Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 12, 2014

more

July 12, 2014

Episcopal Place is a wonderful community that serves many people with a safe and clean home. My brother who has a severe hearing disability has lived at EP for 4 years and enjoys it more each day. The staff is what makes this such a unique place. Each person seems to enjoy there work and strives to make EP a real home for those who live there. It is model organization which I would hope could be replicated in other places.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

Our community theatre is located next door to Episcopal Place and we love for the residents to attend our events. Everyone seems very happy with their life at EP and its caring and loving environment. The Executive Director, Tim Blanton, is definitely the reason EP is so successful. Wish I could live there!

Catherine Gilmore
President
Virginia Samford Theatre

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

For years I had driven by Episcopal Place and knew that it was housing, I thought for senior citizens. And to be honest, I thought they all had to be of the Episcopalian denomination. Then the churc... more

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered and donated to Episcopal Place. The staff is dedicated to providing an above average home/housing environment. They go beyond the role of simply serving as a "rental office". They care about the residents with compassion. Activities, experiences and services are provided that allow those residents, who wish to participate to have an enriched, full life.
I feel that my donations have been used efficiently and wisely. The diversity of the residents indicates that Episcopal Place is not just for Episcopalians and the elderly. My positive interaction with residents and staff members proves to me that the mission statement of "Enriching Lives with Grace & Comfort" is being well carried out. I plan to continue my involvement with time and money. I think it would be a great place to live, when the time comes, too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make to this organization other than encouraging even more support from the community in order to change/increase the organization's budget. They already do so much in a time of economic cutbacks; however, I know the dream is to provide even more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

For years I had driven by Episcopal Place and knew that it was housing, I thought for senior citizens. And to be honest, I thought they all had to be of the Episcopalian denomination. Then the church that I attend, Southside Baptist, began to encourage volunters to visit and help in ways identified by the staff. I also learned that some of my church family actually live at Episcopal Place. So, it's not just for Episcopalians and it's not just for seniors, but those with disabilities, too. Not long ago I visited for a performance given by Four for Time for the residents in the lovely assembly room. It was well attended and was like being in a New York cabaret! I met and talked with some of the residents. They have a walled garden and an aviary in one of the sitting rooms, designed for the residents' amusement. One of the residents identified the different birds and informed me of their habits. I observed the staff mingling with the residents and it was like a family. I kept thinking this is where I would want my parents to live. Then the thought occured to me, I am fast approaching that generation and this is where I want to live. A room with a balcony, in one of the buildings adjacent to the Virginia Samford Theater, the park and just off Highland Avenue, not far from St. Vincent's Hospital, plus a great, caring staff. Just hope there's room, when I'm ready...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I'm a neighbor of Episcopal Place and what a priceless asset to the neighborhood it is. Not only does it offer an essential service to its residents, but it truly serves as a stabilizing force for the surrounding community with its professionalism and integrity. I've come to know and love several of the residents as friends and I'm frequently moved by the gratitude they express for the rich quality of life that they are able to maintain thanks to the wonderful people there. I just hope there will be space for me there if and when the time is right!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers