Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

My son lives at Episcopal Place and loves it. It provides a safe, clean and fun environment for all the residents. All of the staff are always very caring and helpful. Episcopal Place gives the residents a place to live independently that they might not otherwise have. I would not want my son to live anywhere else!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Its already pretty perfect.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

My mother has been a resident at The Episcopal Place since March 2013. Over the past 16 months my expectations of care/services rendered has far exceeded any ideas I had prior to mother moving in. There are activities scheduled everyday for the residence to participate in if they chose. My concerns with my mother getting to the doctor have been taken care of as there is a van to provide transportation to/from appointments. Weekly trips to two different grocery stores are provided. There are "field trips" offered. Most importantly, mother has made wonderful friends with other residents and staff. I feel 100% positive there is no better atmosphere for the elderly or disabled citizens anywhere.

My husband has asked me many times, "we can move in"!

I almost forgot.....We LOVE the annual gumbo gala. We wouldn't miss it and have invited our friends to come along with us. There are activites for all age groups. Our six year old granddaughter loves to go along as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a resident of Episcopal Place, I have found the service and concern of the staff to be a primary life saving event. Often when one changes a lifestyle at an older age, depression can set in with the usual gerontology issues and illnesses. The attention given by staff and residents often dispell issues that prevent major depression. It is not easy at all for a formerly active , healthy out going individual to change their lifestyle because of the inability to be as active as they once were. Episcopal Place provides assistance , activities, and direction that affords the residents to remain as active as possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have lived here for 6 years. I can't imagine living anywhere else. I love it here. The staff is absolutely wonderful and they make all of us feel special.I get some of the noon meals as well as participate in the filed trips and really enjoy going out with everyone. I attend the programs and activities and love the new storytelling. I am involved in the art class. I really enjoy the parties and the dinners. I volunteer and bake for the Residents' Association. I will work for any event here at Episcopal Place. I love playing bingo and poker. Even if I won the lottery I would give it away so I continue to live here at Episcopal Place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I have lived here for 7 years and moved in with my sister from the neighborhood we lived in for years. We immediately felt safe and welcomed. When she passed away, everyone here including staff were s... more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I enjoy living at Episcopal Place. After living here for nine years , the residents and staff are my second family. I participate in most activities and programs and really enjoys what the Activities Director and Service Coordinator bring to us daily. I know that all the staff work hard to make our daily lives better. We are never bored and rarely have to ask for entertainment. The parties and dinners here are fantastic and we are always overwhelmed with food and service. I love my apartment and with my cat as a companion I really have a true"home." I have eaten the noon meals as well as ridden the van to medical appointments and on field trips. It is so nice to know that there are people who care about you working here and ask you what you need and how you are doing with a smile on their face.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work on parking

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

I have lived here for 7 years and moved in with my sister from the neighborhood we lived in for years. We immediately felt safe and welcomed. When she passed away, everyone here including staff were so comforting that I knew I was at home. I really enjoy the programs and activities and the fact that I can also be at home and spend time with my companion cat that is allowed at EP. The socialization is great and the health screenings brought here allow us so much more access to good health care than some folks have. I really like the medical transportation and the opportunity for noon meals that are delivered. I am really happy here and hope to live the rest of my life here.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I feel very blessed to be able to reside at Episcopal Place. I feel we have the best staff bar none. They seem to work together like a family and treat us like we are their extended family. I think it is wonderful that we have the medical transportation and the trips to the grocery store or drug store offered through our van ministry. We are blessed to have Elmo Tanner , our medical van driver. Shannon, out social worker, has many good speakers that come and discuss anything from our wants to our needs and through Jane, our activities director we can go to dress rehearsals at the theater and have many musical entertainers. I take all of these opportunities given to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I want a new floor

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I thank God every day that I was able to move into Episcopal Place. Living here makes my quality of life better. I have friends here that I have become quite close to and love my social worker. The staff here is really hardworking. I do partake in the noon meals program. I use the van for medical transportation. Occasionally I use the van for grocery shopping. I have had access to the relief fund when in need. I love the parties and dinners esp for socializing and meeting new people. I enjoy playing bingo and poker. I do like going to the programs where I enjoy learning educational information about new health issues as well as going to the activities. I have a new kitten that I probably never would have gotten if I did not live at EP and she has become my closest companion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See more people get along better and have more interaction among the new and old residents

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have lived at Episcopal Place for 4 1/2 years and have nothing but positive experiences while living here. I have been blessed by the staff and the other residents. I know my life has been changed for the better just through the services offered such as the medical transportation and different shopping trips and health screenings and programs. I think I once said this is what heaven must be like and I meant it. I feel so down and blue and then one smile and one hug from staff or a neighbor and I feel better. I was meant to be here and am a proud part of this special community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I am so happy and thankful to be a resident of Episcopal Place. The staff members here really care about the residents and go out of their way to make our lives easier, safer and more fulfilling. For instance, a wireless emergency call system was recently installed at no cost to the residents. We each have a personal button to wear on our wrist or around our necks which we can press to call for help in case of a health emergency. The system works no matter where we are on the property here. This is only one of the many extra services that Episcopal Housing Foundation provides residents. Episcopal Place is not just low income housing for seniors and people with disabilities. It is a place to keep your mind and body active and healthy; and a place to grow old with dignity, respect, friendship and family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2010

more

October 28, 2010

I have lived at Episcopal Place for 12 years. I was anxious about living independently. At the time, I looked into several different apartment complexes and Episcopal Place had the accessible unit I needed as well as being subsidized so my rent was lower. I have gained more and more independence and self worth living at Episcopal Place. I have been able to advocate for my needs and wants as well as reaching out to help others. The 12 years I have lived here have not always been perfect, however I have worked my way through the problems with staff support. I have maintained a job for 2 1/2 years that I love and am very confident in my duties. All of this is a blessing from God and without him I would not have the courage to live life to its fullest.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The staff allowed me to advocate for continued transportation to work as well as assisting with the van onsite when the public buses were unavailable. Services have been made available to me to allow me to remain independent including housekeeping , meal preparation, and personal care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be extremely helpful to have a van driver on staff that is available during the day. I would like to change the gathering spot from the front door to a specified sitting area that is conducive to everyone especially people in wheelchairs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Independent Living Center

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Continue to be myself and to be a positive role model

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers