Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.771435
Write A Review
November 28, 2014

more

November 28, 2014

I am a straight ally, a donor, a volunteer, and a member of Equality Florida. I have been so for many, many years.

Equality Florida has grown from a few to thousands of members over its two decades of life, because it has worked from the trenches—you name a trench, and EQFL is working
there—with respect for all and asked for and stood for respect for all, especially, of course, the LGBTQ community. They have worked for and won anti-bullying laws, domestic partnerships—even in some of the most conservative towns—stood with those who were angry about horrendously discriminatory policies while turning that anger into positive actions so that, always, in the end, we are winning the hearts and minds of Floridians, at least those who are part of what is called the “moveable middle.” Their successes go on and on just as does the work still necessary. What is continuous is EQFL’s commitment to respect for all, fair and equal rights for all, and working hard until we reach that point.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I am a financial supporter, Tampa Gala Steering committee member and volunteer and I'm very proud of the work we are doing in fighting for and incrementally winning equal rights for the LGBT community around the state.
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

As a straight ally I am proud to be a donor and volunteer with Florida Equality- a great organization which works hard to guarantee the rights and benefits of LGBT individuals and families. As a mother with two children (now adults) I believe that all couples should have the opportunity to love and parent. I also feel it it is my duty to work to ensure that all people regardless of gender identification or sexual orientation, can live their authentic self while feeling safe and equal in their home, school, work, and community. I endorse Florida Equality for their effectiveness and leadership. They do an excellent job of working to help victims of intolerance and hate, fight for their basic human rights, such as equality in schools and workplaces, marriage equality and the right to adopt.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Thank you Equality Florida for being there for me when my wife passed on March 13,2014. They are always ready to fight the fight wherever and whenever they are needed in the state of Florida. I made a call for I knew it was time for Lee County to get with the "Equality for all" program and there was Equality Florida....ready to work with us...It sure it wonderful now that they have a presence in SouthWest Florida.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Equality Florida has been one of the most consistent and successful state LGBT organizations in the history of our movement. In the face of overwhelming bigotry from a state government that lurched hard to the right over the past two decades, it has woven together a tapestry of discrimination protection, partner recognition and more in local jurisdictions around the state, affording protections to the majority of Florida's LGBT people, couples and family. Executive Director Nadine Smith, a real force of nature, leads an outstanding team of professional staff, volunteer leaders and ordinary folk all committed to equality and fairness. Support them!
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

i have been with my partner for 8 plus yrs and we would like to get married but the state of florida will not allow EQUAL RIGHTS FOR EVERYONE. hope we get some good people elected in so that this stuff gets over turned
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Equality Florida doesn't always take the easy way, nor the most popular---but with steady leadership, inspired vision, and the ability to find the best in a situation or a person, the organization makes inexorable progress toward statewide protections for the entire LGBT community. Not flashy, but effective; great bang for the donated buck!
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Do you wish to be on the right side of issues such as marriage equality, safe schools from bullying, anti-discrimination in the workplace, housing and before our fellow man? Equality Florida, and other statewide Equality orgs will do all this for you and more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advocate for more in-kind donations to further offset the costs of traveling statewide.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a proud supporter of Equality Florida since its beginnings, and I know it has changed the face of GLBTQI discrimination in the state. The specter has not been banished, but it is disintegrating. Hearts and minds have been changed by these cool, competent young professionals, in every county and especially in Tallahassee. I stand in awe of their passion for equality, their commitment, their energy and their skill.
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

For over two decades Equality Florida has been on the front line of the struggle for equal rights for LGBT Floridians. The successes have been many including anti-bullying laws in our schools, anti-discrimination laws in many cities and counties, domestic partner registries throughout most of the state and now gay marriage which will soon be a reality in our state. The successes have come by a steady and focused effort to build bipartisan support at the local and state level with both the public and our elected leaders. Minds have been changed and allies forged. The work continues and it is good to know that Equality Florida is there for us.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers