Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.428575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 22, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 22, 2013

Equality Florida is one of the best organizations in which I have been involved. I say this speaking from 40+ years of experience in advocacy interests. EQ is professionally managed. Their directors and spokespersons are consistently top notch. They know the content and issues and speak eloquently, thoroughly and professionally.
I have been to many EQ events. I have volunteered and help with events. In all instances, I want to keep coming back for more.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 16, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 16, 2013

Equality Florida has been the leader for LGBT rights for Floridians for close to 20 years. Thanks to Equality Florida the majority of Floridians now have access to anti-bullying in schools, domestic partner registries, anti-discrimination, employment and housing rights that was not thought possible in the years past. Bringing these equal rights to the balance of LGBT Floridians along with equal marriage rights is EQFL's future mission. They are the best organization to do this and they deserve the support of all of Florida's LGBT community and straight allies so they can get this accomplished for us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes suggested. They are doing a great job.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sometimes you run across an organization that compels you to take action. It reminds you injustice still exists, and it provides an opportunity for you to stand up, be counted, and help move the needle on a cause you care about. For me, that organization is Equality Florida. As a volunteer, I see firsthand Equality Florida's progressive impact on helping to secure full equality for the LGBT community, and I am proud to be a part of it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My involvement with EQFL started four years ago, when I attended the Tampa Bay Gala as a guest. After hearing Nadine speak for the first time, I knew the organization was the right one to support financially and with my time. Four years later EQFL is still working very hard for equal rights for everyone. -MM

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am the past Chair of EQFL and have been involved in the organization since 1997. This group has done MORE for LGBTQ rights on the statewide level than any other organization in Florida. There is full transparency in everything EQFL does. EQFL is an outstanding organization dedicated to bringing Florida into the 21st Century.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the past Steering Committee Chair for Broward often logging 50 hour weeks in volunteer work and current Board Member, I would not be doing this work if I didn't think that EQFL wasn't a first class organization. The people who criticize the leadership have always had a hidden agenda. EQFL has reached out to work with these folks only to be rebuffed at every turn. The State wide results of bringing about countless Domestic Partnership Registries, Equal Benefits Ordinances, protecting students under the Safe Schools Programs while partnering with other organizations and helping to reverse the ban on gay adoption are many of the successes EQFL has earned. The staff from top to bottom is first rate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Equality Florida has clearly done impactful, law changing work in our state. Especially over the last three years, this group has leveraged positive policy change through smart and strategic thinking. I am grateful for their diligence and tenacity and applaud their savvy efforts and successes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Over the past 30 years I have worked as an executive director and board chair of several non-profits and Equality Florida has shown me time and again that good people, a good mission, and action can bring positive change to Florida. I have personally testified at city and county commission meetings on behalf of Equality Florida and have seen elected officials change their minds due to the diligent presentations of the professional and volunteer staff of Equality Florida.

I have participated in Equality Florida's Lobby Days in Tallahassee and have sat across from Florida State Legislators arguing the case for Equal Benefits, Employee Non-Discrimination, and Marriage Equality. I encourage anyone who has thrown up their hands and said "Things will never change in Florida", to consider becoming active in this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I work for Equality Florida and know firsthand that Nadine Smith is the fiercest defendant of equality, the hardest working, widest-ranging, most sought after expert and visionary, who leads by example with a dedicated team of almost as hard-working staff, and that their accomplishments speak for themselves. A reviewer below said that Equality Florida has not passed state-wide policy, but the Jeffrey Johnson Safe Schools Act passed in 2008 and was one that Equality Florida worked long and hard on. In addition the gay adoption ban was overturned in 2010. Equality Florida does not take sole credit for these victories, as many entities contributed huge resources; Equality Florida is proud to form alliances and build coalitions in order to get these policies passed. Local and State legislators as well as business leaders call on Equality Florida for expertise when developing new LGBT-inclusive policies.

Equality Florida spends so much on their programs, and less on lavish travel and dinners and parties. Fortunately, our membership see the big picture, and don't require obsequiousness--just results. An example of our CEO Nadine's hard work, leadership by example and eye on the bottom line: Just this past weekend, Nadine drove her car from St Pete to Fort Lauderdale (holding tele meetings the entire way) for the bi-annual weekend Board meeting, where she stayed at the home of her Deputy Director working until 2 a.m. each night, and ate home-cooked meals the entire weekend. Her wife runs a garden co-op for low-income families, btw.

All with the will to make positive change are welcome to join the ever-increasing network of individuals and LGBT-equality non-profits who recognize that while Equality Florida may not be perfect, we are the most connected agency, with the clearest vision, the most developed infrastructure and the greatest capacity to pull us all together to bring equality to Florida---not that it's going to be easy to pull this Southern State into the 21st century, but it is inevitable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

it's pretty awesome the way it is. There should be a reality show. Haha--no one would believe what we manage to do with so little resources and how much work is done by our staff and amazing volunteers. Staff at Equality Florida are afforded every opportunity to grow and to push themselves. The focus is always on how to make things better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have learned that my hard earned money has gone to the director's huge salary, travel, entertainment expenses, fundraising/party expenses, parades, etc ... yet no statewide LGBT laws have been passed. In fact, things have gotten worse. Do your homework and check with others who have learned to tell her "NO".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new director!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers