Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

I like to think of Episcopal Place as an option as I age. That's why I give. I want it to be there, when I need a wonderful place like Episcopal Place to finish out my years of living independently but in an upscale caring environment - a community...and I'm not even Episcopalian. I visit and see the activities for the residents. I witness the care and compassion shown by the staff. The staff goes above and beyond a simple rental office. The public areas are fashionable and well maintained. The location is so convenient...the park, the theater, St. Vincent's Hospital and shopping. Some of the apartments even have balconies with a view! There's a chapel, hair salon, library, porch and gardens. Yep, purely selfish. Hope there's an opening if and when I need it...keep up the good work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any other than a larger budget made possible by generous donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2013

I have worked here at Episcopal Place for 9 years and feel that this establishment has only grown as a ministry that is working towards helping those that receive the services they need to maintain th... more

July 16, 2014

Episcopal Place has exceeded all of my expectations as being one of the best senior facilities to live and work. I would absolutely apply for my parents to live here in the future. The staff are caring and treat everyone with dignity and respect. The staff, volunteers and board of directors work diligently to make every effort to ensure everyone has their individual needs met as well as managing the building properly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked here at Episcopal Place for 9 years and feel that this establishment has only grown as a ministry that is working towards helping those that receive the services they need to maintain their independence. We are able to offer such a wide variety of services through the grants and fundraisers and are able to serve such a diverse population that I am overwhelmed daily by what we do. Having the ability to meet with people daily, touch their lives, meet with their family members and help them in crisis or tramatic times has really made my life long dream a reality. I am in awe of how many residents are able to remain in their apartments because of what we offer and how many have lived here over 10 years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

Episcopal Place has offered me a home esp while my family is overseas. I have enjoyed the teamwork and the love that the residents share with the staff and each other. Over the past 7 years, I have most enjoyed getting to know each and every resident and listening to their wonderful stories and being able to fulfill their needs with the services we offer. Episcopal Place is so warm and welcoming and the activities provide a great arena for socializing and also during the holidays we have been able to fill in for those who have no family. Sometimes we can offer a smile or a hug that changes someone's day for the better. I believe that is who we are- the people who make a change for the better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2010

There are so many experiences I would like to share and choosing just one is terribly difficult. This organization, the staff, and the residents have greatly impacted my life. Currently I am in the process of assisting a female resident with a desire to be one of the first fashion models with a disability. She needed a portfolio and we were able to locate a local photographer willing to create it for her. She is now well on her way to reaching her dream. Through a new relationship with an exercise facility specializing in assisting persons with disabilities as well as senior citizens, I have successfully applied for and received 15 full or partial scholarships for our residents to utlize the facility. We also have arranged transportation to the complex twice a week. Through these activities, the residents are able to age in place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The relationships with family members and residents that are maintained even after a resident has passed or moved on. Also in the smiles and hugs received daily. Seeing a resident get the job they have always wanted or having the ability to volunteer with children or exercise facilities that are created for persons with disabilities. Without the knowledge of the staff or the networking capabilities, some of these dreams would never be accomplished.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would provide more access for the residents to advocate for what they want and need in the community. I would also provide more training for family members and caregivers as well as staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

The age range ( 4 weeks to 100 years of age )

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Throughout my life, I've had the wonderful experience of being associated with a host of non-profit organizations and Episcopal Place is one of the best! I truly feel the staff of this fine organization is what makes it such a special place. Spend a day at EP. Watch the staff interact with the residents and you will see it too. Care, compassion, concern and a strong faith are present in all their activities. I'm very proud to be associated with this fine organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

For years I had driven by Episcopal Place and knew that it was housing, I thought for senior citizens. And to be honest, I thought they all had to be of the Episcopalian denomination. Then the churc... more

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered and donated to Episcopal Place. The staff is dedicated to providing an above average home/housing environment. They go beyond the role of simply serving as a "rental office". They care about the residents with compassion. Activities, experiences and services are provided that allow those residents, who wish to participate to have an enriched, full life.
I feel that my donations have been used efficiently and wisely. The diversity of the residents indicates that Episcopal Place is not just for Episcopalians and the elderly. My positive interaction with residents and staff members proves to me that the mission statement of "Enriching Lives with Grace & Comfort" is being well carried out. I plan to continue my involvement with time and money. I think it would be a great place to live, when the time comes, too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make to this organization other than encouraging even more support from the community in order to change/increase the organization's budget. They already do so much in a time of economic cutbacks; however, I know the dream is to provide even more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

For years I had driven by Episcopal Place and knew that it was housing, I thought for senior citizens. And to be honest, I thought they all had to be of the Episcopalian denomination. Then the church that I attend, Southside Baptist, began to encourage volunters to visit and help in ways identified by the staff. I also learned that some of my church family actually live at Episcopal Place. So, it's not just for Episcopalians and it's not just for seniors, but those with disabilities, too. Not long ago I visited for a performance given by Four for Time for the residents in the lovely assembly room. It was well attended and was like being in a New York cabaret! I met and talked with some of the residents. They have a walled garden and an aviary in one of the sitting rooms, designed for the residents' amusement. One of the residents identified the different birds and informed me of their habits. I observed the staff mingling with the residents and it was like a family. I kept thinking this is where I would want my parents to live. Then the thought occured to me, I am fast approaching that generation and this is where I want to live. A room with a balcony, in one of the buildings adjacent to the Virginia Samford Theater, the park and just off Highland Avenue, not far from St. Vincent's Hospital, plus a great, caring staff. Just hope there's room, when I'm ready...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a staff member at Episcopal Place and a daughter who cared for elderly parents, I am proud of the services we provide and the attractive and safe environment we create for our low-income seniors. I am so proud of what we do that most of my charitable giving is directed here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger and able to serve more seniors who need it. We have a long waiting list of seniors needing affordable housing with services and we are the only facility in town that provides that combination in a comprehensive way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers