EC family! :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The moment I drive through EC's decorated gates, my personal problems melt away, a smile appears on my face, and I am ready to help wherever I can. The atmosphere at EC is friendly, warm, loving, and safe, for all who enter, be it a volunteer, a staff member, family member coming for various services offered, or horse. I have made friends with people of all ages and backgrounds here. I can't think of a better, more enjoyable way to spend my volunteer time than at Equestrian Connection, NFP.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a Lake Forest College student majoring in Psychology, I was fortunate enough to do an internship at Equestrian Connection in the spring of 2011. My internship lasted the entire spring semester which was about five months. Throughout my internship I was at the barn about three days each week. Having prior experience with horses made it so after some training I was able to jump right into helping. From day one when I first walked into the barn at Equestrian Connection, I could tell that this wasn't your typical barn. I really cannot even put into words the feeling I got. One thing I noticed right away was that there wasn't a single person there helping who didn't want to be there, this was given away by the "Hello's" you'd receive from everyone and the constant smiles. With more time spent at the barn, I also learned that it is a place that is constantly growing. Someone is always asking "What other programs can we offer?, What else can we do to help our riders?"
I didn't realize just how many people are needed to make a non-for profit organization run. While the amount of work required is pretty unbelievable, what makes EC more special are the people behind the scenes. Diana, who cofounded EC back in 2001, goes above and beyond in all that she does with EC it's incredible, in my eyes shes a hero. Everyone involved at EC gives it their best, and I believe it's because of this that EC is the special place that it is. I have nothing negative to report about EC. The horses at EC are also extremely well taken care of and loved by all for the work they do.

I'm very thankful for all the time I was able to spend at EC. While my internship has ended, I try to make it back to the barn any chance I get.

Brittany L.
Lake Forest College '12

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers